We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Italian meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Azzurra

Azzurra
Ranked #45 of 265 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Azzurra is an authentic Italian restaurant, where you get anything’s you need to have a perfect "Italian Experience", away from Italy. We're creating a wide selection of homemade products, such like pastas (thirteen different kind!!!), pizzas, breads, desserts, fresh tomato sauce and many other delightfully specialties. The owner, Mr. Franco has been working in restaurants all over the country (Italy) since he was only thirteen years old, now he's almost forty-four and he build up Azzurra menu according to the experience he get in the last fourteen years passed in Ao Nang, always putting attention to dishes popularity and customer’s requests. Azzurra is located at the center of the Ao Nang Beach Promenade, very easy to find since the walking way is only 500 meter long. Franco and Azzurra's staff welcome you every days, come to visit us and try the Italian in our way...The Manager, Mr. Franco Russo.We also would like to inform our guest that we do not accept any kind of credit card, thank you.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice Italian meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I can back up the other good reviews, a group of 16 of us ate here in June 2013 and had Pizza and Pasta. Both were nice and they managed to serve a big group efficiently. White wine was just ok (but you don't go to Thailand for great wine!)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluenose_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    144
    48
    26
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good break from Thai food, if you need one”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Pros: Its on Ao Nang Beach Road, so good central location, open till late and serve good Pasta & Pizza
Cons: A bit pricey by Ao Nang standards - was our most expensive meal of the trip, food was good but not something that stays in memory.
Use it if you need to cleanse the palate or refresh between Thai meals!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TufflooTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Utah
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great Italian food in the heart of Ao Nang. We had pizza and ravioli in white sauce. It was so good. This place was empty, we don't understand why, not enough pushing of the beer I guess.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Craving Pasta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We knew from reading trip advisor that this was might be an authentic Italian run place - sure enough. Great sauces and just right pasta, The owner said he was from Southern Italy but migrated North. I imagine he has to cater to what travelers order but we were satisfied - would go again. It's right across from the beach.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RayF237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paisley
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little taste of Italia in Thailand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I am a huge fan of Thai food, seafood and all that jazz, we had been in Thailand for a round 10 days when we fancied something a wee bit different.
You know that way when you just get a craving for a certain type of food, well we looked up Trip Advisor and as soon as we saw Italian that sealed the deal, great reviews, handy, being down the front on Ao Nangs main drag and as it turned out, very very nice.
I had Brushetta and pizza which hit the spot just right, nice thin crispy base which is my favorite and a nice glass of red to wash it down, not wanting to forget where i was i also had an icy cold Chang.
It is a sure fire sign that the place is onto a winner when the tables next to you are occupied by Italians.
Great wee find which i recommend highly.
Only gripe being that it was a tad hot but hey, we were in Asia in the hot season.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bigal61080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azzurra also viewed

 

Been to Azzurra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing