We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sala Bua & Lo Spuntino Restaurant - CLOSED

Sala Bua & Lo Spuntino Restaurant
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We ate there several times during our stay in Ao Nang ... We would go out with the intention of trying somewhere else but the high quality of food, good service and great location kept us going back for more. Couldn't recommend it highly enough!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LJM841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    94
    28
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Location and Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We ate here twice, the only one we ate at more than once. Food was great. It was hot also the beers were cold. Service was very good and it was value for money

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RayKem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good seafood restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

The seafood is of good quality and very tasty. Beautiful sea view and reasonable prices. In addition, the restaurant is clean and cosy. Would definitely recommend it to everyone.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Timofen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“One to go back to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I try to avoid very popular places, unless there is a good reason not to, the expectations tend to be too high and so are the prices, and sometimes the quality drops. So on the 30th of December, at peak season, and feeling a bit lost in space in Ao Nang, my wife managed to convince me to go there for dinner. The first thought was, no chance, too many people and we hadn't booked a table. However, the staff managed to find us a table very quickly and before we knew we were scanning the menu. We were feeling somehow shy and went for the tiger prawn linguini, pizza, som tam salad, and a bottle of red. The service was spot on, the food came in rapidly and well timed despite the restaurant being so busy. But most of all, everything was deliciuos. BUT, OMG! they don't put amaretto in Tiramisu... So we had to get a couple of cognacs to wash it down. We were so impressed that we dicided to go back the following night 31 December!! Again, the place was packed but got a table straight away, without a booking (later we learnt that they don't take bookings anyway). This time we went for the heavy artilliery, wife had lobster and I had fillet steak. We tried a different wine, also good. It was emotional. An explosion of flavour and greatly timed too. The new manager, a Dane, Dieter is clearly doing a good job. We avoided the Tiramisu on this occasion but he delivered the cognac nevertheless.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AntonioGP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere else
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good setting, good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great location on the beachfront in "seafood street". They don't take bookings in high season, so we went early and got a table outside and spent a very pleasant evening eating good (not amazing) food from both the Thai and the western menu. The cocktails were fantastic. Can't remember exactly what we had but the salads were huge and fresh.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank restlessaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sala Bua & Lo Spuntino Restaurant also viewed

 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing