We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glur Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glur Hostel
Ranked #3 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The structure of the hostel is amazing, all beds have particular lockers (big lockers) and courtains for privacy. The bathroom is clean (like all the hostel) and the showers are particular. The only bad aspect is that the place is a little bit far from the beach in comparison to other accomodation, but i guess 15 minutes walking will not kill anyone.

Room Tip: I guess the only difference between the rooms is the number of people in each one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MateusBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    44
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
28
108
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went as a couple and were astounded by the amazing friendliness and attention to details and cleanliness of this place. It helps that the owners built this on their own and run it themselves too. They really treat it like their baby, and it shows.
Would recommend any traveller to Ao Nang to stay there, it's close enough to the market, but not too close to be too loud. Just right.

Room Tip: They have couples' rooms with attached bathrooms, and some without. Choose accordingly. The dor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Coolest rooms with air conditioning and comfortable beds. The bathroom facilities are clean and great, equipped with hot showers, nice sinks, and toilet stalls. Nice eating area with fridge and hot water for coffee and tea, etc. Smaller rooms equipped with nice flat screen TV and DVD player, and movies/tv shows can be found in a bunch of disc albums in the eating area with a pretty good selection.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank critquaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed at Glur for 2 nights and have to say, it's the nicest looking hostel I have stayed in thus far. Dorms and toilets were very clean and me and my friends felt cared for staying here - the owners even served complimentary half peeled mangosteens and rambutans for the guests! Very quiet and relaxing atmosphere if that is what you are looking for.

Yes, it is an approx. 20 minutes walk from the main Ao Nang stretch, but we knew that already prior to booking and we personally enjoyed the short walk up and down pre and post meal :)

Considering the price we paid for our stay here, could not have asked for anything more.

Was a bit bummed the "sandwich bar" was under reno during our trip, and would be great if they considered selling off the shelf drinks and food, so we would not have to walk out the main road to get them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraR1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Glur is as lovely as everyone says it is - huuuuuge dorm beds with enough room at the foot to put your backpack; great lockers; curtains; lights; wireless; well-kept (if very buggy!) grounds. Impeccably clean bathrooms.

But I can't emphasize enough how far away Glur is from the center of town and the beach. It's a 20-25 minute walk, and the 200 meter side road leading to the hostel is pitch black at night. If you're a solo female traveler, be really careful, since there have been a few violent crimes and robberies against foreign women in Ao Nang in 2011 & 2012. You can take a tuk-tuk from town but it'll cost you 60-80 baht.

Once again, the facilities were near-perfect, but it's just too far away from everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Looking for a nice and cozy place far away from the busy road? Glur is the place!

In the low season the pricd was very reasonable. The dorm rooms are great and provide some privacy due to the curtains. Love it!

Low season also offers you free toast, jam, fruit and coffee and tea. Friendly manager from Scotland.

Yes the place is a good 15/20 minute walk but you know that when booking the place.

Ao nang is a very nice place to head to some islands!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Ater 8 months of travelling around the world I think this must be one of the best hostels I've stayed in. 4 star hotel standard cleanliness, massive rooms, privacy curtains, lockers.. Everything you could ask for in a hostel. There's even a little bit of free breakfast too, and free tea & coffee all day.

The common area is big with a TV & DVDs, and some games. Only minuses is its a little far from the beach and bars, and there's no drinks and food for sale (the nearest shop is about a 5 min walk, where you can also find so,e great cheap local food).

To be honest, Krabi isn't a party area, so if wild nights drinking is what your looking for then I wouldn't come here. If you want to do a bit of sightseeing and visit some of the nicest beaches in Thailand on a budget then rent a motorcycle and stay here!

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Slumber Party Hostel and Bar
0.3 mi away
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glur Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glur Hostel

Property: Glur Hostel
Address: 22/2 Moo 2, Soi Aonang 11/1, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Glur Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glur Hostel is a small resort-like hostel located in a peaceful area of AoNang with signature lime stone cliff view, and approximately 1.5 kilometers away from AoNang Beach. We provide only the bunk-bed type room with either private bath or shared bath and also features gathering places like open-air common area with 42"LCD & DVD, small kitchen area with fridge, microwave, hot-cold water dispenser, free coffee & tea. Free WIFI throughout the hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Glur Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glur Hostel Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing