We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian, yes - but better than the Thai food in town.”

La Luna Italian Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 279 Restaurants in Ao Nang
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Italian, yes - but better than the Thai food in town.”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

One of the joys of visiting Thailand is its food, so I did not come to Ao Nang intending to eat Italian. However, after six days of unremitting disappointment (Thai food in Malaysia is better than in Ao Nang) I succumbed.
Now there are many restaurants in Ao Nang offering Italian food - usually the same ones offering Thai and TexMex too which should be a warning to anyone, including dumb tourists. But La Luna does Italian food and ONLY Italian food - and let us be grateful for that.
I played it safe. How far wrong can you go with pizza? Well, maybe not the best ever (and we have all had a few, admit it) but it was good. Good enough at any rate for me to consider coming back again for my last evening in Thailand tomorrow to try one of the more adventurous Italian mains. Maybe I'll eat Thai when I get back to Kuala Lumpur. If any Thai businessmen are reading this there is a gap in the market for a Thai restaurant in Ao Nang that does Thai food only and does it properly. I didn't visit any of the places offering Thai cooking lessons - perhaps that was my mistake...
In the meantime, don't hesitate to visit La Luna.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldInANutshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    188
    86
    32
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent tiramisu an espresso!! Best in Thailand!!!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I was craving chocolate and found this place. The Tiramisu was amazing and the coffee was excellent! Best that we have had after two weeks of traveling Thailand.
The restaurant has open seating with a nice breeze and you can people watch the strip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karyssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Don't understand the good reviews...”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Reviewing this after the fact, but ate here in November and we're still surprised to see a number of good reviews. Italian food in Thailand is routinely more expensive than local fare (similar prices to Canada) and everything about this pizza was disappointing, toppings were strange, and value was terrible. Service was decent enough, not expecting everyone to speak english obviously, but we couldn't get anyone to clarify what "salad" meant as a topping on their vegetarian pizza, so we went for it. Yup, it was salad...carrot, cabbage...as much as they try to push the "authentic Italian vibe", I have certainly never seen anything like this pizza on any menus in Italy. Would never consider going back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soap_In_The_Dish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Still good!!!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Visited this place a few years back and the standard still remains good. Delicious and affordable food, a must visit when you are here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EdwinEricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“La Luna Ristorante Italiano”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I been at this restaurant with my wife and 2 kids during during first week of April. So no rush any where due it was not the hight period of the season. It's probably the only Italian restaurant maintain by a italian owner and the gentlemen was very nice and all the staff was very professional. The food quality was there and the menu choice was good and the price were very reasonnable. I have nothing to said bad and I will go again to that restaurant with no problem.
Phone: 075-695-308

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jean t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Luna Italian Restaurant also viewed

Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to La Luna Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing