We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean guesthouse”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ao Nang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aonang Haven Guesthouse.Massage.Tea & Gallery
Ranked #35 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Ao Nang
Reviewed December 5, 2013

if you are looking for a clean guesthouse (bug-free), this is the guesthouse. MUST BRING earplugs, that would solve the problem of the traffic and music at night.

as I have booked through agoda, the price that I paid is actually higher than booking directly with the guesthouse.suggest to look out for promotion or book directly with the guesthouse where they will throw in free massage vouchers. if not, it might be more worth it to top up a bit more and book a hotel with full service and breakfast.

no frills. really more of a place to stay and do your island tours. expect nothing more.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank httcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andessen, Owner at Aonang Haven Guesthouse.Massage.Tea & Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thank you for the review. We are glad to know that the cleanliness of the guesthouse is up to your expectation. Our receptionist reported that the first thing you did once being ushered to the room was to flip open the duvet to check the bedding. We were quite amused by that but now we know that you are concerned about bugs.

We also noticed that you had prepared ear plugs when we clean your room on the 3rd day. That is a good idea if the music from the bar is too loud when they play from 9pm - 1am.

Aonang Haven is certainly no frills. We keep things simple so your stay can be both comfortable and relaxing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 70 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

I spontaneously booked flights to Krabi one week after a desire to escape Bangkok for a few days at the beach. I'd heard Krabi was far nicer than Phuket so though I'd check it out. Friends recommended staying in Ao Nang as it was a bit more quiet and peaceful than Krabi. I couldn't compare it to Krabi as I didn't go, but Ao Nang was certainly lovely and a great base to explore the islands.

Wanting to save a bit on accommodation as I'd booked for 5 nights, I decided to stay at a guest house. Aonang Haven had great reviews here and other websites, and they proved to be mostly true.

The staff were super friendly and helpful - you truly felt like you were a guest in someone's home and they were happy to help with whatever you need including airport transfers and restaurant recommendations or nearby good coffee. And the dog, Vanilla, is adorable!

The general facilities are clean and modern, as was the room I stayed in which was also large by guest house standards. I stayed in a King Balcony room which had a king sized bed, separate bathroom and small balcony overlooking the street. The bathroom was a bit small, but who needs lots of bathroom space when they're at the beach!

I tried the spa in the basement level twice - divine. Slightly more expensive than the massages on the beach, but still really lovely.

I would like to point out a few things that prevented me from giving Aonang Haven an "excellent" rating:
- The rooms facing the street aren't particularly sound proof - there is construction happening over the road and it also sounded like there was some remodeling going on next door with a bit of banging, not to mention the constant buzz of street traffic and the bar a few doors down at night time (thank goodness the band were actually good!). It would be great if they could get some glazing on the windows, or if you're a light sleeper you might want to consider ear plugs.
- Breakfast is no longer offered as part of the rates, but there are lots of options nearby within short walking distance or as you wander down to the beach.
- The WIFI was a bit intermittent. One minute it was working fine and then it would drop out. Frustratingly I was trying to do some work so gave up after a while - maybe they do that on purpose so people like me don't work on their holidays :)
- If you are coming to Ao Nang for more of a resort/holiday experience, then keep in mind there is no pool at Aonang Haven. The beach, however, is about a 10min walk down the hill.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissRissMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andessen, Owner at Aonang Haven Guesthouse.Massage.Tea & Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for the review. It is good to hear that you enjoyed both your stay and massages with us. Your feedback is appreciated and valid. You know what they say about not being able to choose your neighbors? Well It's true. This is our third year in business while our neighbors (left and right) have already changed hands once and twice and with each change its problems.

In physical terms, renovation works are being done during the day and most typically in the months approaching high season. We apologize for the noise during your stay. Opposite the guesthouse is the construction work of a new plaza. This has already been going on for 7 months since April. Although we do not expect it to be completed anytime soon, we are anticipating new amenities like shops, cafe and restaurants just within a stone's throw away for the convenience of future guests.

We also apologize for the intermittent WiFi signal. This has been frustrating to us as well and we have taken much pain to perform diagnostics over the past several months. It's quite tricky due to so many WiFi in close proximity which can interfere with the signal by sometimes sharing the same channel and bandwidth. The physical environment of the guesthouse itself also affects the signal. Now, we are at least happy to say that 90% of the problem is solved. We have changed our Internet Service Provider, upgraded the speed and installed a more powerful router. This have eliminated the WiFi dead spot areas particularly in our Classic Balcony King Rooms which are further away from the router. It's not 100% solved because being WiFi, signal can still break occasionally but at least now it is much easily solved by just turning on/off the WiFi of your device/laptop. Our guests should be able to watch YouTube, Facebook their friends and do work on their laptop to their heart's content now with the improvement.

We also certainly agree with you that the bar on the next block although a little loud at times do at least play really good music between the hours of 9pm to 1am. Light sleepers should consider ear plugs. When they don't play, it's nice and quiet.

As always, we are constantly looking to improve our facilities and services to give our guests the best possible environment during their stay. Some are within our means while others are out of our hands. We are happy that the positives outweigh the negatives.

We also really enjoyed being your host for the 5 nights you are with us and hope your sister will enjoy hers too when she visits us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights in a King Balcony room. We are so happy we found this place as it is excellent. Very deserving of all the rave reviews.

I believe what makes Aonang Haven so wonderful is the staff. Andy & his team go out of their way to help you with anything you may need. Prior to our arrival, I was in contact with Andy regarding a few things (airport pick up, change of dates etc) & responses were always prompt. We also loved Vanilla, the sweetest little dog who is always happy to greet you when you walk in the door.

The rooms are clean & sleek with everything you could possibly need (including little things like a bottle opener). Comfy bed & TV with heaps of channels. Loved that you could help yourself to complimentary tea & coffee too as
often as you like.

We loved Aonang Haven & will happily recommend it to all our family & friends.

Tip: if you are flying into Krabi airport, ask Andy to arrange your pickup. It is the same price as if you got a taxi on arrival but you have someone there waiting for you (no queues). And there is no confusion about what hotel you are staying at. An excellent service I think!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VeganMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andessen, Owner at Aonang Haven Guesthouse.Massage.Tea & Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for the review. We are really glad that your family of three enjoyed the stay with us. It's a pity that a storm had blow in when you were here so you were not able to enjoy Ao Nang at its best. If ever the opportunity arise for a second visit, do know that you will be most welcome to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Rooms:
Stayed in the King room for 3 nights and Queen room for 1 night.
Rooms were spic and span, with clean sheets, clean en-suite bathrooms, comfortable beds and pillows. Key difference for me was that King room has a mini balcony while the Queen room has no balcony or windows, but still comfortable regardless.

All rooms have their own A/C, so you can set temperatures you're comfortable with, as opposed to those darned centralised air-conditioning at some places.

Since the King room has a balcony, you can hear the traffic fairly clear, but generally things quieten down after 1am, so I had no issues with interrupted sleep even though I'm a light sleeper.

Proximity:
Being located nearer to one end of the tourist stretch has its perks - you can stroll down the full stretch of shops and restaurants before hitting the beach. Has a 7-11 and clinic just across the road, and 5 minutes away from McDonald's for travellers who may not be comfortable with street food (which really is good actually).

Smiling dog cafe just a minute away serves decent crepes and coffee, and is a good place to just sit around and chill too.

A couple of pubs nearby, but nothing rowdy during my 4 nights stay there.
Management:
Staff at the Guesthouse are friendly and helpful without being overbearing or overly-zealous to make you feel like someone's on your back all the time. Aonang Haven takes its guests' safety seriously, so doors are locked at midnight.

Doors open at 730am in the mornings, so if you need to head out early for a tour like we did, or to leave for the airport, just inform them the day before and they'll have someone waiting to open the doors for you.

Generally-speaking, great value-for-money and a place that I'll definitely return to during my next visit to Krabi.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lincompoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andessen, Owner at Aonang Haven Guesthouse.Massage.Tea & Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for the review. Yes, we do our best to ensure our guests have a most comfortable and safe place to rest during their vacation here in Ao Nang. By going about taking care of things in a most efficient and quiet manner, everyone can feel relaxed at the guesthouse just like what you said, "Fuss-free, cozy and very comfortable."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights here in their King 2 - with a balcony facing the street. The room is clean, the bathroom is decent, the shower is great, the bed is very comfortable, the overall design is modern and very pleasant. We were greeted by their lovely PR officer, a spitz called Vanilla! The guesthouse is quiet, very near to all eating place in aonang. Only 10 minutes walk to longtail boat ticket counter and the beach. 5 minutes walk to McD. The best of all, the hotel has its own massage place with a very decent massage, albeit a bit pricey compared to all the other massage places around. But the massage is good. After an all day bumpy trip to the islands, it's very nice to come back to your own room, shower, go down for a massage and back to your room to sleep the night away. The owner, Andy, gives good tips on places to go for local food and local tour. We had a beautiful beef noodle on his tips. Real awesome beef noodle!! Can't tell you the name of the shop since its in Thai letter. We are extremely happy staying at Aonang Haven. It's really value for money. Although they only come to clean your room only once every 3 days, you can always borrow their towels for your beach trip and they will replace with the clean ones everyday. We don't mind the sparse cleaning service, since we feel safer to leave all our valuables behind. We love the place and would definitely consider to stay here again the next time we come to Krabi.

Room Tip: Choose the King room. It's bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VarajThong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andessen, Owner at Aonang Haven Guesthouse.Massage.Tea & Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for the review. It is a pleasure being your host and helping you make the most of your holiday in Krabi. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed your massages too. The whole idea of Aonang Haven is for our guests to feel restful, relaxed and rejuvenated so we are most glad that everything worked out well for you. Do feel welcome to come stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights here.
Room:-
- Superbly clean, quiet, affordable, nice & modern design, almost felt like home.
- Location is convenient - near to 7-11, restaurants & 5-7 mins walk to the beach.
- Guesthouse close at 11.30pm for low season and safety reason. Not ideal for those want to explore nightlife in aonang but it's fine with me as i have very early morning trip almost everyday and definitely want to stay in. Fret not, there's TV with tons of channels to keep you entertain if you feel bored.

Service:-
- Top notch! thanks to Andy (the host) and his friendly & honest recommendation for my remaining 2 days on what to do and where to visit in Krabi which was pouring like crazy and not advisable to visit Hong Island. Guess these are the little extra somethings that you can't get from any 5 stars hotel. :)
- The massage is superb after my daily trips. Highly recommended.
- Personal ride to the airport by Andy and a good chat with him :)

Suggestion:-
- I hope this guesthouse remain its authenticity and originality - don't go commercialized please!
- The only thing i would think will make it even more perfect is perhaps a safe deposit or a simple lockable drawer which guest can lock their belongings. I wouldnt want to carry so much cash around especially to the island trips & to have peace of mind when out for trips/hunting for food time...but this can be easily solve if you have your own baggage lock which i don't have one during that time :(

All and all, superb and fantastic place in AoNang - will definitely revisit and recommend to friends. Thanks Aonang Haven for making my first solo trip so memorable.

Room Tip: - bring your own baggage lock. - no elevator/lift, you might need to climb the stairs to top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KongWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andessen, Owner at Aonang Haven Guesthouse.Massage.Tea & Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for the review and recognizing our efforts. Do not worry as we would not go commercialized and become something we are not. Aonang Haven is one-of-a-kind and we intend to keep it that way so our guests can genuinely feel the difference when staying with us over another hotel establishment. It's like staying over at a friend's place as most guests would reflect after their experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

stayed 3 nights in this place, our room was on the last floor, very quiet, bright and modern design.
the room included a/c, minifridge, t.v, balcony with chirs and table, clean bathroom and white clean bedding. tea/coffe corner was also available.
the place located 10 min from the beach and have many restaurants nearby.
the place also have spa Treatments, i did the aromatherapy massage which was by far one of the best massage i ever had, in a really reasonable price (320 THB for an hour).

highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adimatas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andessen, Owner at Aonang Haven Guesthouse.Massage.Tea & Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for the review. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us and even better to know that our massages are also up to standard and expectation. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.7 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
0.2 mi away
Peace Laguna Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Haven Guesthouse.Massage.Tea & Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Haven Guesthouse.Massage.Tea & Gallery

Address: 564/3 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand (Formerly Aonang Haven Guesthouse)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Ao Nang
Price Range: $23 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AONANG HAVEN GUESTHOUSE . MASSAGE . TEA & GALLERY is a unique place in Krabi located conveniently on the popular Aonang Beach. Apart from having the privilege of staying in just one of two exclusive and charming rooms, our guests can also enjoy one of the best massages in Ao Nang. Here is an ideal spot for couples, solo travelers or a small group of friends seeking a safe, comfortable and convenient location on their travels to Krabi. IMPORTANT NOTE! We are not a hostel or budget hotel catered for backpacking party travelers although we are listed under the same Specialty Lodging category on TripAdvisor in Ao Nang. Being a genuine guesthouse, our guests are hosted by the owners themselves who are always around to provide assistance. Guests should also note that the guesthouse is situated street-side to Ao Nang’s main road so some traffic noise is to be expected. Thank you for your understanding. To provide an even more delightful experience for our guests, Couple’s Massages in Private Massage Rooms are available since July 2014. In 2015, we have also unveiled our Photo Gallery of scenic Krabi, Thailand by ANDESSEN;IMAGERY. They are on display to remind us that we are blessed by natural beauty around us. A rejuvenating vacation in beautiful Krabi at a comfortable guesthouse with relaxing massages and fine photography can only be experienced at Aonang Haven, our haven in Krabi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aonang Haven Guesthouse.Massage.Tea & Gallery Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing