We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to rest..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vasana Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ao Nang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vasana Bungalows
Ranked #64 of 123 Ao Nang B&B and Inns
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to rest..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We loved it here, enjoyed the games of 'boule', tucked in behind the resorts and hassel lies this fantastic little place. Such a welcoming couple, easy going, great food and only a short walk to the rest of Ao Nang. We found our inspiration here and thank Guy and Vasana for it all. We will definitely be making this a stop off point for our future trips. Greetings to you both, from the 'big love', Nadia and Paul.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puchong, Selangor, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Me and my wife stayed for 3 nights. The place are very good for honeymooners and couples. The host are very helpful and friendly and the surrounding are peaceful and calm however it is quite far from the beach but not to worry you can rent a motorbike or bicycle to move around the area. We are very grateful for the host Vasana who arranged the transport to pick us at 5.30 am local time to Krabi airport. We really enjoy our vacation and it feels very close to the nature.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erry20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I was really looking forward to our stay in Vasana Bungalows because of all the really nice reviews earlier. We knew what we could expect and the room was okay. There was not much water coming out of the shower and when you took a shower, the floor was still wet the next morning. The mosquito net could use a replacement because when there was a hole in it, they just made a knot around it.. A lot of knots in ours.. I didn't really care about all of this actually. The not so friendly owner is an other story. We had a short talk about the way to the airport because we had to catch a plane the next day. Apparently he understood that we we're going to take his transport but we just asked some information and with breakfast the next day we told him that we we're going to take the bus at the place were we rented our motorbike. When he understood that we were not going to take his transport he became quite angry and the discussion ended with 'If you want to pay more that's fine'. I think he just felt insulted that we didn't take his transport but we just had to bring back our motorbike. With the payment at the end of the stay he also reacted quite rude with a sarcastic 'oh thank you' when I told him he could keep the change, okay it wasn't much, but still..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Me and my partner, were so much looking forward to our stay in Vasana Bungalows for 5 night, but few minutes after our arrival, we were rather worried than enjoying. We knew that we wanted something simple and close to the nature and easygoing; The problem with Vasana Bungalows, that it was additionally to this, NOT clean and NOT really friendly owner, with no care about the quality and the comfort of guests. I do not understand how it is possible to offer an accommodation which was not cleaned for at least a whole season or maybe a year!!! The ventilator was super dirty; even oily!!! the mosquito net above the bed was terrible!!! the toilet the same!! the shower head was so dirty that no water was going out anymore; we had to remove it to get some water out of the tube. the Garden around bungalows were not taking care of. All the things I mentioned does not need lots of money, but rather an effort and to me the owner looked like he does not care at all. It is written everywhere that they have an air-conditioning system and it is NOT TRUE. When I asked about this, Mr Guy said that "Open the windows and you will have the natural air-conditioning you are asking about". The problem that I can not even open the window, since that he did not bother to put any kind of a Mosquito Window Net!!!!! When we in the same first night informed him that we will most probably leave in the next day and we are of course ready to pay any kind of costs related, he got angry and turned into a not polite person. The next morning when we were actually leaving and after accepting to pay for 2 night even though we didn't have too, he was still almost yelling at us in front of other guests, who were having their breakfast. His wife "Vasana" was trying to help us a bit, but he end up yelling at her as well. ONLY 1 thing he cares to do; playing Pétanque; But this is not enough. More important is to offer guests the basic comfort and then think about playing Pétanque ...... I am not going to Thailand to play Pétanque!!!! UNLESS he would put an effort to clean the place and add just few things in rooms, like mosquitoes net to all windows, this place will remain a trap for guests.

Room Tip: Remember that the place is not clean and accept of a poor ventilator, you can not open any windows b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at vasana/Chaba bungalows for 3 nights! Our room was great and vasana and guy were absolutely lovely! Not far from the Main Street and beach around 10 minute walk - if not walking vasana can arrange a tuk tuk to pick you up for 30 baht pp! For friendliness and quality I would 100% recommend it here! We was offered another room in case the one we was in was to noisy which was great customer service but we was happy with the room we had! I can't fault the stay one bit! The only fault I have is not staying longer!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Location and surroundings are great. In a beautiful garden, against a stunning mountain wall, away from the noise but within 5 minutes biking from the action and beach. There's not a better place to stay at Ao Nang.

We were planning to stay for one night to move on to Railay, but decided to stay one more night. The rooms are basic but romantic. Well kept rooms and chill atmosphere. The owners Guy and Savana are friendly, serving great breakfast and giving you a relaxed time when you come back from a long day outside.

The only downside was the mosque, starting to call for the pray at 5am in the morgning, it will wake you up. But this isn't the fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vk789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We spent 3 days with Vasana an Guy and had an amazing time. Vasana is the nicest and most efficient host, getting us amazing deals for tours and service, always much cheaper than other places. Guy provides great entertainment with evening games of "pétanque" too. The location is good, away from the madness of main road but only 3 min to the beach by bike. Great stay!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deltm106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.2 mi away
Aonang Mountain Paradise
Aonang Mountain Paradise
#91 of 106 in Ao Nang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vipa Tropical Resort
Vipa Tropical Resort
#5 of 123 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
KiriRaya Resort & Spa
KiriRaya Resort & Spa
#54 of 133 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andaman Pearl Resort
Andaman Pearl Resort
#22 of 123 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.7 mi away
Phu Pha Ao Nang Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vasana Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vasana Bungalows

Property: Vasana Bungalows
Address: 395 Moo 2 Soi AO nang 13, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in Ao Nang
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Vasana Bungalows Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing