We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did not like the food at all, not very friendly staff” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alta Marea Italian & Thai Restaurant - CLOSED

Alta Marea Italian & Thai Restaurant
Price range: $3 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: WUOULD YOU LIKE TO TRY OUR ITALIAN SPECIALITIES IN THAILAND?WE ARE WAITING FOR YOU AT ALTA MAREA ITALIAN RESTAURANT, WHERE YOU CAN FIND ONLY REAL ITALIAN FOOD, HOME MADE BREAD, LASAGNA, RAVIOLI, SPAGHETTI...WE MAKE EVERYTHING FRESH AND GOOD BECAUSE WE ARE FROM ITALY, AND WE LOVE GOOD FOOD.NOT EXPENSIVE, BUT VERY LOVELY AND VERY GOOD QUALITY.SINCE NOVEMBER 2011 WE OFFER ALSO A GREAT LOCAL THAI FOOD, FOR 80 THB ONLY!!!
Zuerich
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Did not like the food at all, not very friendly staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

After reading the reviews we decided that we have to try this restaurant. What a disappointment! My husband had a tomatoe mozzarella salad (on the menu it is written with real mozzarella). If an Italian writes real mozzarealla then I would expect the real one and not these thin kind of mozzarella cheese that you can buy which is definately not the real one! Then we had home made ravioli and penne with tomatoe sauce. The penne portion was extremly small. Maybe OK for a child but not for an adult. It almost had no sauce on it and it was just really boring. I mean even a simple tomatoe sauce could be nice... The Portion of the ravioli was OK but again, the sauce and the pasta did not have any taste. I really expected more. And I had the feeling that if you are not italian or don't speak italian the staff is really not very friendly. Better try the Jeseao restaurant (Pizza is great there and really friendly service). The food is really not cheap, which would have been OK if the food was great but it really wasn't

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Masib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
110 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian food at great price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

We were recommended this by another guest at the hotel sala talay. Our tuna salad starter was okay. However the ravioli main course was superb. As was the penne arriabatta. The home made Apple cake and Italian coffee rounded off the meal just lovely. The carafe of red wine was also excellent value. About 1200 baht (#24).

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tigertonyedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

liked everything especially the mozzarella salad!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank RozMc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent - would recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

Went here after reading other reviews and we were also staying at the Sala Talay so a few minutes' walk away. Food and service were excellent, great atmosphere which is sadly lacking in many of Ao Nang's restaurants. Had seafood pasta and salami pizza, both of which were excellent. Yes, the chocolate dessert is a wee bit expensive (for Thailand) but it tastes great and ultimately it's up to everyone to check these details beforehand.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Real Italian cook and the best service in Thailand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

It's nice to fill the difference in the quality of the ingredients that comes from Italy. I recommend the home made lazanya and pizza....

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dardvirasayag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alta Marea Italian & Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing