We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent seafood in a "local restaurant"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Krua Thara

Krua Thara
Ranked #29 of 264 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood in a "local restaurant"”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The best seafood (crab, prawns, fish) we ever ate.
You can choose from the fishtank and ask for the preparation you prefer.
Also other traditional thai dishes are served.
Excellent great place, and if you have the chance to walk around Nopparath Beach on Sunday, it feels very "thai".

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christine123Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    197
    59
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ao Nang, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great seafood”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Very good place if you want to explore fresh seafood. Huge choice of different seafood - fish, prawns, crabs, lobsters and many more. We liked everything we had and gonna return here again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olka_mk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We had three meals in kruathara which were excellent. We were a party of nine people and we were all delighted with our meals. The service and athmosphere is really good. We highly recommend a visit to this great Restaurant

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katie052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth a Try”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

After taking a walk to the restaurant from ao nang during sunset we arrived to find the place at near capacity. Due to this we did not get served for the first 15 minutes we were there.

The menu is quite during with the sheer amount of options. For a starter we had some egg rolls. I would say this was probably the worst part of the meal. We also had a spicy shrimp salad, which was very good. For mains we had the soft shell crab and scallops. Both were made very well and we definitely enjoyed them both.

I definitely recommend giving this place a go.

Helpful?
Thank scottjahnke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This is the kind of dining we are looking for ...”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

There is some great passion about the place, there is nothing fancy but simple dinning place yet the food is just great. You will get a feeling like being at dinner with a thai family ... whole place vibrates, the people are relaxed and happy. This seafood restaurant is very popular and can be quite busy on the weekend with locals.
The food comes as always very quickly served and You will be able/requested to point the food/seafood You want to eat in the fish tank.
If we ever come back to the area, we will surely eat here!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Artur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krua Thara also viewed

Ao Nang, Krabi Town
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to Krua Thara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing