We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended by the locals”

Massaman Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #21 of 273 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Recommended by the locals”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

I was so glad to find this place because I was getting so tired of the pushy restaurant people all along the beach walk. This place was recommended by my local drive instructors and it was great. The real deal, good prices and great food! It was a bit of a walk cause it's it's at the far end past mcdonalds, but worth it to me

Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    470
    142
    34
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food at reasonable price”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Enjoyed a lovely meal here, glad to have found it as some of the best authentic Thai food we have eaten on this trip. Very reasonable prices and good choice too. Friendly staff and nice seating arrangement, especially for solo diners, as you can sit facing the street and do some people watching. Recommended!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“What's All the Hype About??”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

After all the hype about the Massamun served here I was quite disappointed. It was very sweet. I am half Thai and I find the mussamun and beef salad served here extremely sweet. For the beef salad, the beef was tough and I had to add lime and fish sauce to make it palatable. I won't be returning and my quest for the quintessential Massamun curry in Krabi continues...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MelKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great authentic thai food”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

It took us a while to find this place, and just when we were about to turn back, we spotted it! I am so glad we didn't turn back because it was one of the best Thai food we've had in Krabi.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mistyboo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely food and staff”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The food at this place was delicious! I got the fish fillet massaman and got this massive fillet of fish in massaman sauce, great food for a relatively cheap price compared to many restaurants listed on TripAdvisor.

Quite a warm restaurant though as it is not air conditioned but most of them aren't in Ao Nang. Definitely recommend this place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jay_Dhillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Massaman Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to Massaman Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing