We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great Italian”

Alta Marea Italian & Thai Restaurant
Price range: $3 - $38
Cuisines: Italian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: WUOULD YOU LIKE TO TRY OUR ITALIAN SPECIALITIES IN THAILAND?WE ARE WAITING FOR YOU AT ALTA MAREA ITALIAN RESTAURANT, WHERE YOU CAN FIND ONLY REAL ITALIAN FOOD, HOME MADE BREAD, LASAGNA, RAVIOLI, SPAGHETTI...WE MAKE EVERYTHING FRESH AND GOOD BECAUSE WE ARE FROM ITALY, AND WE LOVE GOOD FOOD.NOT EXPENSIVE, BUT VERY LOVELY AND VERY GOOD QUALITY.SINCE NOVEMBER 2011 WE OFFER ALSO A GREAT LOCAL THAI FOOD, FOR 80 THB ONLY!!!
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great Italian”
Reviewed December 16, 2011

liked everything especially the mozzarella salad!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank RozMc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent - would recommend”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Went here after reading other reviews and we were also staying at the Sala Talay so a few minutes' walk away. Food and service were excellent, great atmosphere which is sadly lacking in many of Ao Nang's restaurants. Had seafood pasta and salami pizza, both of which were excellent. Yes, the chocolate dessert is a wee bit expensive (for Thailand) but it tastes great and ultimately it's up to everyone to check these details beforehand.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Real Italian cook and the best service in Thailand”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

It's nice to fill the difference in the quality of the ingredients that comes from Italy. I recommend the home made lazanya and pizza....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dardvirasayag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Italian for Thailand”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We enjoyed well cooked pasta including home made ravioli, was quite pleasantly surprised. Def worth a try if your looking for some variety.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank KNR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A real Italian restaurant with real Italian food”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

This restaurant was the dicovery of our trip. It is runed by a young Italian couple. Warm welcome and delicious food, pleasant atmosphere on the Nopathara beach. This restaurant is 100 m from Sala Talay resort where we stayed so they were kind enough to even make food delivery to our hotel. I highly reccomend their homemade pasta, pizza and desert menu!
This was the only Italian restaurant where we found Italian management and chef in all Ao Nang area. Most of the other "italian" restaurants are run by Indian people and serve precooked pasta with canned sauce!
Alta Marea sauces are prepared at the moment you order it and are super delicious.
Prices are very reasonable and I definitely reccomend this restaurant.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank TerrazzeSamui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alta Marea Italian & Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing