We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Backpack House Hostel
Nearby Hotels
$95
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort(Ao Nang)(Great Value!)
$283
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Krabi Resort(Ao Nang)(Great Value!)
$68
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$93
$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phra Nang Inn(Ao Nang)(Great Value!)
$49
$40
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveler rating
12
9
2
0
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
9
2
0
8
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 31 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Very friendly guesthouse in Ao Nang. They have a nice menu as well with delicious italian food. They have the best salad in Ao Nang for sure! :-)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horváth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We choose the Deluxe Room which had Fridge, TV, Aircon. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. We found the location good, while being a 10 minute walk from the beach, it's located near plenty of nice bars and resturaunts (cheaper than the beach area). Would also reccomend 'Number 1 Thai Food' 2 doors down who sell cheap and delicious Thai food. Hotel has no lift but didnt' pose a problem.

Room Tip: Maybe have a room at the back to avoid road noise
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewAndCeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

During our stay we had no trouble whatsoever. We liked the big room, we enjoyed the BBQ they provided and our room was cleaned every day with much thoroughness. The location is okay if you like to stretch your legs and the restaurants are much cheaper around the hotel than near the beach, so that's a good thing. One but in the room: the water pressure was very low and when it's raining the roof leaks...

However, we found out that after we checked out and arrived at our new hotel our bags were searched! Everything was just a mess. After some deduction the only place that it could have happened was in the Blue House. We couldn't believe it after this great stay! We contacted the police and all we got from the hotel was a threat, so if you decide to stay there: Watch your belongings and don't leave any valuables in the room!

Room Tip: Don't take the rooms upon the 3th floor or else you have the leaking roof...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LvdBerkmortel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Hello, if you happen to find yourself in Ao Nang, I can't recommend Blue House enough. The owner Umberto and his wife are extremely accommodating. The rooms are inexpensive, clean, well appointed, and comfortable. The bathrooms, shower, beds were spotless and functioned well. For the price, the simple luxuries can not be beat. I have stayed at lesser expensive hostels and B&B's(and the Ritz on a few occasions!) and you will not be disappointed. They also have great wifi, and serve food, which is healthy, and delicious.

A few things to keep in mind;

Blue House is not on the beach, which I came to appreciate. Not dealing with drunks, and loud partying late at night was a plus. Rent a scooter, or stretch your legs and walk, it's not a problem.

Umberto also owns an Italian restaurant on the boardwalk, which was fantastic.

Emerald Muay Thai gym is 5 minutes away (ask, if you have never trained).

Book early, as I think he fills up fast for the season.

Best,

-Robin R.

Room Tip: Talk to Umberto directly.
  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robmt78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Room was spacious and clean. Bedsheets smell good! I even saw a staff ironing clean bedsheets.
Simple breakfast but good enough (with fresh fruits and toast, coffee or tea)
Right beside the bike rental shop, so you can rent a bike anytime.
A distance fr the beach (abt 1km?) but you can take your time to browse thru' the shops while you stroll down.
We had our room upgraded to a big room facing the hills (not the limestones) and air was fresh!

Price of room is good! Very affordable.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lazygirl1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews