We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't agree, think this hotel is mostly overrated!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aonang Cliff View Resort
Ranked #25 of 122 Ao Nang B&B and Inns
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't agree, think this hotel is mostly overrated!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

After having stayed a few times in Ao Nang i decided to stay at AO Nang Cliff View hotel.
Especially to get away from the hustle and bustle of Ao Nang.
But i found it quite disappointing.
We were given the room above the gym. It was really noisy as it was close to the pool and
also we were disturbed by people in the gym.
In general i found the service very slow and lax, and everything was so minimal.
There was not even a little piece of soap at the sink.
On the last day they did not even give us enough TP!
Although the location was nice, but i do not think it was value for money eventhough cheap!

Room Tip: Would not know, but i can say that this room had a large balcony and a great bed, but if you like yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ardistice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    178
    90
    37
    25
See reviews for
88
250
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Great resort - the gardens are beautiful, the pool is lovely, the restaurant is uncover but open and staff are great and the food is five star Thai!! It's a bit of a walk but you can get into town by shuttle or as we did hire scooters .. Ao nang is like Phuket 10 years ago.. A little hidden paradise !! We will be back :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed 4 nights here with my husband, what a beautiful setting... Lovely gardens around bungalow and most importantly breathtaking views at swimming pool... Free transport every hour to the beach. Food was nice, all you can eat for breakfast, shame waitresses dont speak much english... This was my favourite place in thailand, that view by the pool was breathtaking, never had such a massive cliff towering over us, what a view... The only downside perhaps is that the sun only comes around for a couple of hours during the day since it is so close to cliff. Would def stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Z N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a beautiful resort in the lap of nature. The cliff view is beautiful, stunning! The staff is one of the best that I met. Excellent place to relax and unwind. The pool is so beautiful that we spent hours there. I stayed with my wife for 2 nights. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The basic room is okay, but I would advise to go for a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vikasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
237 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel is far from the beach, but it doesn't matter because they have an hourly shuttle service. A good breakfast is included with all rooms, and the grounds are beautiful. The pool is also great!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrBunnsBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorCal, California, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

The place was amazing but having stayed in a standard fan bungalow, I would advise springing for the AC. The rooms were nice, bathroom big with a few mozzies getting in there. Food excellent, shuttles convenient, and beautiful setting. Not a far walk to the main strip if you decide to.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is my kind of resort, I only wish I could have stayed a bit longer, if only to enjoy more time lying by the pool and relaxing with that stunning view of the cliffs. Its a nice change from all those beach-side resorts, which are either nice but very high budget or lower budget, but loud and busy.

It is a short ride from the main strip, but in my view, that makes it a nice relief at the end of a hard day of beach bumming and island hopping. They have a half-hourly shuttle service to/from the main beach and shops which worked perfectly fine for me on my last day.

This resort sits directly next to the big cliffs and it is designed to make you feel lost in a jungle. The landscaping is of lush forest plants and each unique bungalow is positioned creatively so that although they are close to each other, each one feels secluded. I loved walking along the path to the rooms, I want a garden like this at home!

The bungalows are simple but very clean. A previous review complained of them needing updating, but they are perfectly fine. This is not some luxury resort and having stayed at many bungalow resorts in my travels this certainly makes the top grades for this budget.

Each bungalow had outside seating area on the balcony, some bigger than others which means you can choose between lounging about here, by the pool, in the hammock area near reception... so many choices!

The pool is cold and blissful, as the beach water was about 26 degrees celsius and a bit too warm for my liking. It is a truly beautiful pool, the nicest one on my entire 3 week Thailand trip and was perfectly clean as well. Across the from the pool there is an on-site gym with some basic equipment. It said opening hours 4pm to 8pm, but I never used it so you might want to check with reception if thats correct

Hot showers operate with an individual heater typical in many 3 star places and to be honest you'll be wanting cool showers in this heat anyway. They have about 6 channels on TV, on one day I was lucky to have BBC World and Discovery channel for an English fix, but the next day I only got Thai channels. Not sure why, but did 't matter to me. Each room has high speed WIFI, you will be given a code on check-in. Air-conditioning was that nice and quiet kind and had good auto settings, so for the first time on this trip I didn't freeze at night. They've thought about the details too, like a clothes line on the side of the balcony so it doesn't block your view.

The restaurant on site is nice and simple and has a book exchange, but there is a restaurant across the road that looked popular, I think it had signs advertising German food as well.

Barracuda Travel has an office on site so you can organise day trips easily. If you need to organise airport transfers you can also do this directly with reception, I paid 200 baht for a spot in a minvan which collected me in the early morning and took 35 mins to Krabi airport.

RECOMMENDATIONS:
- I hired a motorcycle/moped during my stay and it was the best thing of my trip. I hired mine from a store in town for 280 baht per day with helmet and insurance, but you can also hire them from the resort. It's so cheap if there is only one or two of you and it's such an easy, fun and convenient way to get around. There are some nice quiet beaches in the area which you can scooter off to to escape the masses and it means never having to wait around for transport. I had never ridden one before, but I cycle on the streets of London a lot so I felt perfectly confident. It is truly easy, just mind the traffic around you.
- buy and wear mosquito repellant, it will make your outdoor time more enjoyable.

VISITING RAILAY:
- If you want to visit Railay Beach there is an official ticket box down by the main beach on the corner where the road bends and they go as soon as the boat is full (which isn't that long). I think it was 100 baht each way, i forget exactly sorry. But there are signs and they also have boats to various other islands and beaches. The last boat back from Railay to Aonang is 6pm.

Be prepared to get wet when getting on/off boats even in good weather. Most people wear their swimming costumes underneath their clothing which is a good idea, but the waves managed to wet the purse in my shorts pocket. Keep those cameras dry in your bag.

Please note that you can walk from West Railay to East Railay and from East Railay to Phranang Cave Beach. There are a few signs around, but not all that easy to find. But from West Railay just walk down Market Street and keep walking and following the path and you'll eventually get there. East Beach is not really a beach, it's mangroves but its where you will see most of the rockclimbers and some hippy cafes by the mangroves. Bring some loose coins if you need to use the nice toilets by the cliff. Phranang beach gets overly crowded by lunch time so come early if you want to avoid the masses. Its rather narrow as well so it can feel a bit full.

One very cool thing about Phranang Beach is that there are longtail boats which serve street food. Yes! that's right, you can get freshly cooked, cheap Phad Thai on the beach.

There are also greedy monkeys on this beach so don't get too close to the caves with your food, they are quick and unhesitant about taking food. Blink and you will never see your lunch again. Further away from the caves seemed monkey-less, I suppose there were too many people for their liking.

On West Railay, there are various restaurants and resorts where you can get food and sit in the shade.

Room Tip: Each bungalow is different and some have adjoining rooms and extra space for families, so check with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MissNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.8 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#40 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.3 mi away
AliSea Boutique Hotel
AliSea Boutique Hotel
#13 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vipa Tropical Resort
Vipa Tropical Resort
#6 of 122 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunda Resort
Sunda Resort
#60 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aonang Paradise Resort
Aonang Paradise Resort
#26 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Cliff View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Cliff View Resort

Property: Aonang Cliff View Resort
Address: 10/5 Soi 11, Moo 2 | aonang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town, Thailand (Formerly Cliff View Ao Nang Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aonang Cliff View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you looking for a holiday bungalow accommodation close to the beach of Ao Nang Krabi, quiet location and also close to public life, you are in the right place in Ao Nang Cliff View Resort. Enjoy your stay in new and well designed bungalows, surrounded by natural jungle and breath taking Cliff Mountains. Ao Nang Cliff View Resort offers deluxe and superior bungalows for singles, couples and families with air condition as well as low budget fan bungalows. Relax in peaceful atmosphere in our swimming pool, on your own bungalow terrace and enjoy traditional Thai food in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aonang Cliff View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff View Ao Nang Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Cliff View Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing