We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money, not far from main town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Backpack House Hostel
Ranked #70 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Ao Nang
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The hotel is value for money with nice clean rooms. the hotel is also not very far away from the main market. Its just 10 minutes walk to the beach. The staffs are excellent and will arrange whatever you want, but can speak limited english. Its much much better than hotels and guest houses near to beach which are bit expensive. I will recommend this to any traveller on budget and at the same time doesn't want to comromise on room and service.

Room Tip: road facing rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tango333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 27 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2012

Very friendly guesthouse in Ao Nang. They have a nice menu as well with delicious italian food. They have the best salad in Ao Nang for sure! :-)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horváth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We choose the Deluxe Room which had Fridge, TV, Aircon. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. We found the location good, while being a 10 minute walk from the beach, it's located near plenty of nice bars and resturaunts (cheaper than the beach area). Would also reccomend 'Number 1 Thai Food' 2 doors down who sell cheap and delicious Thai food. Hotel has no lift but didnt' pose a problem.

Room Tip: Maybe have a room at the back to avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewAndCeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

During our stay we had no trouble whatsoever. We liked the big room, we enjoyed the BBQ they provided and our room was cleaned every day with much thoroughness. The location is okay if you like to stretch your legs and the restaurants are much cheaper around the hotel than near the beach, so that's a good thing. One but in the room: the water pressure was very low and when it's raining the roof leaks...

However, we found out that after we checked out and arrived at our new hotel our bags were searched! Everything was just a mess. After some deduction the only place that it could have happened was in the Blue House. We couldn't believe it after this great stay! We contacted the police and all we got from the hotel was a threat, so if you decide to stay there: Watch your belongings and don't leave any valuables in the room!

Room Tip: Don't take the rooms upon the 3th floor or else you have the leaking roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LvdBerkmortel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Hello, if you happen to find yourself in Ao Nang, I can't recommend Blue House enough. The owner Umberto and his wife are extremely accommodating. The rooms are inexpensive, clean, well appointed, and comfortable. The bathrooms, shower, beds were spotless and functioned well. For the price, the simple luxuries can not be beat. I have stayed at lesser expensive hostels and B&B's(and the Ritz on a few occasions!) and you will not be disappointed. They also have great wifi, and serve food, which is healthy, and delicious.

A few things to keep in mind;

Blue House is not on the beach, which I came to appreciate. Not dealing with drunks, and loud partying late at night was a plus. Rent a scooter, or stretch your legs and walk, it's not a problem.

Umberto also owns an Italian restaurant on the boardwalk, which was fantastic.

Emerald Muay Thai gym is 5 minutes away (ask, if you have never trained).

Book early, as I think he fills up fast for the season.

Best,

-Robin R.

Room Tip: Talk to Umberto directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robmt78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Room was spacious and clean. Bedsheets smell good! I even saw a staff ironing clean bedsheets.
Simple breakfast but good enough (with fresh fruits and toast, coffee or tea)
Right beside the bike rental shop, so you can rent a bike anytime.
A distance fr the beach (abt 1km?) but you can take your time to browse thru' the shops while you stroll down.
We had our room upgraded to a big room facing the hills (not the limestones) and air was fresh!

Price of room is good! Very affordable.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lazygirl1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

The following are some of the advantages and disadvantages which I would list out for other travellers intend to stay in this hotel:-

Advantages:
1. Very clean and spacious room
2. Service was average

Disadvantages:
1. Too far to the beach - took us 30 mins walk in the scorching sun.
2. Very disappointed there was no credit card facility - must pay by CASH!

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jactsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0.0 mi away
Krabi Cha-Da Resort
Krabi Cha-Da Resort
#55 of 110 in Ao Nang
434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kith Home
Kith Home
#77 of 143 in Ao Nang
5 reviews
0.1 mi away
Number 1 House & Restaurant
Number 1 House & Restaurant
#73 of 129 in Ao Nang
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pranang Flora House
Pranang Flora House
#25 of 129 in Ao Nang
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harvest House
Harvest House
#21 of 129 in Ao Nang
90 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baan Kure Ngern Aonang
Baan Kure Ngern Aonang
#67 of 313 in Krabi Town
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpack House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpack House Hostel

Address: 420/8 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand (Formerly Backpack Guest House)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Ao Nang
Price Range: $10 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpack House Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a 10-minute walk from Ao Nang Beach, Backpack House Hostel offers dormitory rooms with free WiFi in public areas. All dormitory rooms are air-conditioned. Guests have access to a shared bathroom and toilet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Backpack House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpack House Hostel Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing