We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thai food for Thai price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Krua Thara

Krua Thara
Ranked #31 of 265 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Thai food for Thai price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

You can order anything here and it tastes authentic Thai.
Not only the sea food is great but everything from this kitchen is fresh and tastes great!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank hydtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    197
    59
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Must go!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Awesome food, must-go!

Must-try: tomyum (spicy and good!); mixed mussels and clams and all (delicious!); giant garlic king prawns (costly, but worth the try!); fish was really fresh too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xm0gc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Freshest seafood ever by the beach.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Upon arrival at our little hotel in Krabi, the local staff recommended Kruathara for authentic, yummy seafood. We were glad we trusted them not to direct us to tourist-spots. The seafood was one of the freshest we have ever tasted, and was the best meal we had in our four days in Krabi. We were a group of four and shared the crabs (steamed, plain, so sweet and comes with amazing home-made chilli). We also had Thai squid in salted egg- my sister who doesn't even like squid, ate about half the plate. This place also serves Paad Mieng which is a local specialty (actually probably from nearby Phuket)- a unique leaf fried with some kind of deliciousness... Kind of oily, but so good. Papaya salad- stellar. Fried clams (la-la) in sambal chilli was also mindblowing. Coconut juice was sweet and fresh. We gushed for days after.

The only disappointment was the pad thai. It wasn't bad, but really you could skip it if you've had enough on the streets! The ambience is laid-back and nothing special but we liked that some effort was put into wooden decor around the place. The place was patronized mainly by domestic tourists (eg locals) though it wasn't particularly crowded (weekday lunch). The restaurant is not "by" the beach per se but a 5 second walk across the street. It's a quiet, charming beach, good for a post-lunch stroll.


The bill came up to about USD$60 for the four of us, which is expensive by local terms but really worth the amount and quality of food we had. We hope it'll still be there when we next return to Krabi!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank weirdfish13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udon Thani, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really fresh fish, Good service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stumbled upon this place today at lunch time. First thing that catches your attention is the amount of fresh fish, Crustaceans and shell fish on offer. We only had a small lunch but all was well cooked and tasted really fresh. The service was prompt . We will be returning here many times im sure.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KFleming159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I guess its not a secret anymore, but this place really does have the best seafood in town. Highly recommended

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D_Jac0bs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krua Thara also viewed

Ao Nang, Krabi Town
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to Krua Thara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing