We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boring”
Review of The Irish Rover - CLOSED

The Irish Rover
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: Irish, Mexican, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A/C escape the heat, LIVE MUSIC weeknights -international songs, great pub food- kitchen open till mid-night, all Live sports-multiple games shown live, ROOMS & APARTMENTS upstairs-Ao Nang Inn, draught beers, cider, cocktail, Drink Specials daily -Vodka Redbull
California, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Boring”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

If you like poor service, canned music, boring and bland food, miserable faces and dull-as-dishwater room décor, then you’ll love this place. I don’t like any of the aforementioned, so I didn’t have a good time here at all. Recommend best avoided.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    53
    29
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
1,834 reviews
1,061 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 732 helpful votes
“Just an Irish Bar by name”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

It is located in Moo 2. As you walk along the beach you will find this place tucked in a small lane. It is at a place called Centre Point. there are a few bars at this place. It is a bar and grill. they also have a few rooms for rent.

It has breakfast, lunch and dinner. For b/fast they have english bfast with eggs and sausages/bacon. They also have American bfast. The staff's are not cheerful and you need to call them if you need anything. Service wise it is a bit slow and bad. The management need improve on this.

They have indoor and out door sitting. The deco is just like any ordinary pub.

You will get the typical beers such as Guiness Draught beer, Kilkenny, Magners and Strongbow.
they have a pool table which you can make use. they also have a few plasma TV's. During the weekends live football will be shown here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeff1955malaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Took too long to come”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Our first morning in Ao Nang and we tried to find a good English style breakfast. My husband was on crutches so we couldn't walk far. There was no parking at all but we managed to get there. We were the only ones in the place and the one member of staff attended to us quickly. We ordered, but it took forever to come. I was surprised and tried to imagine how long it would have taken had other people been waiting too! Very strange! Sausage was definitely no breakfast kind I've ever tried.... It was too seasoned. Two very thin rashers of over-cooked bacon (not English) and two crispy fried eggs! We ate it as we were hungry, but we won't go back. Pity as we looked at the menu for evening pub food, but decided to give it a miss. Wouldn't recommend.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DiveInPattaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awfull service”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We thought we would try this place what a mistake, we ordered red chicken curry and they brought out green curry, we ordered a total of 4 meals and they only brought 3 meals out,20 mins later they brought the other meal out after the other meals had been eaten, talk about lost in translation.....

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“No atmosphere”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Like the other Irish pubs in AoNang, this one has no personality and no atmosphere. There was no music playing, no smiles from the staff and no other customers. We were there for dinner though left before the 'entertainment' was scheduled to start.
All ordered meals that would be standard in a pub. All reported as 'fine', and fairly bland. Waited an exceptionally long time for the garlic bread, which arrived after we'd finished eating main meals. Definitely worth waiting for though- excellent garlic bread!

Won't go back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Irish Rover also viewed

Krabi Town, Krabi Province
Krabi Town, Krabi Province
 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing