We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Thai Food,good,cheap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Massaman Restaurant & Bar

Massaman Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #18 of 247 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thai Food,good,cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Very cheap food, real Thai food which tasted delicious. The vegetables in the curry were always fresh, you could see that, and we yould get a look in the kitchen, theyreally use fresh vegetables and fresh meat. The massaman Curry was the best, you have to try it. However you shouldn't drink a Milkshake there. We may got sick from it but we are not sure. So you rather avoid milk and youghourt products in Thailand generally. Staffs was friendly :)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DoS21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    348
    112
    22
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“so so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Food was average, waitress kind and helpful, price reasonable, portions adequate
However, felt the hygiene could be improved.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Navia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent food and good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We ate here a couple of times during our recent visit and the food was excellent and well priced. I agree with other reviewers that the Massaman was one of the best I have ever had whilst in Thailand. Defi Italy great for a reasonable priced meal that is tasty and for good friendly and fun service.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thai-Restaurant you are looking for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have been twice to this restaurant. Everytime food was very good and staff was very nice. It is really worth to go there. And it is still quite cheap, comparing to the big restaurants in center.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Go Massaman”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The place is unassuming, by the road and with no views but it's an adorable little local restaurant that serves a very tasty massaman curry, a must try if you are in the south of Thailand. The staff are very friendly and kind, with a refreshing Thai sense of humour. The price is cheap.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AntonioGP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Massaman Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to Massaman Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing