We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite thai seafood restaurant in ao nang area”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Krua Thara

Krua Thara
Ranked #31 of 265 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“My favorite thai seafood restaurant in ao nang area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Been there maybe 6 times this year and last year. Sure its not the nicest looking place and sometimes the food arives abit erratically at times but i have not been disappointed with the food. My wife is thai and pretty fussy and likes it too. Would say the prices are mid range for thailand and the service is alright. Gets really busy in high season and have turned up and left because there wasnt any tables. usually spend around 1000 baht not including alcohol. Always have a few oysters 60 baht each and even the basic seafood fried rice is that little bit better than normal.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    197
    59
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic place - great seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

The place was packed with Thais and once I was seated, I was treated courteously and served promptly. I had the red snapper, fried with pepper and garlic, and the crab fried rice. Both were excellent and fresh. Don't expect a lot of bells and whistles, just good quality seafood in a refreshingly non-touristy setting. Not super cheap but the best value I found in Ao Nang.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank megsimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts england
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We arrived on a saturday night and went straight to this restaurant for our first meal, it was lovely and the older lady who appeared to own the restaurant was very welcoming and helpful, the food was lovely. We decided to revisit 3 nights later, the lady wasn't there and staff seemed disinterested in serving customers and more interested in cleaning up to go home. The starters arrived promptly, we ordered a bottle of wine which came quickly. Then my main course came, but it was 25 minutes before my husbands main course came, it was only a chicken red curry. By then I had finished my meal and most of the wine. The staff apologised, but did not seem very concerned. Shame that they had let service slip while the boss was away. Food was also very average, not much care taken on presentation. Wine was nice though.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bevandboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best seafood in Krabi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We were in Krabi for more than a week and had a chance to try many seafood restaurants. This one is by far the best one and amazingly, it is not at all expensive either. The staff are helpful in giving you recommendations and actually speak fairly decent English. Don't expect the best atmosphere though. Either way, it is clear they sell food and not decor. Just simply amazing seafood.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ao Nang, Thailand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Perhaps the best seafood restaurant in Ao Nang.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

At the far end of Noppherat Tara Beach is Kura Tara restaurant, also called "After the Tsunami" because it was almost leveled by the tsunami in 2004.
There is always plenty of Thais who eat and it usually means that the food is good.
Choose your own fish, lobster or other from the aquaria.
Usually, there is live music.
Enjoy the evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie888_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krua Thara also viewed

Ao Nang, Krabi Town
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to Krua Thara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing