We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best budget accomodation in Ao Nang bar none.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Backpack House Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Backpack House Hostel
Ranked #60 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Ao Nang
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
“Best budget accomodation in Ao Nang bar none.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

Hello, if you happen to find yourself in Ao Nang, I can't recommend Blue House enough. The owner Umberto and his wife are extremely accommodating. The rooms are inexpensive, clean, well appointed, and comfortable. The bathrooms, shower, beds were spotless and functioned well. For the price, the simple luxuries can not be beat. I have stayed at lesser expensive hostels and B&B's(and the Ritz on a few occasions!) and you will not be disappointed. They also have great wifi, and serve food, which is healthy, and delicious.

A few things to keep in mind;

Blue House is not on the beach, which I came to appreciate. Not dealing with drunks, and loud partying late at night was a plus. Rent a scooter, or stretch your legs and walk, it's not a problem.

Umberto also owns an Italian restaurant on the boardwalk, which was fantastic.

Emerald Muay Thai gym is 5 minutes away (ask, if you have never trained).

Book early, as I think he fills up fast for the season.

Best,

-Robin R.

Room Tip: Talk to Umberto directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robmt78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
15
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

Room was spacious and clean. Bedsheets smell good! I even saw a staff ironing clean bedsheets.
Simple breakfast but good enough (with fresh fruits and toast, coffee or tea)
Right beside the bike rental shop, so you can rent a bike anytime.
A distance fr the beach (abt 1km?) but you can take your time to browse thru' the shops while you stroll down.
We had our room upgraded to a big room facing the hills (not the limestones) and air was fresh!

Price of room is good! Very affordable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazygirl1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2010

The following are some of the advantages and disadvantages which I would list out for other travellers intend to stay in this hotel:-

Advantages:
1. Very clean and spacious room
2. Service was average

Disadvantages:
1. Too far to the beach - took us 30 mins walk in the scorching sun.
2. Very disappointed there was no credit card facility - must pay by CASH!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jactsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2010

Spent 3 nights recently at the Ao Nang Blue House, a family run guest house located about 15 minutes walk from the Ao Nang Beach. The pick-up at Krabi Airport was on time. The owners and the staffs of the Blue house were friendly and helpful including helping me with the tickets for the return airport bus. They were not pushy in any of the local tours.

My superior room located on the 2nd storey was spacious and comfortable. There were some cobwebs in the bathroom that did not really bother me a lot. The room came with a balcony overlooking the vegetation.

Even though it was a guesthouse, the room was comparable to a hotel with the usual amenities - complimentary water, tea and coffee, satellite TV and air-conditioning (a much needed respite from Krabi's notorious heat). There was free internet access at the reception. No in-room safe, hair dryers and fridge bar and elevators were available. The room rate does not comes with breakfast but the owner does whipped up a delicious breakfast at a nominal charge.

Overall, the Blue House met my travel needs even though it is not directly located at the Ao Nang Beach. The sunset at the Ao Nang Beach is something I will remember for a long time. I'm thankful for the cosy stay and certainly looking forward to future stays if an opportunity arises.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minghui79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2010

The Blue house is a well run family hotel, spotlessly clean, With free wifi in room. The hotel 10 min walk from the main centre of Ao nang and in a good location ( nice and quiet, ATM next door,) The hotel also can arrange airport runs cheaper than local taxi,s.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2009

New, clean, friendly, Italian - family run, hotel. Nicely positioned, in easy walking distance of all the bars, beach etc. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MOKJGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.3 mi away
Fundee House Hostel
Fundee House Hostel
#22 of 133 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harvest House
Harvest House
#21 of 123 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glur Hostel
Glur Hostel
#3 of 133 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aonang 88 Hostel
Aonang 88 Hostel
#20 of 133 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Number 1 House & Restaurant
Number 1 House & Restaurant
#73 of 123 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Haleeva Sunshine
Haleeva Sunshine
#20 of 123 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpack House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpack House Hostel

Property: Backpack House Hostel
Address: 420/8 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand (Formerly Backpack Guest House)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpack House Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a 10-minute walk from Ao Nang Beach, Backpack House Hostel offers dormitory rooms with free WiFi in public areas. All dormitory rooms are air-conditioned. Guests have access to a shared bathroom and toilet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Backpack House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpack House Hostel Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing