We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great villa for family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phu Pi Maan Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 122 Ao Nang B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great villa for family holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed at Phu Pi Maan in a 2 bedroom villa in May 2012. Our family was actually returning to this resort, having stayed there in April 2011 right after it opened. We were glad to see that things hadn't gone downhill - it's still a stunning place with beautiful gardens, fantastic pools and lovely rooms.

Our children (7 and 4) were made to feel very welcome, even though they can be really noisy and loud. The daily breakfast is great. We didn't try lunch, dinner or room service, preferring to go into Ao Nang.

It's situated a bit out of the way of shopping and the beach, but I see this as a plus! And the shuttle service they provide from reception was really reliable, quick and convenient. This time around, we had a local SIM card so we could call the resort from town when we wanted to be picked up, and they always came! This meant that we didn't have to go through the whole negotiating with tuk tuk drivers and explain where we were staying every time we went out for a meal.

The service was pretty good, particularly from Best who works on reception - he was just lovely! Not all staff speak great English, but if this is the sort of thing that bothers you, maybe you should stay somewhere else. When it was difficult to communicate, we got there in the end ...

I definitely recommend this place if you're looking for somewhere to relax, as a base to explore the region, or just hang out in the pool. The two bedroom villa was great for our family - providing a bit of privacy for parents and kids with their own space with TV and DVD player.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cookie255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    123
    52
    15
    13
See reviews for
114
172
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
157 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

This hotel has a fairly nice design in many ways. Nice wooden pool villas, pool deck and so on. The lobby is not big but pleasant. I had fairly big corner room with a balcony. But for the kind of money I paid, and during low season, one could clearly expect more. Everything was worn down and some area in the room were really ugly. Staff at front office were very formal. The main information they provided, was that if I broke a glass or anything else in the room, I would be charged. They were young an inexperienced I think, with poor knowledge how to receive customer in order to make them feel welcome. In all honesty, the restaurant staff was very helpful and nice. They served no alcohol (this is a Muslim owned place) but explained immediately that they could run down to the local 7/11 shop and get what I wanted. Which I asked them to do. In fact this arrangement led to a smaller check then would normally be the case. Breakfast was lousy. But they cooked us some eggs upon request.
The hotel is located far from the beach buy the have a small cart/car that bring people to the seafront and pick them up at their own discretion. Good service, have to be admitted.

Room Tip: I pool villa is probably a vise choice. They look nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stisse23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasschaat, Belgium
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Nice staff, beautifull room with balcony; The room was clean, but the stairs and hallway were not, they were not cleaned in the 4 days we were in the resort. Breakfast was great and the pool and gardens were stunning. The location is not so good, far from the beach, but there is a free shuttle any time you need it.

Room Tip: We had the cheapest room, but it was very nice and big
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrianaBrasschaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

This place is simply gorgeous. We stayed here for a few nights from the 21/4/12 and we liked it so much we came back a few days later after visiting Phi Phi. We took a gamble and just turned up at reception hoping they would have a room. The staff were so pleased to see us again that they gave us an amazing room at half price. And what a room it is (we are still here) the view from the balcony simply amazing looking out onto sheer limestone outcrops. We are in the delux suite at the top of the hotel building. It's massive, the bed could fit 4 people in it. Dark wooden floors and lovely big bathroom and balcony. If the hotel suites are this good then the bungalows dotted around the resort must be stunning. I say resort! I don't thing there are any more than 50 rooms here, so it's lovely and quite and you feel like your in a jungle setting. The pool area is gorgeous too.
The resort is on the edge of the main strip of Ao Nang, about 10 mins walk from the restaurants etc. if you don't want to walk no problem just ask for the shuttle buggy and they whizz you to wherever you want to go (no charge) in no time.
The staff here are ever so friendly, I think that's one of the reasons we came back.
We've had a look at couple of the other hotels whilst wandering around Ao Nang and personally there's no comparison. Phu pi Maan is up there at the top of the list

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betti22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

Given the deal we got on rooms here, Phu Pi Maan far exceeded our expectations and I am surprised at some of the reviews.

Our rooms were in the Main Building, and despite being the cheapest, they were spacious, stylish, and immaculately presented, befitting of a far more expensive Hotel. Staff were extremely helpful, almost too eager to please.

The Pool is beautiful, usually very quiet, well designed, with a fantastic picture postcard Krabi view.

People have mentioned the location - for us we preferred it to the hotels down near the Ao Nang strip - it felt like a nice little retreat and if the 10 minutes or so walk to the front is too much, they will drive you down there in an SUV.

Overall we were really pleased with our choice of hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roebuck01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

We intended to stay at Phu Pi Maan for about a week but decided to check out after one night due to the bad conditions of the resort.
We booked the Suite for USD 180/night and did not expect anything special but have been disappointed right after our check-in. Once arrived in our room it was obvious that apart from fresh bedsheets and towels nothing was cleaned. In fact the floor was full of sand across the room, the toilet was dirty and full of pee. We informed the staff at the reception and asked politely to fix the conditions. We have been assured this would happen while we are out for dinner. Once returned toilette and floor were ceaned, yes, but while taking a shower it was obvious that nobody cleaned the shower and bath tab as bath gel and shampoo was not only empty but lying around, used from the previous guests.
The next morning we decided to change places and consumed the breakfast at the resort - bad mistake! As a big thank you we both got diarrhea within 3 hours...
To all guests: there are so many nicer resorts in the area, even without the mentioned points, there is no point of staying at Phu Pi Maan. We have been in Thailand many times and this was so far the biggest disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaLeeSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed at the Phu Pi Maan from Boxing Day until just after New Year 2012. As this was a special birthday present, and we were travelling with two children (10 & 7) we wanted to make sure our hotel had good facilities, a luxurious feel with a good price-point. I researched hotels for around three weeks and ended up with a short-list of two, the Phu Pi Maan and the Phu Petra (also very nice). We opted for the Phu Pi Maan because the location was slightly nearer town. We were extremely pleased with our choice, the hotel is stunning. It's sympathetic design blends beautifully with the surroundings. The pool area was amazing. We chose a corner room with floor to ceiling windows and views towards the mountains. The bungalows look wonderful too. Our room was impeccable, cleaned every day and light and roomy. Yes, we often had problems with the smell from the toilet but as soon as we notified reception they would send someone to fix the problem. The food was really good and service was always with a smile. We had a good choice at breakfast and even with one fussy eater, we didn't encounter any problems. Yes, we had a few hiccups with the language barrier but that's all part of the fun, we were in Thailand on holiday after all, in the scheme of things this really wasn't a problem as some other reviewers have made out. The hotel offer a shuttle service to and from the beach area which was an added bonus but the stroll into town was an interesting one! Overall, this hotel was wonderful, far away enough from the hustle of Ao Nang but close enough to experience the crazy-ness. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Krabi.

Room Tip: Corner suites are really light, sunny and roomy. Views on the mountain side are lovely too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonHolidayBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.9 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.4 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#16 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
1.0 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phu Pi Maan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phu Pi Maan Resort & Spa

Property: Phu Pi Maan Resort & Spa
Address: Moo 2 86/8, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Phu Pi Maan Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phu Pi Maan Resort & SpaA small and cozy resort designed into a tropical embrace of nature. Delicately designed villas, suites and deluxe rooms blend the best elements of contemporary design and traditional Thai style together, leading to a relaxing atmosphere of comfort and luxury. Phu Pi Maan offers all amenities and facilities a guest could expect. The spacious and beautifully designed pool area invites guest of all ages to enjoy and relax. Delicious Thai and western food is offered at the resorts nicely designed and stylish restaurant. For the ultimate indulgence in pure bliss and tranquility, the resort offers a health spa with many different thai massage and fitness center. A heavenly sanctuary for you to relax, unwind, recharge and rejuvenate. Phu Pi Maan Resort & Spa is located in Ao Nang, Krabi, approx. 30km from Krabi Airport (30 minutes by car) or 160km from Phuket Airport (2 hours by car). Ao Nang Beach can be reached within a five minute shuttle service offered throughout the whole day by the resort. The most beautiful beaches of Tonsai, Railay and Phra Nang can be reached within 15 minutes by longtailboat and the gorgeous beaches of Poda and Chicken Island within a 30 minutes ride. Phu Pi Maan Resort & Spa offers the ultimate experience for guest looking for a stay with a personal touch within a beautiful and most quiet nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phu Pi Maan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phu Pi Maan Resort And Spa
Phu Pi Maan Hotel Ao Nang
Phu Pi Maan Resort & Spa Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing