We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ao nang”
Review of Lake Side Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake Side Bungalow
Ranked #109 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Ao Nang
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“ao nang”
Reviewed February 16, 2011

Had a 5 night stay here in late jan and found it great for a short stay. 10 minute stroll to the beach and not much further to the town. Its backpacker style accomadation so dont go expecting luxury. We found the staff very friendly and had no cause for complaint.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaughan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    14
    11
    31
See reviews for
3
21
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

When I read the reviews (after booking) I was horrified. But fot no reason. The staff was very friendly and assisted us (two elderly ladies) in everything. We stayes in a 4 apartment bungalow with AC. The room was very tidy and the bathroom seemed like new. Big towels changed twice during our 4 night visit.
The breakfast was served of choice of 4-5, modest, but sufficent. It"s a fact that the bungalows are far (maybe 600 m) from the beach, but Lakesides provides a tuktuk to take there (back costs only 20 THB). The Nopparath beach is quiet, no sunbeds etc,, but if you dont want to be in a noisy environment, thats your place. Local bus to Aonang center is 20 THB and to Krabi town 50 THB.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suomitytto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trollhättan, Sverige
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2010

We arrived from Bangkok with the nighttrain and bus and just wanted to sunbath and swim in the ocean. We did the big mistake by booking four nights at Lake Side Bungalows in bangkok at the railway station, do not do this! We paid 1000 baht a night for a fan bungalow, and the view of the "lake" was a just some dirty water.

Lake Side is really a bad place to go to. We were very unhappy with our visit because the bungalow was dirty, alot of mosquitos, broken in the roof and everywhere else, old, the handbasin was broken and the water ran down on the floor, the toilet was leaking and dirty and it was mole everywhere in the bungalow. We tried to stay the four nights but we couldn't do it, so we just stayed 2 nights. The beach was far away and it wasn't nice, Ao Nang is better and we recommend you to get a room in Ao Nang instead.

The staff wasn't polite. One guy who stayed at LakeSide fell on the slippery stones and peeled his toenail of and maybe even broke his toe. The staff refused to help him toa doctor and the whole situation was weird. At last one nice guy who worked at at LakeSide helped him and I think he went to a doctor at last.

We don't recommend this place to anyone. Don't go there.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ao Nang hotels

Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2010

That one word sums it up quite neatly really! Looks rather unlike the brochure given to us in Bangkok at the Thai Backpackers travel agency - where we had the misfortune to be conned into booking this place. On a side note - the Thai Backpackers Agency charged us 1,000 baht a night - these bungalows are actually 500 baht a night - so beware Art and Dave at this travel agency.

The lake seems to be no more than a drainage pit, very far from the beach at Noparrat Thani - and also far from the conveniences of Ao Nang. Everything about this place just doesn't seem quite right - to the owners and staff and the bungalows themselves.

The bungalows smelled really bad - looked like there had been an electrical fire in ours, the walls and ceiling were all bowed and water stained - the bathroom was quite funny actually - one of those sinks that wets your feet at the same time - and super easy to hold a conversation with your fellow traveller whilst on the toilet - seeing as there's no ceiling - or wall that continues up to the top - so you could theoretically play a game of catch with one in the bedroom and the other in the bathroom (why you would, I don't know - it's just a suggestion).

My partner and I were fuming at the situation we were in and simply decided to leave (so I gave a sleep rating of terrible even though we didn't stay the night - but can't imagine we would have slept well as furious as we were with the Thai Backpackers Agency. We rearranged our transfer to Surat Thani and changed our tickets for an overnight back to Bangkok to that very same day.

Don't recommend the area either - mostly half knocked down, smelly and a lot of half-hearted construction going on.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKSchnitzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coolwater007
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Very dirty place, cockroaches and mosquitos in rooms. very bad smell. no breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coolwater007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

As it was high season, we had been advised to book our hotel in the Krabi region in advance, so we did our reservation throught the DRO (Domestic Reservation office) located in Bangkok. We paid the equivalent of 50€ per night for a twin bed Delux room (we were 4 and needed 2 rooms). For that price in Thaïland we could expect a minimum of confort and service... When we arrived the owner told us his brother had made a mistake with our reservation and that he had two different kind of rooms for us : a so called “Delux”room with only one double bed instead of twin beds and one triple bedroom in a stinky bungalow with water flowing all over the bathroom…. While we were insisting on the fact that we wanted no bungalow but the two identical “deluxe” rooms we had paid for, we discovered that he had put his “brother” (a couple of regular customer) in one of our already-paid Delux room and was trying to give us the stinky bungalow instead… After a long negotiation, he finally accepted to move his “brother” in a bungalow in order to give us our room (so generous !) : from that precise moment he simply ignored us, when we asked questions he would answer through his non-english speaking staff (the lady that was preparing the breakfast was really charming and helpful, fortunately !). Back to the hotel every evening we were finding the dirty and wet towels we had left the morning on the floor on the balcony and we had to ask systematically to get clean ones. Same thing for the soap. The 2nd day, when we asked for a bottle of drinking water (1 bottle per person is normally included per night) he told us this was only applicable to the first night and that we had to pay.
The animosity of the owner slightly spoiled our 3 last nights in Thailand, fortunately we met so many nice people everywhere else !
I would not recommend this hotel because of his owner and the inexistent service, it does not worth the price you pay at all ! Moreover the breakfast is very basic. You can find much better and cheaper nearby !!
In addition, this hotel is located 10 minutes walk from the beach (Noprattara, a very quite beach). At night it is preferable to take a tuk tuk because there is no light and it is quite far from the animated Ao Nang beach.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gestelle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2010

We spent 15 days in Thailand and slept in 5 guest houses. Lake side Bungalow was the more disappointed.
- Far from the city : Ao Nang
- They didn't change the towels every days
- Sheets are dirties
- Bad smell in the bathroom
- Not cordial welcome
All the guest houses we have slept, offered us a bottle of water each day, except this guest house.
So I don't recommend this guest house

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank val75000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
5.0 mi away
Pine Bungalow
Pine Bungalow
#31 of 108 in Ao Nang
235 reviews
1.1 mi away
Krabi Thai Village Resort
Krabi Thai Village Resort
#53 of 108 in Ao Nang
728 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#30 of 108 in Ao Nang
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aonang Cliff View Resort
Aonang Cliff View Resort
#26 of 123 in Ao Nang
472 reviews
9.7 mi away
Ao Nang Friendly Bungalow
Ao Nang Friendly Bungalow
#92 of 142 in Ao Nang
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Side Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Side Bungalow

Property: Lake Side Bungalow
Address: 119 Moo3, Ao-Nang, Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Side Bungalow 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Lake Side Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Side Bungalow Hotel Ao Nang
Lake Side Bungalow Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing