We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hostel”
Review of Glur Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Glur Hostel
Ranked #5 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Decent hostel”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Great bed area with plug, light, curtain & personal locker with plenty of space. Good a/c and wifi too. Really good rooms overall. Only negative about the rooms was the terrible pillows - very high, very hard. I couldn't sleep on them and ended up using the blanket provided as a pillow. Good clean toilets and showers too. Nice communal area with free water & tea/coffee. Price was rather high for a hostel at 600 Baht a night. Also location wasn't brilliant - 20 min walk to the centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivingL0ndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    46
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
29
114
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

After a month of backpacking, I can honestly say: I wish every hostel would be like Glur!
pool? Awesome hang out area, fruit & water, nice staff, stunning surrounding views, auper modern bathroom, cozy bunkbeds with curtains and son on...

Just perfect! Treat yourself, you wont regret the few dollars more.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I had originally planned to stay for 4 nights but the experience was so good that I had decided to extend one more night and I’m glad that I did. It takes about 15-20 minutes to walk to the beach and there are so many restaurants along the way so that’s a good way to explore the place. Breakfast is available at the Sandwich bar next door and I absolutely loved it. Try the steak and cheese set. The portions are generous and totally worth it. You can’t go wrong on that one!

Since it was my first time in backpacking, I was pretty apprehensive about how my overall experience was going to turn out but I’m so glad that I chose Glur. If you want to book a tour, I would suggest getting it done at the reception and you can save time. Their toilets and bathrooms are well kept and every morning, you can see the efforts put in to tidy up the place. Swimming pool is available for your use, coffee and tea is provided as well at the pantry area. There is a reading corner, television and hammocks for your use if you want to stay in and have sometime for yourself.

I was completely bowled away with the privacy that was provided for each bed. You could actually draw the curtains and that was a huge plus for me! I took a female, 4 bed dormitory and have no complains. I had a fantastic trip and I can’t wait to be back.
Just a lil’ heads up, remember to bring along mosquito repellent because there’s quite a number of them at night. Besides that, you have to stay here and experience for yourself. Cheers to Rick and his team for having an awesome place. You made my trip more memorable. :-)

Room Tip: Remember to bring along mosquito repellent because there’s quite a number of them at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chitz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a private room, bunk beds were comfortable, tv, dvd player, huge bathroom very modern and clean. Nice quirky hostel, swimming pool was great, in a garden, kitchen, communal area, free tea and coffee, water and fruit. Quiet location on a little side road, 15 minute walk to beach. Very nice but I think it is too expensive for the private room. Walls are thin so could hear next doors baby!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rosier_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Me and a friend booked this hostel after recommendation. And it didn't fail with facilities and cleanliness. Lovely bedrooms, such clean toilets and showers and the common area is really really nice. It is on the more expensive side for a backpacker. But worthit if you have the money. The only problem I find is the lack of sociableness which is what you crave as a traveller. We didn't meet too many people (even when full) but everyone we met was absoloute lovely. Would come back again :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bananaloofy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gozo
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Glur for 5 nights, great location. 20 min from beach by walk, away from main busy streets. Room looks great, clean, spacies with its own storage for laguage. Lovely common area, with a lown and pool. We'll done :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GozoDivingDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stayed in Glur for 2 nights at the end of January after being on phi phi. I wish i hadn't already booked my flight to Bangkok as i would have stayed longer!! As reviewers say its a well designed hostel that really does offer everything you need. I stayed in the female 8 bed dorm and was really impressed with the bed, big massive locker, mirror, light and plug along with the curtain for a bit of privacy. Richard who checked me in was very helpful in showing me round. The pool was nice and refreshing and an added bonus.

The bathrooms were spotless, as was the rest of the hostel. The communal area meant it was really easy to meet people, and it was a great place to hang out. Over the weekend there is a great food market on the room to the hostel so one night my new friends and I ate like kings! Staff were very helpful with offering advice on where to get laundry done, trips and airport transfers.

Yes its 15 minutes (downhill) walk to the beach, but this meant I was able to check out lots of restaurants on the way! The one time i was too tired to walk i got a tut tut for a few baht. No hassle at all. Being a little further from the beach meant a good nights sleep away from the party area. Top tip get a longtail to Railay - highlight of my trip. In all i loved this hostel and I will make sure if i'm ever back in Ao nang to stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmadilemma81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,479 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 108 in Ao Nang
572 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
0.5 mi away
Aonang Paradise Resort
Aonang Paradise Resort
#32 of 108 in Ao Nang
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glur Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glur Hostel

Property: Glur Hostel
Address: 22/2 Moo 2, Soi Aonang 11/1, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Glur Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glur Hostel is a small resort-like hostel located in a peaceful area of AoNang with signature lime stone cliff view, and approximately 1.5 kilometers away from AoNang Beach. We provide only the bunk-bed type room with either private bath or shared bath and also features gathering places like open-air common area with 42"LCD & DVD, small kitchen area with fridge, microwave, hot-cold water dispenser, free coffee & tea. Free WIFI throughout the hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Glur Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glur Hostel Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing