We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Craving Pasta”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Azzurra

Azzurra
Ranked #46 of 265 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Azzurra is an authentic Italian restaurant, where you get anything’s you need to have a perfect "Italian Experience", away from Italy. We're creating a wide selection of homemade products, such like pastas (thirteen different kind!!!), pizzas, breads, desserts, fresh tomato sauce and many other delightfully specialties. The owner, Mr. Franco has been working in restaurants all over the country (Italy) since he was only thirteen years old, now he's almost forty-four and he build up Azzurra menu according to the experience he get in the last fourteen years passed in Ao Nang, always putting attention to dishes popularity and customer’s requests. Azzurra is located at the center of the Ao Nang Beach Promenade, very easy to find since the walking way is only 500 meter long. Franco and Azzurra's staff welcome you every days, come to visit us and try the Italian in our way...The Manager, Mr. Franco Russo.We also would like to inform our guest that we do not accept any kind of credit card, thank you.
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Craving Pasta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We knew from reading trip advisor that this was might be an authentic Italian run place - sure enough. Great sauces and just right pasta, The owner said he was from Southern Italy but migrated North. I imagine he has to cater to what travelers order but we were satisfied - would go again. It's right across from the beach.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RayF237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    144
    48
    26
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
paisley
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little taste of Italia in Thailand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I am a huge fan of Thai food, seafood and all that jazz, we had been in Thailand for a round 10 days when we fancied something a wee bit different.
You know that way when you just get a craving for a certain type of food, well we looked up Trip Advisor and as soon as we saw Italian that sealed the deal, great reviews, handy, being down the front on Ao Nangs main drag and as it turned out, very very nice.
I had Brushetta and pizza which hit the spot just right, nice thin crispy base which is my favorite and a nice glass of red to wash it down, not wanting to forget where i was i also had an icy cold Chang.
It is a sure fire sign that the place is onto a winner when the tables next to you are occupied by Italians.
Great wee find which i recommend highly.
Only gripe being that it was a tad hot but hey, we were in Asia in the hot season.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bigal61080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely Italian surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Thai or Italian what's it to be? That was the dilemma that faced my and my parents one night whilst we were deciding which restaurant to go to. So we settled on Azzurra and thoroughly enjoyed it. Firstly the staff were very welcoming and the owner who greeted us was a wonderful host. I ordered a pizza with prosciutto and my parents ordered the seafood linguine. My parents have had many seafood linguinis in many Italian restaurants but they were blown away by the quality of this dish and my father said it was the best seafood linguini he had had for a long time. I'm not a huge fan of seafood but on trying this one I think I may have changed my mind. I think what made this one stand out was that the ingredients were fresh and you could tell, including the pasta.

My pizza was also lovely and again it was clear that fresh ingredients had been used. It wasn't greasy it had a lovely base and the tomato sauce was lovely and fresh. I really enjoyed it. For an Italian restaurant in Thailand you don't know what to expect but this one is excellent. Good service, fresh food, top class what more could you ask for?

If you are in Ao Nang and fancy an Italian then head for Azzurra you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“lovely pasta, lovely owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

My daughter wanted to eat here, she said it looked fancy! Credit to her, it was a good choice. Franco the owner was present, he was lovely with my children and helpful when ordering. The whole service experience was very good and this along with the colouring equipment thoughtfully provided for youngsters made for a pleasant evening. My children enjoyed their pizza whilst my fettucini scoglio was generous in size and seafood. If we hadn't visited on our last night we would definitely have returned.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wendsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“best in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

i didn't eat at all the Italian restaurants in Ao Nang so don't know for sure that this is the best one, but i swapped notes with otherr people who had eaten elsewhere and this place seemde to get the top spot

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sirussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azzurra also viewed

 

Been to Azzurra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing