We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't believe this place has such a high rating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
Ranked #7 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I am currently staying at the Mecure. I decided to stay here with my girlfriend based on the positive reviews.

Let me tell you, I will be glad to be leaving after tomorrow.

The place is decidedly sterile and lacking in any observable character as others have noted - it feels almost like a motorway stopover. However, this is but a small quibble. The main problems are:

1. Noise.

The rooms are not sound proof at all. There is constant noise throughout the day from kids playing in the pool.

Afternoon nap? Forget it.

How about a lie in? Forget that too. Doors slamming and children running around means you're up at 6.30 every morning.

And how about getting off to a peaceful slumber in the evening? Forget that too. The pillow wrapped around your head is impervious to the booming sound of heavy elephant-like footfall reverberating around your room from upstairs.

Further - my girlfriend and I's room also has a door that leads into next-door's room. How convenient. So in addition to the above we also have the pleasure of enjoying our neighbour's tv, conversation, shower and toilet noise. It's a wonderful sharing experience.

2. Service

The hotel main desk staff are so stiff they might actually be made of cardboard. Unlike other hotel staff we have met on our travels in Thailand who have all been wonderfully warm and friendly, Mecure's front desk instead avoid eye contact, pretend you don't exist as you pass by, and seem to be reading from a script when engaged in conversation.

We were shown around on our arrival by a young lady who made us feel like riffraff who had somehow won the privilege of staying at the king's palace. The whole exercise felt like it was done with reluctance and a sense that we didn't deserve to be there. Conversation was entirely functional - 'This is the pool. This is the gym. This is the room. Don't be a nuisance and there won't be any trouble.'

One evening I called the front desk about the noise from upstairs keeping me awake. The young lady on the other end became confused, she had no script for this problem evidently, so after five minutes of explaining the problem to her she simply handed the phone over to someone else who I had to explain it all to again. Needless to say he was clueless too and the noise continued.

3. Overpriced

Everything in this hotel is over priced. Things like a bottle of water cost 150tb (£3). When you check in they surprise you with a £50 cash deposit. Water and other basic items left conspicuously out in your room all have seals which if broken are later deducted from this. Food, massages, tours etc. are all 5 even 10x what you can pay by simply walking outside the building.

In conclusion

Mecure is a great place if you are a heavy sleeper, like a motorway stopover atmosphere to your hotels, haughty stiff service and enjoy having your hard earned vacuumed from your wallet.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teerasak K, Rooms Division Manager at Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Krabi Deevana. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Teerasak Kanchanachongkol
Rooms Division Manager
Mercure Krabi Deevana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,021)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,072 - 2,078 of 3,021 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

It's a well maintained hotel with nice staff and overall, quite a nice hotel but there were 3 problems with it:

1. it's very cleverly designed so that there are a lot of rooms with pool views. Unfortunately though, this means that the pool is only about 2 meters wide (at it's widest) and twists and turns around the resort. It sounds nice, and it does look nice in brochures but it also means that there will be people (or kids) swimming and playing most of the time just at your back door. Noisy and not very private. It also means that, because it's quite highrise that there are very few places to sun bathe due to the lack of area but also it's mostly in the shade.

2. Prices: it's priced at European prices. Breakfast for about €10 is crazy. You could have a 3 course dinner for that in most places... They advertise an airport transfer for 800 bahts but literally, at the front door, there is a taxi rank advertising 600 bahts.

3. Location: it's in a cul de sac adjacent to a building site. Which is fine if you want to avoid the main strip, but not very pretty.

Save your money and stay in a nicer boutique hotel with more character in a better location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KevinK_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Me and my kid love the pool access room. Try to get pool access room from Block 4 as it has a bigger pool and it's away from the hotel's restaurant. Block 3 is in front of the pool side bar, which is also nice (just the pool is relatively small when compared to others).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FafaChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. Everything is what you expected from a 4- star hotel except the pool a bit small in thin rectangular shape. The dinner buffet was recently priced if you want to stay in as excellent Thai food is available down in Aonang area. Joined two day trip with the hotel, one to 4- islands and the other to the Hot spring and Emerald pool. As the weather was on our side, all were very good with excellent scenery. The hotel shuttle bus service is also handy if want to go into the town centre for Starbucks or the convenience store. Enjoyed the stay here and excellent service quality and last but least, is excellent value for money

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christabel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed 3 nights here. Most things you expect of a 4-star hotel are there. So it's generally a pleasant experience. Room is big and nice, very clean.. Staff are friendly..

However, breakfast is expensive, and the choice of food is very limited. more like a 2 or 3 star hotel buffet breakfast.

It's a little bit far from the beach, and the hotel only serve 3 or 4 shuttle bus a day.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wa1ker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband & I recently stayed at the Mercure Krabi Deevana for one week and the hotel staff were excellent providing positive levels of service with a smile. Location is only 10 minutes walk to the main Aonang area, and enjoyed being just a little out of the bustle. Would definitely recommend hotel...value for money too!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Checked in on a saturday was very busy greeted with a Pandanus drink ! great room huge bed, balcony over the pool had a few meals in hotel all good, buffet style and themed, not that far from the beach walk or grab a tuk tuk 20 baht per person

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loz454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.8 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#20 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,341 reviews
0.6 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#3 of 111 in Ao Nang
614 reviews
1.2 mi away
Centra by Centara Phu Pano Resort Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang

Address: 186 Moo 3, Soi 8, Ao Nang Road, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand (Formerly Mercure Krabi Deevana)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: $64 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang offers chic accommodation in contemporary low-rise buildings located a short distance from Ao Nang Beach. With 213 stylish rooms and suites, each with a private balcony, you can enjoy the resort's excellent facilities and benefit from gracious and personalized service from the welcoming Deevana team. The brand new resort features an exceptional restaurant and bars, three outdoor swimming pools, a kid's pool, a restful and rejuvenating spa, and outstanding meetings and events facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Krabi Deevana Hotel Ao Nang
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing