We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ao Nang Village Resort
Ranked #37 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Ao Nang
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst Resort”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed here from January 25th to January 27th and we should stay that its one of the worst resort to stay over. No intercom in any of the rooms, Unfriendly staffs. They charge you high for everything.

Room Tip: Better Avoid this resort and choose some other resort where you are comfortable with
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hitleap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    44
    15
    6
    8
See reviews for
20
41
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

After staying in cheap hostels for 2 months, I wanted to treat myself at a beach resort. I started out booking the villa resort on asiawebdirect and was redirected to the village resort somehow. This place is no resort. After my initial shock, I decided to try and make the best of it. It had to be better than the hostels I was used to. Well, that was going to be difficult because the front desk woman looked at me with a blank stare when I said, "I have a reservation." They know very little English, so after I rephrased a few times, I was given my room key. The room was clean; however, the towels are stained and there's always a stream of ants in any given location. Typical of SEA, but I was still thinking in "resort" mode. The fridge was nice to put my food, but the TV is from the 1980's and has only 8 channels, one being a shopping channel. The included breakfast is halal since this is a Muslim run business. Sadly, no bacon. On booking.com, it says there is a bar, but obviously, there is no bar. The exterior is lush and set far enough away from the main road that the noises are fairly well drowned out. It's almost directly across from McDonald's, about 10-15 minute walk to the beach through a gauntlet of "in your face" vendors. I booked a kayak trip through them and the price seemed on par with what others paid. The shower is part of the bathroom, so everything gets soaked. Again, after staying in hostels for 2 months in SEA, I was looking forward to a decent separate shower arrangement. Just put your tissue paper where it won't get wet. Oh, and the sink pipes leaked, but who cares when the whole floor is drenched already? They have excellent, friendly cleaning ladies, but sometimes my supplies were not refilled. I had to go to the front office and try 3 different ways to say, "I need toilet paper" without going into visuals. I paid 2000 baht for an AC room, but I could've been just as happy at a hostel private room for a third that price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ao Nang hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Got a room here for 5 nights after some negotiation for a great rate, by far better than other guesthouses on the street (I had already looked in about 6 or 7 others by the time I reached the village). Really glad I got a room here as it was spotlessly clean and in a great location just a few minutes walk from the beach in the thick of ao nang. The bungalows and rooms are about 20 or so metres in from the main street, so it's very quiete yet very close to the action. The bungalows are huge and equipped with king bed (which is soft and springy, unlike many of the other accommodation options that had really hard beds) fridge, tv, cupboard and table. Each room also has a private balcony with a table and chairs. The family running the place were very friendly and accommodated requests for extra tissue paper etc. They also offer a laundry service that is competitively priced. Overall, would recommend and definitely stay again if in ao nang.
Ps not to be confused with ao nang villa resort, which is more upmarket with a pool and all. Some of the reviews and photos here are for the villa resort.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hochopepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here on December 2011 for 2nights. Rooms were large. Breakfast was nothing special. Bathroom wasn't that clean. Arranged a day tour to see some places in Krabi but we think they charged a us a bit high. They provided a good microbus though. Location is great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smmusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The hotel is just nice... But if u guys looking for luxury, so this is not the hotel... But if u guys looking for just nice n clean and easier to go anywhere ecspecially place to eat... This is the right choose... I'd stayed for two night... The owner are very friendly and easy ti negotiate... There also nearest muslim's place to eat... The hotel also provide u many service... Transport to airport, island hoping, and it is cheaper than others... Recommended to u especially backpackers coz its only cost 600bath per night.. The wifi is fantastic... Greatt!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h0ney001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

The room was very comfortable, good wifi available, had room 304 which had no view on rooms in front because of palm tree. Air conditioned rooms. Can not be really called a resort but do not expect much help from reception, as they don't speak goof English and are not very present. Location is only 5 min walk from ao nang beach, which is quite nice.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virg1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seengen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

The welcome was very unfriendly. The hotel is just big, no ambiance and the personal was very unfriendly. The rooms are more or less clean but also from the view of ambiance clean. We booked two rooms with conjunction because of our kids. At the end we got two rooms in different floors...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UrsSchwarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0.3 mi away
Phra Nang Inn
Phra Nang Inn
#27 of 108 in Ao Nang
817 reviews
0.1 mi away
Krabi Heritage Hotel
Krabi Heritage Hotel
#33 of 108 in Ao Nang
389 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ao Nang Grand Inn Hostel
Ao Nang Grand Inn Hostel
#191 of 303 in Krabi Town
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dream Garden Hostel
Dream Garden Hostel
#41 of 139 in Ao Nang
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aonang Villa Resort
Aonang Villa Resort
#17 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aonang Easy Room
Aonang Easy Room
#92 of 139 in Ao Nang
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ao Nang Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ao Nang Village Resort

Property: Ao Nang Village Resort
Address: 49/3 Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ao Nang Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ao Nang Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ao Nang Village Resort Krabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing