We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very good overall experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
Ranked #5 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“a very good overall experience”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We got to the hotel about an hour early and the room wasn't ready yet. On the official check out time of 14:00 it still wasn't ready and we had to wait additional 40 minutes to get our room. Trying not to get to bored i askes to use one of the internet enabled computers they have for guests, only to find out that using those computers is not free. if you bring your own laptop you are free to use the wireless network, but since i didn't want to bring a laptop to my honeymoon, i just couldn't use the internet.
Other than that, for the most part, everything about this hotel was very good.
The swiming pool is great, lots of water massaging points, even a waterfall...
There are shuttles to the ao nang main street with two "stations", but most of the time we just walked, and alltough it's about 15 to 30 minutes (each way) to do the entire main street, it didn't bother us too much.
The rooms are very comfortable and new, the shower area is huge, like they expect four people to shower at once... ;-)
The bathroom, for some reason, has a big window looking to the living room area. It has a shade that you can roll down but it still left a small gap. So, if you are a bit shy about people watching you as you use the toilet, lookout. I just found it odd.
The staff is very friendly, and the duty manager (which her name i forgot) was very helpful, as she even helped me book my next flight. The staff at the restaurent were wonderful too, allways smiling, and ready to help. The food was good, and the choise was wide enough that even a guy that doesn't eat seafood or pork like me, got enough of a veriety.
We stayed in a ground floor room which was very convenient, but as it was the last room in the corridro, it was close to the staff's utility room, so things got a bit noisy early in the morning.

Room Tip: our room was the last in the corridor, so the utility room was just next to it and it was a bit nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrorWis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,177
    1,226
    336
    78
    36
See reviews for
897
1,214
84
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

The Mercure Deevana Hotel is perfectly situated between busy Ao Nang beach and quiet Nopparat Thara beach. It's an easy walk to either beach... but you can take a tuk tuk if you don't like to walk.

The hotel is quite new. The rooms are very comfortable and the pool is fantastic. We stayed here for 9 nights.

The food and drinks are expensive by Thai standards but the quality is good. Breakfast is 400 baht per person. Beer comes in small cans at 90 baht and mixed drinks are 190 baht. Thank goodness for happy hour (2hours), from 4-6pm at the pool. There are plenty of small stores and pubs all around where you can enjoy a drink at more traditional Thai prices.

The hotel is gay friendly and we met lots of wonderful people. We were traveling with our parents who are a very young 60+... We all enjoyed the fact that the hotel was open to all and embraced families, couples and singles equally.

If you want more privacy I suggest you get a room a few floors up from the pool and possibly towards the back of the property. The poolside rooms are fantastic for families with children.

Some people have complained that the check-in process was long. I travel extensively for work and pleasure. The hotel is new and staff is in training... the check-in experience was no longer than most other hotels. We were treated well and professionally.

We did notice a "smell" once in a while... something like dirty water. It wasn't unbearable and it didn't last very long.

If you're hungry for some snack food, there are about a dozen thai-muslim food carts along the road to Ao Nang. You can indulge in green papaya salad and skewers of all sorts for just a few hundred baht. Fresh fruit is also available... anything from dragon fruit to mangosteen.

Room Tip: Enjoy your drinks during happy hour. You'll save a bundle. The bars and restaurants at the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halifaxsamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

The hotel was brand new, rooms were fantastic, service good and the pools were great. Great fitness room.

The only notes are that breakfast and food in the premises are expensive and that you have to consider 15 minutes walk to get to Ao Nang's main street.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FeloNei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed at the hotel in Jan/ Feb for 10 nights.
Where to start..
The hotel is fairly new and modern with the rooms spacious and clean.
All the rooms overlook long swimming pool.
There are rooms on ground floor which open out onto swimming pool but not very private.
The swimming pool and plants in area well kept.
The location of hotel is about 10 minutes walk from beach/ main road or you can get Tuk Tuk right outside the hotel which for us was very cheap.
Taxis were also available and the fares controlled so no overcharging.
Breakfast - great selection!!
Omlettes - delicious!!
Free wifi which is a bonus- ask reception for your password to log in
If you enjoy cocktails then look out for Happy Hour - they are half price!!
Staff are friendly,polite and helpful
Only downside is restuarant is quite pricey for lunch and dinner
Management always around to ensure that you are enjoying your stay

Aonang beach is good swimming beach and if you need a bit of shade- you can organize chairs as long as you have a massage(which is cheap and good)
There are long tail boats which do day trips where water clearer-
however watch out for jelly fish
We were very sad to leave and thoroughly enjoyed our stay!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

1. Booked via Accor Hotels website. Got good Lunar New Year Stay 3 Pay 2. Just nice for us staying 3 nights but pay for two. Everything paid online via credit card. Booking was easy and interaction via emails was responded immediately. Good customer service.

2. Arrived around 3pm and was served with welcome drink - guess it was Roselle drink. Although the check in was smooth, I was asked to provide my credit card number again. I questioned the reception, and he just said for security. Just for a test, I did not provide a complete info, and he ignored it.

3. My room was 6301. There are six blocks, recognised by the first number i.e., 6. Second number represents the floor i.e. 3rd floor. Room 6301 is a bigger room compare to other rooms (based on the fire escape floor map). It is at the corner, however, the balcony is overlooking a house/chalet next door. If you have children/baby with you, suggest you request this room. Plenty of space to run around.

4. Room wise, a resort style (well what else :-)). Tile flooring, quite big shower area. No bathtubs. Drawbacks: only one pillow per bed. Amenities not consistently replenish. Final day, we have to request for the shower gel. Bathroom was not cleaned properly by the housekeeping. The door shuts very loud if you leave to shut by itself. So, if your neighbor comes back late night from partying, it may disturb your sleep. There is no master switch for lights near your bed. You need to walk to the main switch at the door and return to your bed. And lastly, don't forget insects repellant. Quite a number of mosquitoes want to be friend with you.

5. Seems they need to hire more staff. Only three concierge persons working in shift. Receptionist double as tour agent. When we want to book our Phi Phi islands, she needs to be given 5 mins break to catch her breath.

Room Tip: Specify in details what you need i.e., pool access, higher floor, bigger room etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeenHanafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
1.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
0.4 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang

Property: Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
Address: 186 Moo 3, Soi 8, Ao Nang Road, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand (Formerly Mercure Krabi Deevana)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang offers chic accommodation in contemporary low-rise buildings located a short distance from Ao Nang Beach. With 213 stylish rooms and suites, each with a private balcony, you can enjoy the resort's excellent facilities and benefit from gracious and personalized service from the welcoming Deevana team. The brand new resort features an exceptional restaurant and bars, three outdoor swimming pools, a kid's pool, a restful and rejuvenating spa, and outstanding meetings and events facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Krabi Deevana Hotel Ao Nang
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing