We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ao Nang Phu Pi Maan Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 123 Ao Nang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria, England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great resort with friendly staff”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here for 8 days in March 2012 and had a fantastic time. We had arranged transport from the airport to the hotel and welcomed the air conditioned vehicle with seat massage. The tropical gardens and pool are constantly being cleaned or tended to, the room (we booked a suite) was huge with fantastic views over the gardens. The staff on reception and in the restaurant were always pleasant and helpful and the free shuttle service into the town is great. The massages were a little more expensive than in town but they were done in private with very well trained staff and I would highly recommend them. There never seemed to be a lot of people around which was a real shame in some ways but great for us when chilling by the pool. We had a great time here and wouldn't hesitate to return. On the last day we were not able to keep our room on to get showered before our flight as it was booked however we were given the key to one of the bungalows which was beautiful inside.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bailliej2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    131
    52
    15
    14
See reviews for
125
179
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Phu Pi Maan- Despite the poor choice of name…this resort is really wonderful. The resort offers free transport to and from town. It is really easy. We also liked being off the main drag. Rooms were clean and large. Beds are a bit hard, but we are softies from the states. One of our favorite parts of this place is the pool. It is a split level with makes it perfect for couples. The owners are devout Muslims so alcohol in any form is not available for purchase. Don’t miss June and Jane’s Massage just down the street, great massage for a great price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cal100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of June, and thought the hotel was good

The location is spot on, just a small distance away from the main beach area of Ao Nang, but not too far away to feel out of place

Our rooms were in the main building, and despite being the cheapest, they were big, stylish, and well presented. The view from the room was stunning, overlooking the lime stone cliffs of Ao Nang.

The rooms had a large bed, good quality furniture and a nice flat screen TV and DVD player. We also had a good mini bar offer, with complimentary coffee, tea and water. The hotel also offered slippers and bath robes

The bathrooms were of a decent quality, with a separate shower and batch

The pool is beautiful, usually very quiet, well designed, with a fantastic picture postcard Krabi view.

We did not try the restaurant for any meals. The breakfast wasn’t the best,but not the worst. We went out of season so the choice was limited. We were offered any choice of eggs, but everything else was very basic, and the selection poor

There is no alcohol available in the resort, but this can be purchased near buy in the 7/11 stores and there is a good choice of restaurants and bars in Ao Nang

The hotel has a good gym with a great choice of equipment

I found the staff to be helpful when needed, although slightly in experienced

Overall this hotel is good value for money, and we enjoyed our stay there.

Ao Nang is beautiful and there are lots to do in terms of sightseeing, restaurants and bars

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richie247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed at Phu Pi Maan in a 2 bedroom villa in May 2012. Our family was actually returning to this resort, having stayed there in April 2011 right after it opened. We were glad to see that things hadn't gone downhill - it's still a stunning place with beautiful gardens, fantastic pools and lovely rooms.

Our children (7 and 4) were made to feel very welcome, even though they can be really noisy and loud. The daily breakfast is great. We didn't try lunch, dinner or room service, preferring to go into Ao Nang.

It's situated a bit out of the way of shopping and the beach, but I see this as a plus! And the shuttle service they provide from reception was really reliable, quick and convenient. This time around, we had a local SIM card so we could call the resort from town when we wanted to be picked up, and they always came! This meant that we didn't have to go through the whole negotiating with tuk tuk drivers and explain where we were staying every time we went out for a meal.

The service was pretty good, particularly from Best who works on reception - he was just lovely! Not all staff speak great English, but if this is the sort of thing that bothers you, maybe you should stay somewhere else. When it was difficult to communicate, we got there in the end ...

I definitely recommend this place if you're looking for somewhere to relax, as a base to explore the region, or just hang out in the pool. The two bedroom villa was great for our family - providing a bit of privacy for parents and kids with their own space with TV and DVD player.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cookie255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

This hotel has a fairly nice design in many ways. Nice wooden pool villas, pool deck and so on. The lobby is not big but pleasant. I had fairly big corner room with a balcony. But for the kind of money I paid, and during low season, one could clearly expect more. Everything was worn down and some area in the room were really ugly. Staff at front office were very formal. The main information they provided, was that if I broke a glass or anything else in the room, I would be charged. They were young an inexperienced I think, with poor knowledge how to receive customer in order to make them feel welcome. In all honesty, the restaurant staff was very helpful and nice. They served no alcohol (this is a Muslim owned place) but explained immediately that they could run down to the local 7/11 shop and get what I wanted. Which I asked them to do. In fact this arrangement led to a smaller check then would normally be the case. Breakfast was lousy. But they cooked us some eggs upon request.
The hotel is located far from the beach buy the have a small cart/car that bring people to the seafront and pick them up at their own discretion. Good service, have to be admitted.

Room Tip: I pool villa is probably a vise choice. They look nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stisse23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasschaat, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Nice staff, beautifull room with balcony; The room was clean, but the stairs and hallway were not, they were not cleaned in the 4 days we were in the resort. Breakfast was great and the pool and gardens were stunning. The location is not so good, far from the beach, but there is a free shuttle any time you need it.

Room Tip: We had the cheapest room, but it was very nice and big
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrianaBrasschaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

This place is simply gorgeous. We stayed here for a few nights from the 21/4/12 and we liked it so much we came back a few days later after visiting Phi Phi. We took a gamble and just turned up at reception hoping they would have a room. The staff were so pleased to see us again that they gave us an amazing room at half price. And what a room it is (we are still here) the view from the balcony simply amazing looking out onto sheer limestone outcrops. We are in the delux suite at the top of the hotel building. It's massive, the bed could fit 4 people in it. Dark wooden floors and lovely big bathroom and balcony. If the hotel suites are this good then the bungalows dotted around the resort must be stunning. I say resort! I don't thing there are any more than 50 rooms here, so it's lovely and quite and you feel like your in a jungle setting. The pool area is gorgeous too.
The resort is on the edge of the main strip of Ao Nang, about 10 mins walk from the restaurants etc. if you don't want to walk no problem just ask for the shuttle buggy and they whizz you to wherever you want to go (no charge) in no time.
The staff here are ever so friendly, I think that's one of the reasons we came back.
We've had a look at couple of the other hotels whilst wandering around Ao Nang and personally there's no comparison. Phu pi Maan is up there at the top of the list

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betti22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,445 reviews
0.9 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
1.0 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ao Nang Phu Pi Maan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ao Nang Phu Pi Maan Resort & Spa

Property: Ao Nang Phu Pi Maan Resort & Spa
Address: 86/8 Moo 2 Aonang, Muang, Krabi Thailand, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ao Nang Phu Pi Maan Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phu Pi Maan Resort & SpaA small and cozy resort designed into a tropical embrace of nature. Delicately designed villas, suites and deluxe rooms blend the best elements of contemporary design and traditional Thai style together, leading to a relaxing atmosphere of comfort and luxury. Phu Pi Maan offers all amenities and facilities a guest could expect. The spacious and beautifully designed pool area invites guest of all ages to enjoy and relax. Delicious Thai and western food is offered at the resorts nicely designed and stylish restaurant. For the ultimate indulgence in pure bliss and tranquility, the resort offers a health spa with many different thai massage and fitness center. A heavenly sanctuary for you to relax, unwind, recharge and rejuvenate. Phu Pi Maan Resort & Spa is located in Ao Nang, Krabi, approx. 30km from Krabi Airport (30 minutes by car) or 160km from Phuket Airport (2 hours by car). Ao Nang Beach can be reached within a five minute shuttle service offered throughout the whole day by the resort. The most beautiful beaches of Tonsai, Railay and Phra Nang can be reached within 15 minutes by longtailboat and the gorgeous beaches of Poda and Chicken Island within a 30 minutes ride. Phu Pi Maan Resort & Spa offers the ultimate experience for guest looking for a stay with a personal touch within a beautiful and most quiet nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ao Nang Phu Pi Maan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phu Pi Maan Resort And Spa
Phu Pi Maan Hotel Ao Nang
Ao Nang Phu Pi Maan Resort & Spa Krabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing