We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good.... But after standing my ground”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Number 1 House & Restaurant
Ranked #72 of 122 Ao Nang B&B and Inns
The midlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good.... But after standing my ground”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Booked number 1 hostel via the internet and advised arrival will be around 6pm, on arrival we checked in, took copies of our passports, paid a deposit etc etc to then be escorted a couple of minute walk to a neighbouring b/b called sb mansion, we was left there with the owner????. Confusion hit and I asked her why we was here and she said we had been booked in here, getting my confirmation out I showed her we had not... Any went to look at the room her and I was definitely not paying 1900 thb per night to stay there, asking her how much the room was she said 1200 thb per night... So basically I'd just been ripped off... I walked back up to number 1 and asked the lady what was happening, she spoke very little English (which is probably why nothing was explained) and just asked me to wait for the owner whilst she called him... 20 min later he arrived... Basically they had over booked and booked us out.. Fine this happens, I work in hotels but the rules are you should book out to accommodation that is off similar standard and sell at the price they sell at.. Not make 700thb profit, the owner is actually a really nice guy and said if we could stay 1 night at sb mansion he could get us in at number 1 for thee following 2 night, and thank god he did as we both came down with the dreaded typical thai sickness an glad we wasn't spending a day in bed in sb mansion..
Number 1 rooms are very spacious and very clean, we had a room on the 4th floor on the front with a balcony, they have tv but it didn't work properly - signal was awful, fridge with water in, dressing table but no hanging space or wardrobe,, full bathroom with bath... Yippee but soon realised that the shower trickled out so you was best having a bath... Free wifi which was good.. The room was very clean, however I did have an allergic reaction to their washing products, so be careful if you have sensitive skin... Mines not sensitive but every time I lay down on the bed or used a towel it aggravated a horrific rash I'd occurred....
I wasn't sure if they did breakfast, there were some lockers in the hallway and tea/coffee but I wasn't sure if that was for our usage - none of this was explained at check in..
The staff were lovely and I do recommend the hotel, however I wouldn't stay there,again due to my allergic reaction to the bedding..I would also suggest the owner be present when booking guests out due to his English being a lot more better and able to explain what's happening, unfortunately we did see a couple the next day having the same problem and being sent down to sb mansion...
The hotel is located 5min walk from the centre and beaches of ao nang, great location and just far enough out you can get some sleep,at night
The owner gave us a lift to krabi airport for 500bht which is cheaper that a taxi

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank lennythemidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
4
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
190 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Don’t feel misled by first impression when you arrive there and see the entrance!
We stayed there 4 nights and we are really satisfied: the room n. 304 was large and spotlessly clean, the bed was really hard though. Hot water and usual amenities in bathroom and TV, fridge, wifi in room. There are lockers for valuables in the hallway to stairs and umbrellas and mats available for guests. We didn’t have breakfast there.
In 10-15 minutes one can walk to the beach where the boats for islands leave.
Mr. Gang, the owner, is exceptionally kind and always tries to do his best for guests. He took us to airport for less than taxi outside and let us print our boarding passes for free.
This is not a hotel but only a simple and budget guesthouse, but we truly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

The rooms here are clean, modern and comfortable. The bed is king size and has a new air con unit. There is a tv with English channels which is great. It has a fridge also. The bathroom is spacious with a bath and shower. The location is about ten mins walk from the beach, 5 min walk from McDonalds and Starbucks and a 2 min walk from a 7 11. The staff downstairs are very friendly, especially Winyou the manager man. They have also just recently opened up a massage room downstairs with great prices and a range of massages/manicures/facials etc. Overall great place to stay. Room tip: ask for a room facing the road/mountains as it is a great view from the balcony!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Xavieremp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

My friend and I had a very pleasant stay in Number 1. We stayed here for 2 weeks and we really appreciated the help we got from the staff here. Always smiling and willing to help us with guidance and other things we needed during our stay.
The hotel is located pretty central to nightlife, shopping area and the beach. There are no noisy restaurants nearby so we could sleep well in the night :-)
Rooms have a fine size and all with balconies. The restaurant servers well prepared and tasty food to reasonable prices. Quite a few thais and bypassing tourists are eating here.
If you like to have massage the hotel can offer this too. Also airport transfers to competitive prices are offered.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter_Moller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were recommended "goodwill" but the price was higher than we were told so looked elsewhere and eventually settled here. We payed 500 baht and you don't need to pay any more for a good place in this town. The room was very big and even had a balcony, they were friendly and let us use the computer for a long time to print boarding passes. Every place in Ao Nang only seems to have the sightly smaller, cheaper rooms become available in the evening (funny that) so it is probably worth booking in advance to get it cheaper here - or better yet just don't stay in Ao Nang as there is nothing to do there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurence E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, U.K.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have stayed in this area a couple of times before in the Pranang Flora hotel but it was full so we booked here. This was only a restaurant 18 months ago but now they have utilised the upstairs and it's a great hotel. On a par with the other hotels nearby, same layout but newer. Big, spacious rooms and big bathrooms with hot over -the -bath shower. We were on the third, top floor overlooking the road.We liked the view, it was very sunny and there was always something going on. It wasn't too noisy either but if you want it more peaceful, the rooms at the back have a mountain view and are very quiet. The aircon worked very well. It was needed as the temperature hit 37c/99f some days ! There is no lift, so if you are not too fit, ask for a lower floor ! There was no in-room safe but lockers are provided free of charge in reception. As is free tea/coffee which you prepare yourself. The staff were fabulous. Really friendly and couldn't do enough for us. They offered umbrellas (for rain or sun ) and beach mats all free of charge. There is free wifi throughout the hotel and they printed our boarding passes without charge. The restaurant was very good. We ate breakfast every morning, and chose from an extensive menu. We had Ham, bacon, egg and tomato, two toast with jam and butter, orange juice, three types of fresh fruit and tea or coffee for 100 tb. Brilliant.

Room Tip: No lift, so choose a lower floor if you aren't a mountain goat ! The rooms at the back have moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blackpool-Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Last week my wife and I stayed at Number 1. Even though it is located on the main road and relatively close to the beach, it is a bit less hectic than around the beach. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. The food is good; fresh and tasty. It is not a luxury resort, and does not pretend to be one. It's a good guesthouse for a fair price. We would stay here again!

Room Tip: We had a room in the front, but had no issues with noise from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertAmsterdam76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0.1 mi away
Backpack House Hostel
Backpack House Hostel
#62 of 136 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ao-Nang View LaVilla
Ao-Nang View LaVilla
#52 of 122 in Ao Nang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lai Thai
The Lai Thai
#25 of 122 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aonang Goodwill
Aonang Goodwill
#10 of 122 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Purr
Baan Purr
#172 of 298 in Krabi Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Hotel
Sleep Inn Hotel
#63 of 122 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 1 House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 1 House & Restaurant

Property: Number 1 House & Restaurant
Address: 420/2 Moo 2, Krabi, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Number 1 House & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Number 1 House & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 1 House & Restaurant Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing