We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST place on Earth :)”
Review of Glur Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glur Hostel
Ranked #5 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I had a fantastic time at GLUR. This was the nicest, cleanest and most cozy hostel I have stayed at and the nicest place over all in Thailand. The rooms were spacious and the bathrooms clean! Super friendly staff that helps you out with everything you need. They have a great swimming pool and an excellent lounge areas. In fact there were multiple lounging areas to mingle. I met the most fantastic people! Oh an the breakfast was wonderful!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bass0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 309 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights but we wished it was for longer! Staff were great booking our onward transfer to patong and a fantastic kayaking tour. Breakfast was delicious and there was free coffee/tea/water in a cool common area. Pool was refreshing and bathrooms clean. Room was a bit dull but it just makes you get out and explore the area! Importantly though the air con worked and was clean. Market right outside was lovely and there was loads of shops/cafés and restaurants on the 15 minute walk to beach.

All in all- brilliant value for money!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlie1929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

what a hostel, i have to say it was stye best hostel all round for me so far and it would def take some beating. I stayed here first for 2 days and then returned after a motorbike accident to recover and it was just the perfect place to recoup. they have thought of everything, from beds with wardrobes, bunks that are secured to the wall so you don't hear or feel the person above or below you. own mirror, small changing area, curtains for privacy, plenty of showers and WC's, swimming pool, hammocks, to lounge area and much much more. the sandwich market it awesome and the staff just great. well done to this amazing hostel! :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellernad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I ve been staying in Glur Hostel for 1 week and cannt imagine now staying in other place !!!!)))Everything was awesome -location , Sunday market every weekend on the same street makes this place more attractive !!!!)))very helpful and nice stuff , rooms,swimming pool re amazing !!!!and Sandwich Market OMG!!!!the best !!!

Room Tip: 4 beds dorm is quiet and light ,AC works very well !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OliaSilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This was an extremely well designed hostel, with a modern, clean feel. The bathroom is modern and spacious, and the bunk beds have lots of storage space to put your belongings. The complex has a really nice ambience, and we were pleasantly surprised to discover on arrival that there's also a pool! This wasn't the cheapest place, but definitely the best hostel I've stayed at in Asia. The breakfast is also fantastic - eggs, bacon, ham and toast, plus juice and coffee are all included in the price, and delicious. While this place isn't right on the beach (about a 20 minute walk away) I'll definitely stay here again if I'm lucky enough to come back to Ao Nang!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaitlinO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

During the 9 months I was travelling this was one of the very best hostels I stayed in. The facilities were wonderful and Ryk and the owner B were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble. Very clean showers and bedrooms which included lockers. Although it was just off the beaten track it only took about 15 minutes to walk to the beach. There are plenty of bars and restaurants locally and lots of trips available.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed here on our way to Koh Lanta, and liked it so much we stayed an extra night, and went out of our way to return.

Firstly, the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, but also give you space and peace and quiet. The owners are very 'hands-on' and are nice people.

The hostel itself is the best i have stayed at, not only in Thailand but in SE Asia. It has been beautifully designed from the ground up as a hostel, and as such has everything you could need. The outside areas are attractively landscaped and practical. The dorm rooms are superb, to the point where it feels like you have a private room. Each bunk has a curtain, lockable cupboard, charging points, light, and mirror. Each room is fully air-conditioned and the beds are extremely comfortable.

The hostel is located off the main road about 200m. It is easy to find, all buses will drop you at the top of the road. The beach is 15-20 mins walk away, and there are many nice restaurants and bars nearby.

Their adjoining breakfast / sandwich bar is exceptionally good and competitively priced.

I have recommended this hostel to many people, and would highly recommend it to anyone in the area. Book early and decide how many nights you want, they get very booked up as most people stay extra nights!!

This really is world class hostel accommodation, enjoy!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#47 of 111 in Ao Nang
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,574 reviews
1.2 mi away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#36 of 111 in Ao Nang
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pop-In Hostel
Pop-In Hostel
#4 of 144 in Ao Nang
164 reviews
0.5 mi away
K-Bunk Hostel
K-Bunk Hostel
#3 of 144 in Ao Nang
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Slumber Party Hostel and Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glur Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glur Hostel

Address: 22/2 Moo 2, Soi Aonang 11/1, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Ao Nang
Price Range: $18 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Glur Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glur Hostel is a small resort-like hostel located in a peaceful area of AoNang with signature lime stone cliff view, and approximately 1.5 kilometers away from AoNang Beach. We provide only the bunk-bed type room with either private bath or shared bath and also features gathering places like open-air common area with 42"LCD & DVD, small kitchen area with fridge, microwave, hot-cold water dispenser, free coffee & tea. Free WIFI throughout the hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Glur Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glur Hostel Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing