We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent NZ steaks and other food at affordable prices.”
Review of The Boat - CLOSED

The Boat
Cuisines: European, French, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: the only french typical restaurant in Ao nang, Nice Place for good food and drinks, with a great selection of wine, inside a real and unique tradionnal thai fishing boat.Good for chill out and meeting people.Just relax and enjoy at outdoor area between the palm trees or inside the Boat.We speak Thai, French, English, spanish, italian
Reviewed March 5, 2014

For the last 2 months, my wife and I have been staying at Nadivana Serviced Apartments, a little way from the main Ao Nang and Noppharat Thara beaches, and a short walk (10-15 mins) from The Boat Restaurant.
During our stay, we have visited The Boat on many occasions and each time we have been personally welcomed by either Laurent or Matthew, the two French owners.
We have sampled several items from the menu (although, in an area where imported steaks are hard to obtain, it was usually steak) and have never been disappointed.
Although the restaurant is French-owned, they do, of course offer Thai food, as well as their own French oriented dishes.
This really is an oasis in a desert which, being heavily populated by Muslims, means that western food and alcohol in particular, is nigh on impossible to obtain.
JUST ONE FINAL, BUT VERY IMPORTANT POINT --- This restaurant has only been under the stewardship of the current owners since December 2013, and yet, Trip-Advisor insists on displaying reviews posted prior to this time, simply because, I am told, that the previous owners also called it "The Boat"! It can hardly be called anything else since part of the restaurant is actually a boat --- a very large one which one cannot miss if one is driving past it.
Therefore, I would urge readers to disregard any reviews posted prior to December 2013, be they good, bad or indifferent.
Thank you Laurent, Matthew, Alisa, and your staff, for some very enjoyable times.
David and Margaret.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 30 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

The Boat is a newly (re)opened restaurant, with an energetic management, that delivers great food and an ambience that beats most if not all of the restaurants in the centre of Ao Nang. Being slightly off the centre, it's clear this restaurant made the right priority with quality over quantity. The restaurant seems to be frequented a lot by locals and people who are staying here for longer durations, which also says a lot about the quality of food delivered here. I have visited The Boat quite a few times in the past month, and I will not refer to any specific dish on the menu to recommend, since I've never left less than satisfied with whatever I've tried. Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Alexander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmacaluso, Propriétaire at The Boat, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

thanks for this great comment, we are really appreciating your support, and will keep going to improve our food quality and services everyday, you and you familly are always welcome at the boat

best regards

laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Vary original restaurant, food was testy and the staff was vary friendly. I'll return for sure. Best French food in the area.

Thank Karol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The boat was a nice place to eat with a very unique style, and pretty OK food, but it's closed down now, and from the look of it won't be opening uip again any time soon... so you missed it. :-(

Thank sarcasmatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Wrong food was delivered. One of the ordered dished never came and those that did come, was delivered 20 min apart.

Thank Lunel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boat also viewed

 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing