We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, could not wait to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Krabi Mountain View Resort
Ranked #112 of 135 Ao Nang B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We arrived here after a long journey, and needed a place to crash and was not in the position to be hunting around. 1000 bhat a night for a unclean, insect infested room, with just a fan that was only operable between 6pm and 6am, mould on walls and ceiling. After a few nights here, it was so depressing I decided to look elsewhere, and found a cheaper bungalow, more spacious, better facilities, cleaner..the list goes on. Kicking myself for not doing that sooner. The staff only clean your room if you ask, and will only change your bedding if you ask.

Ton Sai itself is awesome though !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJRHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 57 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

FILTHY DIRTY SCUM HOLE!!

Stayed in this place for 4 days in January 2013. Our room was absolutely disgusting, I think the resort is about 5 years old but the room hadn't been cleaned properly since they were built. Huge build up of grime around the furnishings, on the mirror, most surfaces, the floor was filthy, covered in easily cleanable stains, same for the balcony and the plug for the shower was covered in hair, the fittings in the bathroom had a fair amount of grime also. The air con turned on but only worked on max power so you either sweated it out of froze.

Be warned, the rooms look nothing like they do in the photo's as they were taken years ago.

We approached the manager and he was very nice to us, full of smiles, he said he would have the room cleaned, hopeful we returned from a long day out but to no avail, the manager had said he would inspect the room personally, either he didn't bother or has extremely low standards, the room had had another minor clean while we were out but the grime remained, I took before and after photo's to prove it.

I've spent 4 months in Thailand staying in all sorts of places, this was definitely the worst. Thank fully our trip was rescued by the fantastic Baan Rim Lay on Klong Nin beach, Koh Lanta, review on that to follow.

AVOID THIS PLACE LIKE THE PLAGUE!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keithchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved my stay at Mountain View!
The bungalow was great, with a comfy bed and decent bathroom. I enjoyed sitting on the verandah with views of the cliffs and monkeys swinging in the treetops above :-)
The owner was really lovely and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dembirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed at Krabi Mountain View Resort only for 4 nights but liked it a lot. The location is away from all the beach hustle but within 10 minutes walking distance. The place is quiet, green, lush and pretty much all cottages, especially on the hills, have their own privacy. I had an AC room but didn't need the AC in December/January. Power and i.e. hot water and AC are available from 6 pm until 6 am, and it works just fine. The hotel doesn't serve breakfast, but if you don't mind walking a few minutes and eating a long nice breakfast outside, the place is good value for money. Staff is very helpful and always available. They don't clean your room unless you ask them to, that's how it works.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the hills for view and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naturefreek2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is Tonsai and to reiterate many other reviewers, you need to have realistic expectations. If you're looking for something a bit more higher end, then head to west railay and pay the extra baht.

For what Mountain view is, it is definitely one of the top 3 on the beach and it is the cheapest of all three. We stayed in a new fan bungalow and the price was 1500 baht. It appeared that if you came on the day, you could get it to 1300 baht without any argument. So not super cheap but...
We came during high season so prices are skewed towards the December to January

Pros: the room is super clean, and if you ask they will clean it every day. The mattresses are firm, there are no holes in your netting and there is great pressure from your double shower. You can have wifi in your room though it is spotty. When available, the yoga sessions are held in the abandoned restaurant which is useful.

Cons: no breakfast but there's plenty of places to grab your fuel of choice in the morning. You do need to ask a lot for anything that you want, but then it is done immediately.

Room Tip: Pick a new fan bungalow. The aircon/hot water rooms have electric showers which is a lot weaker pres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cdn_nomad83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Ton Sai, a popular beach not only with rock climbers but also with more laid back backpackers than the crowd on Railey, is beautiful and small and has an island feel to it.
Montain View Resort is located on the only road set back from the beach, in a beautiful green garden. The bungalows are quite spaceous, equipped with a big bed, a ceiling fan and en suite bathroom. There's a limited power supply a few hours in the morning and the evening. Same goes for water. For the money this is the best place to stay at this beach, with a relaxed staff and comfortable porches.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nalujulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is probably where Trip Advisor falls down - you have to realise that the rating is relative to what is available, and in Ton Sai, you're pretty limited! So this is 'very good' compared to everything else - it isn't 5* and nothing here is!

It is climber/backpacker heaven and as such doesn't really have any 'luxury' hotels - and it's all the better for it! We didn't book ahead and so had a walk around a few places which range from very simple bamboo huts with communal bathrooms (for around £4 a night) to slightly more 'high end' bungalows (around £20 a night) and a few concrete rooms in between. We were looking for a room for 3 so were a bit more limited and probably did end up overpaying! Our room was 500baht (£10ish) but the extra bed was 700baht - this seems pretty standard and as we were on a 2 week holiday and not backpacking on a shoestring, we didn't mind paying a bit more for a nice place!

The wooden huts are pretty roomy and have mosquito screens on the windows so you don't need to bother with a net. They are simple but clean, with crisp bed linen and tiled floors. The bathrooms are ok (typical Thai style slightly botched plumbing!) with cold showers and western loos. We stayed in a fan room which is really all you need, electricity here only runs overnight so you wouldn't be able to use aircon half the time anyway. (Saying this, 2 of us did return for the last few days of our holiday and got an aircon room for a treat - it was pretty nice to be cold at night!!).

The staff were pretty friendly and there is a little shop at the entrance to the resort. There is a super cheap linen service and free wifi too (though this obviously only works when the electricity is on).

Mountain View is on the Western side of Ton Sai, part way round the 'horse shoe' (the one track that runs back in to the jungle away from the beach and is only a 5 minute walk from the beach. I would definitely recommend if you have a little more to spend and want a simple, clean place to stay. Just don't expect luxury!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlecharlie1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#20 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,338 reviews
0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0 mi away
Chill Out Bar & Bungalow
Chill Out Bar & Bungalow
#2 of 6 in Railay Beach
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Tonsai Bay Resort
Tonsai Bay Resort
#87 of 185 in Krabi Town
233 reviews
0 mi away
Dream Valley Resort
Dream Valley Resort
#115 of 185 in Krabi Town
136 reviews
0 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#7 of 12 in Railay Beach
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krabi Mountain View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi Mountain View Resort

Address: 132/34 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Ao Nang
Price Range: $28 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Krabi Mountain View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Krabi Mountain View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi Mountain View Resort Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing