We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Dinner”

Carnivore Steak and Grill
Ranked #9 of 387 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Carnivore serves since 2003 mouthwatering steaks; Rib Eye, Tenderloin, Lamb, Pork and chicken. All our beef is imported vacuum fresh from Australia and New Zealand. Also do we serve several fish plates; prawns, white snapper, tuna and more. Our generous salads and wide range of starters are highly appreciated with our guests. All main courses are served with a delicious salad, and you can choose between 13 side dishes and 5 meat-sauces. Since 2004 we provide our guests with a selection of 50 different beers from all over the world and also more then 40 different wines. Since 2014 do we also have a selection of about 30 different whiskeys; many of them single malts.
Reviewed October 4, 2016 via mobile

Highly recommend Carnivore for dinner. Although comparatively expensive it was well worth it and we even went back a second time. There's not just steak on the menu. Lots of other stuff too. You won't regret it!

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank longers88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gidi M, Owner at Carnivore Steak and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2016

Hello longers88,

Great to receive your great review, it means a lot to us.
Indeed we do have more on our menu then only steaks, we also have big salads, seafood dishes and other popular Western dishes.
Thank you for visiting us (2 times), we hope to be able to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Gidi Mevissen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 515 of 2,265 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2016 via mobile

We ate here on a rainy evening and were delighted with our choice. We did not realise how big portions were and foolishly ordered starters and mains, big mistake (we went there with hungry bellies!)! Big salad comes with/before the mains which would have been plenty as a starter, we had steak and stroganoff for mains and they were delicious. The starters were just OK so we would recommend mains only and bring a big appetite!

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank 592orlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gidi M, Owner at Carnivore Steak and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

Dear Orla G,

Thank you for giving us a review about the Carnivore steak and grill.
Yes, the portions are for good eaters, sometimes we even warn the guests if they are over-ordering, sometimes the guests follow us, sometimes they don't.
Lately, we are seeing that our guests from the Chinese Mainland have a really healthy appetite, they will order so many items of the menu..and they still finish it in the end.

We hope you are having the trip of a lifetime here in Thailand, if you're ever around here again we would be honoured to welcome you again.

Gidi Mevissen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2016

Honestly speaking, I find the steak mediocre. Probably beef are air flown here. Service is mediocre as well relative to the thai restaurants I have been to. Probably that was a bad night , or perhaps was because I just came back from an nz holiday where fresh beef are plentiful.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank alaies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gidi M, Owner at Carnivore Steak and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

Dear alaies,

Thank you for leaving your comments about our restaurant.
Honestly speaking your review will not help us in anyway forward to improve
anything.
My first reaction was; 1st review ever written on TA, a negative one and no explanation what was wrong...probably someone who has not been to our restaurant and has some despicable motives for writing such a negative review.

Our staff must have come to your table and must have asked you; "how is your food?"
What did you do; smile???
Maybe you said "yes it's good" but in real you are too afraid to speak out?
And then when you have left you become the keyboard warrior, putting your feathers up and slack down the place from a distance.
No mentions about the sides, salads, free appetizers, cool towels, maybe a free shot of sambucca, the price, the steak you had, what was wrong with it etc ... really strange.
If you feel you have to write a negative review then also take the time to explain what was wrong.
Your 2nd review written about the hotel you stayed, was very specific; up to a point you had to mention the medical condition of the owner of the villa!?

But to continue answering your review;
All our staff are Thai, should there be a difference between Thai staff serving in a Thai restaurant or Thai staff serving in a Western restaurant??
Most of the reviewers rave about the service of our staff.

Indeed the beef is (air??) flown in; around 2012 we stopped using the ox and carriage.
Because the long-haul swimming became too much for the ox! ;-)

I would be a great supporter, that if Tripadvisor would set up a system to eliminate the possibility to commit fraud.
Supply each T.A. listed business owner with a machine that prints out a code with each bill.
With this the "real clients" can login to each visited business and leave a genuine review.
Charge the owners 100 USD per year for the code machine, I am sure many will want to pay for it.
Those business owners who don't want to join/pay, can still be on TA but then have the chance of being subject to fraud.
Leaving anonymous reviews should not be necessary anymore these days, there are already many booking-sites who give you a code to later review the place you booked or stayed.

Dear alaies, I hope my respond to your review was more detailed then your review about my business.

Still, if you come in this region again in the future, please visit us and we will take extra care of you (and if you might need directions to our restaurant please ask us we are more then happy to explain it to you).

Kind regards,

Gidi Mevissen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2016 via mobile

Came for dinner here with a group of friends some of who are meat eaters and some who are vegan.

The staff were so happy to cater for our requests to make the salads vegan.

Was delicious food and reasonably priced :)

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Chloe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gidi M, Owner at Carnivore Steak and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

Dear Chloe R,

Coming to a restaurant named the Carnivore and then still being happy as a "Herbivore" is a great compliment to my staff and myself.
Thank you for visiting us and leaving a (great) review explaining how our staff helped you with your adjustments to the dishes .

Happy travels.

Gidi Mevissen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2016

Very good food. Very affordable. Portion was huge. Very clean. Located close to Little Home Ao Nang which was a very affordable hotel.

Date of visit: September 2016
2  Thank 3Maple3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gidi M, Owner at Carnivore Steak and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

Hi Anne C,

Thank you for leaving your comment about the Carnivore.
Nice to hear we did a good job,

Kind regards,

Gidi Mevissen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnivore Steak and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Carnivore Steak and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing