We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of only 2 places to enjoy real Massaman”

Massaman Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #22 of 279 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Krabi Town, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“One of only 2 places to enjoy real Massaman”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This restaurant is on the left hand side 300 metres up the Hill. Very good Massaman Beef or Chicken Curry which must not be missed. Cost about 180 Baht for a big portion. Currently being rebuilt. Family owned. Nothing to complain about here.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DENNIS H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    478
    142
    34
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“does what it says on the tin”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

great mussaman and resonably priced beer, if all yiu want is a musaman then this is a great place, i loved it, but my wife wasn't so thrilled with the other food

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank fennyclogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick60
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Closed Down”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Sadly the Massman has been knocked down. I did near that it has been moved next to the Spaghetti house but haven't seen any signs yet unless it is being renovated inside. Will look forward to it reopening as we really miss the food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patrick60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Excluding the Mosquitos biting us, the food here is affordable extremel tasty and service is quick.

This is not a luxurious restaurant more of a cafe/eatery and the food is good n particular the massaman which I would highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zeeshm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Went back 3 more times!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We hadn't read the reviews before eating at Massaman one night in November. After a couple disappointing meals in Ao Nang, we were pleasantly surprised. We loved everything about it, very friendly, food was great, as was the service. Try the Tom Yum, the Massaman, the Pumpkin curry (had dreams about it after we left). We found it to be the most genuine and friendly experience in the most in-your-face tout-heavy place we stayed in Thailand. Which is why we kept finding ourselves migrating back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Soap_In_The_Dish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Massaman Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to Massaman Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing