We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice cooking class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Krabi Thai Cookery School

Krabi Thai Cookery School
Ranked #2 of 4 Food & Drink in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Hands-on Thai cooking course by the renowned chef "Ya" in Ao Nang since 1995.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice cooking class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We decided to take a Cooking Class in Krabi because it was raining.

We booked directly via their website and got a confirmation right away.

In the morning we waited for the Pick Up but noone came. The staff at our Hotel was really helpful and called them to arrange a later pick up. All in all we waited over 1 hour.

After we arrived there the staff offered us water, tea and coffee and we filled out which dishes we wanted to cook.

Our teacher Ni was really nice and explained all the spices and herbs to us. She also told us what we can use instead if we are not able to get it at home - which i guess will be very usefull once we are back in Austria :))

The cooking was really fun and after preparing the first 3 dishes we sat down to eat them.

After a short break we continued with making salad, spring rolls and desserts. It was all very interesting and Ni explaining us all details and was able to answer all questions we had.

We would recommend to take this course but maybe you should book it at a tour agency or your hotel to avoid to be forgotten at pick up time :)

Helpful?
Thank 1989-niki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    19
    1
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Klang Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellence ya!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

The chef Ya teach us 6 persons on 7/10/2013. 2 Malaysians, 2 Spaniards and 2 South Africans. It is an intensive cooking and she show us how easy to cook if we have the right ingredients. Simply excellent. Thanks ya!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gerrard73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful cooking experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We've just returned from a mornings cooking at the Krabi Thai Cookery School. We were very fortunate as there was only my husband and myself. Miss Ya is a wealth of knowledge about everything to do with Thai Cuisine. Prepare to go there on an empty stomach as you eat all you cook! I cannot recommend this experience more highly. Pick up is included from the hotel as well as a recipe book. Will return on our next visit to Thailand to do one of the other menus.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobynH19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great learning experience! Also for professionals.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had a great time learning to cook thai food! We have done a cooking course in Bangkok, which was a great experience, but we didn't learn as much as the cooking school in Krabi! Very friendly people who told us every thing about the ingredients and flavours. They speak good english, a must do when you are in Krabi or nearby.
To trip advisor: Ya has received the sticker, but she has no place yet to put it, because she is rebuilding her kitchen.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anenbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
2 reviews
“totally recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We wanted to do a cooking class from the first day on we arrived in Thailand and to choose Ya's cooking class was the best decision. She is just a lovely woman, we learned everything we wanted and it was so much fun, we even brought home so much of the amazing food we made! We got a nice recipe book and some really helpfull advices. We would do it again and maybe we will if we are back to Krabi one day :) khoop khun kha , Team Gemany ;)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jule R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krabi Thai Cookery School also viewed

 

Been to Krabi Thai Cookery School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing