We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
Ranked #7 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We got a superb deal off Accor Hotels promo for Le Club members. The hotel itself was lovely although location was a bit off the main area of Aonang. The beach is a 5 minute walk away or accessible by Tuk Tuk for a mere 20 Baht per person. We were pleasantly surprised to be given an upgrade to a Deluxe room. No complains about the room - it was clean, comfortable and house-keeping was extremely efficient. The universal power sockets in the room were most useful and does away with the need to bring along adapters. Food at Kingfisher Restaurant was a disappointment, though. You can get far better meals at better value at the restaurants outside the hotel.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jumbo-KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,013)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,003 - 2,009 of 3,017 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

Overall the location of the hotel is a bit far but still a walking distance from the main room. However, the hotel itself is a superb. Need to improve very much in terms if the internet speed and should all types of rooms have a bathtub.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Wiskurnain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel is very modern, the rooms are big and very clean. i would say, however, the design of the hotel makes it feels a little sterile. you are about a 10 min walk to the beach. i thought the hotel restaurant was a little expensive so ended up eating all my meals out. there is a good little swiss restaurant right down the road that has a wonderful and inexpensive breakfast. i would also advise you to double check limousine service to the airport. they advertise an 1100 baht cost but you can make a point to ask them for a regular taxi which has a fixed price of 600 baht. The variety of swimming pools and wading pools and playroom for kids might make this a good choice for families with young children.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BostonJaime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

A ten minute walk from the Ao nang strip but quiet modern Thai feel. Pools were gr8 kids pool for little people. Three other pools run down middle of complex also a large spa area. The family room was large enough on the first floor at far end of resort so quiet. Bunk beds for kids & play station, balcony. We then moved to pool access room kids loved it spent loads of time in the pools. Gr8 comfy chairs on which to read etc on your own poolside deck. Happy hour @ the sunbird pool bar gr8 value for money with half price cocktails from 5, pool snacks good too. Breakfast not so good @ $15 per person, not much choice, dried Bain Marie fare mainly Thai. The Swiss Chalet around the corner better value breakfast really nice service & Thai prices!!!!
The towel basket/bags were a gr8 idea supplied by resort to take to the islands/pool, plastic so kept your gear dry. We had to make do with two double beds pushed together in pool room but kids thought it novel & plenty of room so comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was the third time we stayed in this hotel since its opening about two years ago. During our first stay we have been fascinated, during the second stay still satisfied but now disappointed.

The Limousine pick-up service from the Airport was very reliable. But already at check-in we realised that things have changed: staff was very much unexperienced and completely lacking hospitality. The whole check in procedure was really lacking almost everything a traveller can expect in Thailand. The guy at the reception even refused to give us the key cards for the room before not drinking the "welcome drink" buy telling us "you have to drink the welcome drink first". But at least we got the room we asked for (with direct pool access and far away from the restaurant.).

Given that the hotel is only two years old the rooms are already rundown. The main issue is that they are simply not really well maintained. Black mould in the bathroom, dead moskitos on the walls, stains at the wall, the ventilation in the bathroom blocked by dust, the aircondition also full of dust and mud (both not really good for your health) - see pictures!

Same goes for some other areas of the hotel: For example there was a drinking glass at the pool from day 1 to day 5 of our stay - no one removed it (see pic). So obviously the pool was not cleaned at all. Anyway we found it amazing that guests are allowed to bring drinking glasses and even wine bottles in the pool. It will be only a matter of time before someone gets injured seriously. Generally the pool area is a big problem as guest are allowed to use the pool whenever they want (late in the evening, in the middle of the night, early in the morning - with "swimmers" very often drunk and making a lot of noise). As well as for the use of drinking glasses there are no official regulations or signs for times the pool is not allowd to be used (a matter of course in good hotels, because it is not really enjoyable to have for example dinner in the restaurant with three meters away children playing in the pool late in the evening).

WiFi was another issue as the signal was too unstable and low in our room. It is also annoying that every time you have to sign in again by using the password you get. For a strong signal we had to sit on the terrace which is not very comfortable when it is hot, sunny and humid.

Another unbelievable thing happened in the bar: we ordered an ice coffee. The lady at the bar making coffee, using the same spoon to taste the mixture, then placing the same spoon back into the coffee mixture. from her mouth then into the coffee again..(extra taste for the guests). OMG!

There are a lot of other Issues, for example service in the restaurant: Staff was generally no longer smiling, no longer friendly as they used to before. During breakfast, all used plates and cups were still on tables after guests left. Difficult to find clean tables to have breakfast. Breakfast staff was not friendly. They just can't wait for you to leave once you have your breakfast. Staff was also not aware of promotions that was highlighted in the half board package for guests for dinner, unsure about what's going on..till the guests have to explain them every evening what the package includes..over and over again for 4 days. Other issues: not enough towels and no desinfectant in the gym, used room slippers, mugs in room not cleaned and full of stains from previous guests.

The last evening we met the Manager of the hotel and we told him about our disappointing experiences during our third stay. He seemed to be very concerned, which makes us at least optimistc that things will not get even worse there (although his reactions to previous critical reviews here at TA have been "copy and paste" most of times...)

All in all: we will probably not come back for a fourth stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank netsrac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teerasak K, Rooms Division Manager at Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Netsrac99,

First of all, we thank you for your 3rd returning to stay with us, also for taking the time to tell us about your experience . I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations this time; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Teerasak Kanchanachongkol
Rooms Division Manager
Mercure Krabi Deevana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel is very beautiful. All staffs are very helpful and friendly. For the room is very clean and comfortable. My boyfriend and I are so happy to stay there. If you like to walk you can walk from the hotel to the center, it's so many people and a lot of shop.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Dream155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

A 5-minute walk from Nopparat Thara Beach, it also has a pampering spa and a gym and free wifi. Room with neutral and warm light come with private balcony. You may direct access from room to swimming pool if you book the ground floor room.

The see-through glass bathrooms are equipped with a refreshing rainshower and normal shower. 10-minute walk from shops and restaurants at popular Ao Nang Beach. It is a 30-minute drive from Krabi Airport. You may get the free shutter bus from the hotel where operate every hour start from 10am with reservation. Transfer out of scheduled time table will charge THB 100 per way along the Ao Nang.

Food no comment as we did not take room with breakfast. There are numerous alternatives at surrounding restaurants. The hotel location is quiet and best for relaxing. Fast check in and check out services.

Room Tip: You have to walk some distance where is dark when night coming. So better take tuk tuk which only co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shya83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.8 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,597 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,340 reviews
0.6 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 111 in Ao Nang
612 reviews
1.2 mi away
Centra by Centara Phu Pano Resort Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang

Address: 186 Moo 3, Soi 8, Ao Nang Road, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand (Formerly Mercure Krabi Deevana)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: $64 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang offers chic accommodation in contemporary low-rise buildings located a short distance from Ao Nang Beach. With 213 stylish rooms and suites, each with a private balcony, you can enjoy the resort's excellent facilities and benefit from gracious and personalized service from the welcoming Deevana team. The brand new resort features an exceptional restaurant and bars, three outdoor swimming pools, a kid's pool, a restful and rejuvenating spa, and outstanding meetings and events facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Krabi Deevana Hotel Ao Nang
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing