We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bang for Buck”

Bernie's Place Restaurant and Buffet
Cuisines: Thai, International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bang for Buck”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have been traveling for over three months around south east asia and are budget travellers. When we came across Bernie's we couldn't believe how cheap the buffet was. We paid 150bht for the vegetarian buffet which was a steal of a deal. There was tons of options for us to choose from including many fruits and veggies we haven't come across very often on our travels and over 10 flavours of ice cream that you can go back for and have as much as you want to! They also had the cheapest beer we saw for happy hour later in the evening. We happened to start chatting with the owner and he is a very nice man, and you have any problems just let him know and he will sort it out!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leta k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    7
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If u can/wanna eat alot, then come here”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Pretty decent value for money. Food was pretty good considering it was 250baht for a BBQ buffet. Kinda wished that there was more seafood on offer, but there was only what i believe was catfish. oh well, for that price i can't complain. quite a good variety of food, it's cheaper than hotels, and definitely more worth it! :D drinks sold separately!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrDogbert180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cheap price and Decent buffet if you have a big appetite”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

It is my 3rd time in Krabi and I have been to Bernie's every single time I'm here. The restaurant serves a variety of food ranging from freshly grilled meats, staple food such as fried rice and noodles, grilled fish, sausages, fries, freshly made pancakes and the list goes on..

Buffet price is cheap and therefore the place is always crowded, you might one to come early to avoid the crowds and do not wish to wait for your food. The restaurant is also slightly squeezy when it is packed.

Overall, good food at an affordable price but dont expect fine dining as this is a buffet.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nigelsng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
270 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Bread was stale, beans were cold, coffee was awful”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We went for breakfast and the toast was slightly warmed old stale bread. The baked beans were cold and I never even received the beans I ordered as a side. Luckily, cold beans isn't my thing. Couldn't get them to understand sparkling mineral water so just got water and the cup with the awful,coffee was chipped. We had a table of European girls right next to us smoking while we were eating.
All in all, this place hasn't got a clue.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DelPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Western food but very slow service”
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

The food was normal and they had some great bread and pastry selections at decent prices. We sat down and realised it must be the owner next to us doing the bills. We ordered a fry up and some pancakes. The fry arrived first and my companion began eating as we waited for my pancakes. 20 minutes later, the fry was gone and we were getting ready to ask, the pancakes arrived. We noticed a couple that ordered after us also got no cutlery and waited a good 5 minutes after getting their food before they got some. A little more attention to the customer would do this place wonders.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank somewhere62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bernie's Place Restaurant and Buffet also viewed

Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing