We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dinner with wine experience in ao nang”

Carnivore Steak and Grill
Ranked #7 of 279 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $41
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Carnivore serves since 2003 mouthwatering steaks; Rib Eye, Tenderloin, Lamb, Pork and chicken. All our beef is imported vacuum fresh from Australia and New Zealand. Also do we serve several fish plates; prawns, white snapper, tuna and more. Our generous salads and wide range of starters are highly appreciated with our guests. All main courses are served with a delicious salad, and you can choose between 13 side dishes and 5 meat-sauces. Since 2004 we provide our guests with a selection of 50 different beers from all over the world and also more then 40 different wines. Since 2014 do we also have a selection of about 30 different whiskeys; many of them single malts.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best dinner with wine experience in ao nang”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Truly a great experience. The staff gives european standard in service. And the wine selection isn't bad either. Well worth a visit. :)

Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,196
    379
    121
    39
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“The best steak ever and great salad”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed at Gillhams and one of the guides recommended this restaurant he said it had better steak than New York, he was right the steaks are lovely, the meat just melts in your mouth. The restaurant is really worth the visit its a little bit more pricy than Anong but defiantly good for a treat we paid around £88 for 4 which included a coffee, beer and steak dinner . The restaurant also serve a complimentary salad with your main meal which makes a lovely starter, defiantly worth a trip out

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JanetteD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and good atmosphere”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Very good food, and a good variety on the menu. We ordered tenderloin steak and you could choose the weight of the meat suited to your hunger, also what sidedish you wanted. The steak was perfect and the sidedishes as well. The atmosphere in the restaurant was very pleasant and good. Good service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tipii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, service just OK.”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Food was good, very generous potions. My partner enjoyed an excellent Australian steak here. Dinner for two was comparably cheap to Australian prices, but more expensive than most restaurants in Ao Nang, maybe because the meat is imported and there's a "fine dining" vibe. My tuna steak was nice, not exceptional and it was medium - medium well instead of medium rare as requested, still fresh and tasty and I'm not the kind to complain unless something is really disappointing. The huge complementary side salad was absolutely lovely and a really nice bonus as we found fresh salad hard to find in Ao Nang. The service we received was patchy, we weren't offered drinks after the first round we ordered, which seems an like an anomaly in Ao Nang. We found it difficult to attract a waiter's attention - to order more drinks or even get the cheque required standing up from the table and waving someone over, which was weird when there were only two other tables dining so it certainly wasn't busy. The waitresses were polite but I felt a bit like I was imposing when I needed water/drinks. They did, kindly offer mosquito repellent when I asked. Hopefully this restaurant takes on the well-meaning customer feedback from this site. I will give this restaurant another go before we leave, if only for the nice steak.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bamon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gidi M, Owner at Carnivore Steak and Grill, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Hello Bamon D,

Thank you for taking your time to write an extensive review about our restaurant.
I am not happy about the service that you experienced; it should not have been like that.
When you visited us it was very quiet, and this is dreadful for our staff; they really want to be active but standing around with 6 waitresses to attend to 4 guests is a killer for them.

Still I am happy that your partner had an excellent Australian steak and I hope that memory will be stuck in your mind when thinking about the Carnivore and Ao Nang.
I hope that your second visit was better and if it was (not) please contact me on info@carnivore-thailand.com

Kind regards,

Gidi Mevissen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Lick, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Top Quality”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We were blown away by the sheer quality of the food served in this restaurant. We were on holiday and did not expect much in terms of steaks, considering that this is Thailand. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality and the service is also fantastic. Simply fantastic.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Draman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnivore Steak and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Carnivore Steak and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing