We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Villa Alice...GREAT spot for friends and family”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Villa Alice

Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
front view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
57 reviews
Pool
front view
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Ao Nang, Krabi Town, Krabi Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Robert B
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Villa Alice...GREAT spot for friends and family”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Where do I start? Andaman Sky hooked us up with this marvelous villa. Thai style architecture, stylish art, great pool, incredible views, secure, private, lush grounds, a bit remote so any noise we made was completely fine, service by AS was timely whenever we needed ANYTHING, etc. Sit on the lanai, watch the kids frolic in the water, enjoy a Singha, ponder life, gaze at Naga Mtn, get lost in this gem of an experience with the support of the Andaman Sky a phone call away. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property felt remote, but was 5 mins from anything we wanted
Liked least: Occasional bugs, buy hey this is SE Asia...my issue!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huei_xian
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A FANTASTIC PLACE TO STAY”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

This is a great place to stay, we had a great time here, playing in the pool on inflatable thingies. There are 3 bathrooms and 2 kitchens. The view is sensational - a beautiful mountain backdrop covered in jungle and tropical vegetation.

The entertainment system was good, satelite TV plus a media box with 1 terrabyte of movies and TV series on, so we always had something to watch. What else, well, I suppose I should say something about the outside of the villa (ie the garden, which is pleasant, particularly the frangipani tree which droops over the pool).

The pool is completely private and the scene is one of tranquility and natural beauty, so quiet at night (all day actually) and the surroundings are typically tropical. The villa is quality inside and out, we particularly liked the hot tub and the outside shower that were included in the small private garden attached to the master bedroom. Next time we'll probably go elsewhere and explore a bit more, hope we get as lucky with our next place as we did with Villa Alice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Jac0bs
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Villa at a Great Price”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This is a great spacious villa with a lovely swimming pool, quiet, totally private, no bother with neighbours. Our favourite spot was the pool, which has a great mountain view and you can see palm trees swaying in the breeze too, which is cool. Evening-time at the villa is especially magical, as there are lots of outside lights, so you can light the place up like a christmas tree, which makes it all very pretty. The garden has mature tropical trees in it, I like the fan palms best, plus the frangipanee is nice and aromatic.

The villa is in an immaculate state in and out and there is plenty of room for an extended family - there were 9 of us which was a bit if a squeeze, 8 would have been better but we had a last-minute addition to our group - you can't very well tell your son "no, you can't come", can you ?

The boys liked the media player which is wired into the big flat screen TV. There are about 50 movies and about half a dozen first season TV series on the nedia player, so there's no chance of running out of stuff to watch.

The staff are friendly, particularly the tuk tuk driver Karim, the maid was good too, plus the support phone we were loaned worked fine, when we wanted advice about what to do we just rung up and got the help and support we wanted.

The villa is in my opinion exceptionally good value for money. The only criticism I have is that the images on this website do not do it justice, it is far more beautiful than it appears on this site.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool/garden area
Liked least: Lack of incentive to go anywhere else!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An experience to remember”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had a 3 centre holiday in Thailand and wished we'd spent more time in the AO Nang area and less time on Phuket. It is the real Thailand; jungle, wildlife, great food and superb trips to the outlying islands. There really are some hidden gems in the area - which large scale tourism hasn't yet changed forever. The Villa itself is a hidden gem; tucked away in what seems to be a remote spot, yet only a 4 minute drive to the beach. There are insects (I note someone complained about the lizards previously); but then all the villas we stayed in had them - they won't bother you in the slightest.

In sum, I would highly recommend the villa and the wonderfully friendly/ knowledgeable owner Simon and, as importantly, I would highly recommend the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: remote setting
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin N
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Potentially a great place but let down by lack of care and location”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

First impressions were not good, when our family of 7 arrived at the villa, the doors were locked. so we had to wait until Jan came to unlock the doors for us. Upon inspection, the overall state of the villa was ok but it had not been thoroughly cleaned for a while. The fridge was not cleaned very well, the kitchen utensils were oily, the bathrooms had lizard droppings, there were big red ants crawling all over the exterior, medium sized ant crawling inside the house. The small ants came on the second day after the cleaners came to 'clean', the small ants were crawling onto the master bedroom bed onto the towels which were supposed to be fresh towels.

To make matters worse, on the 3rd day, there was a power cut in the morning so we had no fan or aircon and water to use. The owner said this can't be helped!! Emergency generator/gravity water tank would? We did not get our electricity back till later in the afternoon. To top it all off, on the 4th day we had no water first thing in the morning at about 7am! Simon (owner) did come to find out the problem and tried to resolve the issue. Nevertheless, there was no water to flush, brush, wash etc. A tad inconvenient!! The water issue did not get resolved until 6pm that evening! This would not have happened if the water tanks were checked regularly and topped up.

The other downside is the location - at the end of a pot holed track in a rubber and palm oil plantation. Despite the advertising of a short distance to the beach and Aonang town - it is not practical to do anything other than to call for a tuk-tuk each time you want go anywhere.

Needless to say, we were relieved to go home to our creature comforts like electricity and water. Never again!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: The poor service and the laid back attitude to cleanliness and the guests’ inconvenience
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome Villa and brilliant pool”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Awesome villa, loved the setting too, the mountain view is just real cool, gives you a nice feeling of nature, just what city folk need on vacation. Pool was awesome too, not one of those cra**y plastic -lined ones, not tiled either, this one seemed to be made out of some composite material, don’t know what, anyway it was great, Jacuzzi jets, lights at night (think Jack Daniels on the rocks floating about on an air-bed), plus a corner niche where you can cuddle up with your better half after the kids are in bed. Kids loved the pool too, were in and out all day long. The pool is private too, plus you don’t have to care if the kids make a huge noise as there is nobody to get upset. OK, enough about the pool, everything else was cool too, the rooms are comfortable with beds that ain’t too hard like most Thai beds, there are 2 kitchens and 3 bathrooms, everything is in the best taste (think a muted pastel paint job). The service standards kept us happy too, the better half went off to the market with the maid and shopped for groceries, then came back raving about how much more fun it was than the grocery store back home, then cooked up the food with the maid, then I ate most of it (the kids turned their noses up as usual and ate sandwiches) then the maid washed up while I persuaded my wife not to help and to just relax (we paid extra for this service, after all).



All in all, this was a great place to stay at less than half the cost we would have been in for if we had booked a coupla standard 4 star rooms in a hotel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character and charm of the place
Liked least: Very little - it was perfect for the price and an all round bargain
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa D
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun, comfort and relaxation.”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We stayed with two other couples and their kids (ages 2-7). This villa was a great launching pad for adventures in Ao Nang and down the peninsula on Rilay and Pra Nang beach. It was also a great place to relax while the kids were kept busy and happy with the swimming pool and satellite TV. The setting is very nice as well. Just outside the main town, the villa is surrounded by small farms all set amongst krabi's impressive karst towers. A short distance down the main road is wonderful swimming beach for kids where you can also ind some very good Thai seafood restaurants. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and patio. That view!
Liked least: Not much within walking distance.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing