We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ao Nang Baan Suan Resort
Ranked #43 of 135 Ao Nang B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We only stayed 1 night here, then moved on with a TRIPLE upgrade:
1. better location (1km from the beach as opposed to 5km)
2. cheaper place (400 bath instead of 500 bath per double room per night)
3. better room (just simply bigger and nicer + bathroom with bath tub and not currently flooded floor from water running from the sink and shower directly onto the floor without any pipes or connections - the floor has just a hole in the corner to absorb the water from the entire bathroom where the shower is not in any way separated by any curtain or anything from the toilet or sink and is placed right in-between the latter = even though this is typical bathroom for Thailand, I just want to point out that we got an upgrade from Thai bathroom to European one in a place closer to the beach and not in the middle of nowhere at a cheaper rate)

The rip off is though not because of the 500 bath instead of 400 as it is just 12,50 euro against 10 which is fine, but the whole idea of the place is a rip off - they get you there from the bus station by saying "at the beach is more expensive and with us is very cheap and there is a free taxi to the beach all day all the time" - this results in reality being a taxi only 1 time per hour only between 8am and 5pm and after 5pm it is 50 bath per person one way and of course you never manage it to get back to this "middle of nowhere" by 5pm. The most embarrassing thing though is that as soon as you checked out, they are bold enough to start charging you for the taxi to the beach even between 8am to 5pm - more specifically at 10am when check-out deadline is 11am, so technically you are still a guest of them - basically "we know that you are here in the middle of nowhere so we gonna charge you if you want out here now" - in the end they did agree to give us a free lift, but I found it completely unacceptable to even suggest that we should to pay for their "free" taxi service.

Another great thing was that they only connected the air-conditioning in our room only after we told them we could not figure out how to switch it on - basically you can pay more for the room with a/c or less if the a/c is disconnected and the room has just a fan. We paid the a/c rate, but they did not bother connecting a/c until we asked.

The prices in the restaurant are also 30% higher than one should expect. Plus, my breakfast arrived only after my boyfriend has already finished his, even though we ordered at the same time.

Only one person among the staff understands and speaks acceptable English and he was running in-between all the possible jobs (waiter, bell-boy, etc) as the rest did not get what the guests wanted in English.

I did not feel anybody thought of us as anything else than a cash cow.

Positive about the place is that:
-the waiter/bell-boy helped carrying our bags upon arrival
-there was hot water in the shower as promised even though the power of it was very low
-the place does look nice compared to many places we saw before in Thailand and has a/c, hot shower and the toilet with a flush which is not always the case in many cheaper fan rooms, however, as pointed out above, we have easily found a nicer place for less money and at a better location
-the taxi driver drives very carefully (we gave him a tip of 50 bath instead of paying the hotel for what is supposed to be a free service)
-there is a swimming pool if you are interested in it (we were not)
-there is a funny talking bird there which says "morning" in English and some Thai words as well

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Ekaterina_Petersburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 147 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2011

After a long trip to Krabi which i did not sleep we arrived at 800 in a bus station 5km from Krabi and 2km from Ao Nang. A low key came up and immediately started the speel, repeating himself about how good it was. Then when we sat down away from him he continued, when not happy with this the owner came over and started with the same speel and followed us around a lot while we tried to have a quiet conversation. But anyway, the owner tried very hard to come up with reasons not to go to this island or not to sty at this place because his place was better. My fiancee wanted us to chill and rest so we stayed. What we found was a 7 bungalow resort with very pricey and unhygenic restaurant, pool table that the staff always played on, almost no other people (they were on tours, said the owner) any of the days we were there, and by 8:30pm the whole place closed up and went to bed!! The customer service was with a fake smile or total indifference.
They had free mopeds which was cool because the town was sooooooo faaaar away it was the furthest resort. Monkey would play on the roof at night and make lots of noise and the locks on the rooms did not work, giving absolutely no security at all. I would not recommend this one

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Greigless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Alicja11111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surawee, General Manager at Ao Nang Baan Suan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank bomba78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surawee, Manager at Ao Nang Baan Suan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Tanya v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kory61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Yoan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
2.5 mi away
8icon Ao Nang by I Galleria Krabi
2.5 mi away
Maleedee Bay Resort
Maleedee Bay Resort
#49 of 111 in Ao Nang
230 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vipa Tropical Resort
Vipa Tropical Resort
#4 of 135 in Ao Nang
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aonang Cliff View Resort
Aonang Cliff View Resort
#48 of 135 in Ao Nang
492 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marina Express - Fisherman
0.8 mi away
Aonang Phutawan Resort
Aonang Phutawan Resort
#54 of 135 in Ao Nang
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ao Nang Baan Suan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ao Nang Baan Suan Resort

Address: 230 M.5 T. Saithai, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Ao Nang
Price Range: $27 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ao Nang Baan Suan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ao Nang Baan Suan Resort. Where fantastic holiday offers await you. A Place where thousand little moment... Make up a single, unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ao Nang Baan Suan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ao Nang Baan Suan Resort Krabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing