We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in parts but let down by a couple of things...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Ranked #3 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good in parts but let down by a couple of things...”
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We are a married couple in our late 20's with no kids. This was part of our Honeymoon trip and we were looking forward to a chilled out 6 nights at the Phu Petra after a hectic and fun few weeks racing round Thailand. We stayed in Jan 2011.

We arrived and were met by a friendly member of staff who checked us in and showed us to our rooms. We stayed in a bungalow facing the cliffs toasted the back of the complex. The setting is beautiful.

Our room was very big with 2 huge beds and a huge bathroom which was decorated to a good standard and all looked very nice. It had a new tv, DVD, fridge etc - everything we needed and more.

We then went for a relax and swim in the pool which was great. The pool is small but perfectly formed. The first night we decided to eat at the hotel. The food was overpriced and very average. We were the only ones eating there which should have told us something and this made for a strange atmosphere.

Most of the staff throughout our stay were very helpful and would do their best to satisfy your needs. I feel ODI deserves a special mention. He was particularly kind and good at his job.

The other nights we got the free shuttle bus into town which worked well. If your out later than 09-20 which we always were you will have to get a tuk tuk at 100 baht. It's probably a tad to far to walk. We did once and it took about 20 minutes. We ate a couple of times at Del Rocks which was brilliant and spent most of our time at the Happy Hour street bar where we met some great people and laughed to the small hours.
The spa in the hotel is expensive and no better than elsewhere.

We very much enjoyed the rest of our stay but did have a couple of issues which were dealt with terribly by the staff.

On the 3rd day our bathroom began to smell terribly of raw sewage which really was unpleasant. The bathroom was a no go area and the smell emulated into our bedroom. There were also hundreds if ants in our bedroom and bed!!! I reported this to a member of staff who said he would tell the manager. The next morning nothing was said to us. We out for the day and returned in the afternoon. I told another member of staff who said they would look into the matter. We went back to our room and it smelled as though someone had sprayed air freshner. They fixed the issue for no more than a few minutes!!! Nobody came to speak to me and tell me what they had or hadn't done or offer us an alternative room. Were not fussy people and don't have children so just got on with it spending as little time possible in our room to avoid the revolting stench.

Come check out, the member of staff attempted to bill us 300 baht for 3 flannels which they said were spoiled. He showed us the offending items which had a tiny mark of my wides make up on! They needed nothing more than a good wash! I told him we didn't agree and wouldn't be paying! Especially given we'd just spent three days in a room that stunk of human waste!!! Not what you expect from an expensive hotel.

Terrible way to treat your customers and left us with a very bitter taste in our mouths as we left. Enough to make us not to want to return. Which is a shame because it was a nice place.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DannyandBec2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gretsa, Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
First of all, let me thank you for your feedback in tripadvisor. We are so appreciated for the chance you give us to serve you. Please be noted that we already took your every comment into discussion in a team member.

My apology for an ignorance of your first report to one of our staff regarding ants on the bed and bad smell in your bathroom. I found out that he forgot to inform to his manager. The second time, you reported the same to FO manager which I appeared to be around. It then was promptly passed on to our housekeeping and engineering department. Head of Housekeeper together with Chief Engineer rushed into your room and fixed it by not only spraying air freshener to your room but also putting the EM into sewage system to make the bad smell gone. At the time both of them came into your room, they found no ants anymore. I'm so sorry not informing this to you...We will not make any excuse for that but only accept the mistake we did and we promise to improve it to be better.

Deeply sorry for the day you checked out that you were told to bill at 300 Baht for 3 flannels...Since we did according to the resort's policy so I assume our GSA told you of charging because they are afraid of penalty if they skip their fully duty. I'm sorry if our GSA might in case said something impolite to you. We, of course, take this into serious consideration and will bring it up again as a very top issue in our next meeting...

Other comments, without our ignorance, we also concentrate to revise to make it the best for all of our guests.

I write this email to say how sorry I & other team members are of making your days with us not fully happy. We will adjust, make some changes and develop to make the greatest service in the future.

One promise is we will try hard to make Aonang Phu Petra Resort a pleasing place where value experience delivering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    340
    88
    34
    11
See reviews for
181
580
31
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

just came back from phu petra resort krabi and am totally impressed with the hotel! Staff are great and friendly, smiling at all times! Rooms are huge and the bed is very comfortable. The toilet was the most impressive! It was huge with a standing shower and bathtub next to it. The hotel also provides a dvd player and a selection of dvds for u to choose frm. However, one of the down sides would be the location of the hotel. Its right inside and is rather inconvenient as the hotel only provides shuttle service once an hr. During my stay i rented a motorbike for 300baht a day and tht saved a lot of time travelling in and out of the hotel. The view is also breathtaking as it faces the mountain. Great place for couples to enjoy and relax! Would definitely come back again and recommend!!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Prior to arriving at the hotel, we''ve had some contact with the staff via email. They were always polite, helpful and prompt with their responses. When we arrived, the service they provided was as promised. We were picked up at the airport, and sent to the resort. At first, we didn't know what to expect as it was away from the bustling Ao Nang beach district. There is an hourly bus shuttle service which took us from the resort to the main area (5 minutes drive). Scooters were also available for rental. This made it very convenient even though it was not located in the heart of Ao Nang.

Overall, we were pleased with the level of service provided. The rooms were spacious and the toilet was almost as big as the rooms. The reception booked the tours for us to Phi Phi Islands, 4 islands and the Tiger Cave temple. There were no glitches during our stay, apart from the weather.

There are only 32 rooms in this hotel and we felt that the staff were attentive. We were very impressed by the standards upkept by this fairly new hotel (less than 2 years). We would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glrchn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shinfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

My family and I stayed here only briefly for one night, and I have to say it was the most perfect resort I have ever stayed at. We travelled as a large group of 9 including a 6 month old baby and not one of us was made to feel unwelcome. The rooms were impeccible, and although I was upgraded to a suite due, I would have been more than happy with a basic room as these were not only plenty big enough but were furnished to such a high standard etc. Staff were so very helpful and courteous. I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Although we had to endure our first night in a different (very poor) hotel due to a maintenance issue, the rest of our stay was lovely. The rooms are very modern, clean, have great air conditioning and huge bathrooms. We have a 4 year old and they put us opposite their little playground which had good equipment and appeared pretty safe.
The food was pretty good, although the breakfast could have a bigger choice. The staff were generally very helpful and kind although the evening bus driver always took a lot of persuading to actually drive the bus to the beach - where it is supposed to go to. Some reviews say it is a 10 min walk to town. We are fit and it is further than that and very dark at night, so you do need the bus or a tuk tuk - especially with kids. Overall a good 4 star small resort - not quite 5 star boutique.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neal16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2011

After we arrived this resort, they greeted welcome smiles and serve wlecome drink and cold towel. Surprising me! they upgraded our rooms to Suite Poolside Villa. Maybe fully booking at that moment but doesn't matter, we were very very happy for that. We could say that we enjoyed every single moment of our stay in this fantastic resort. All the staff are so friendly, great buffet breakfast. The pool is very brilliant mountain view with serving some food and drink to our sunloungers. Even through, there are not enough subloungers for 50++ guests in very busy season, we always got sunloungers when we wanted them.
The room was very attractive and spacious. Bed was a King Size and comfortable, with both firm and soft pillows provided. Moreover, Free WiFi in room. That was so great.

You will not be disappointed if you stay here. I'm very fussy with accommodation but have finally found my second home at this resort.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeoChz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasteras
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2010

One of the most beatiful hotel rooms we have stayed in, regardless of country.
Ample space, 72 m2, 5m to ceiling, dual AC, dual showers and a tub.
The view is not water but a vertical multicolored high cliff wall.
The bungalows match the central building, nice architecture!
Nice little pool, nice green areas.
The restaurant was great. Breakfast with milk, cereal, ham, eggs, omelet made to choice, bread, coffea, jam, cheese.
Lunch/dinner with a wide selection of Thai dishes but also Western food like pizza, steaks and pasta. Pizzas recommended, spagetti Bolognese terrible.
Staff was very nice and helpful.

This is a hotel for people that like peace and quiet at night. There is no nightlife at all at the hotel. All action takes place down in Aonang, free shuttle every hour, otherwise 10 minutes by taxi.
Large flatscreen TV, a few English channels and a hundred or so Asian.

The hotel is not cheap but still about half price compared to Europe.
If we have a chance to spend another week at Phu Patra, we will do so.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leena-Per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,451 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#20 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,227 reviews
1.2 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 108 in Ao Nang
567 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi

Property: Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Address: 521 Soi 11 Moo 2 Tumbol Aonang | Ampur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#4 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Krabi, Aonang Phu Petra Resort is set amidst mountains in stunning natural surroundings. The resort features spacious villas and suites located by the swimming pool or hill. Guests can enjoy swimming in the outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, offers beach and airport transfers. Krabi Airport is a 30-minute drive away while Aonang Beach is 10 minutes away by car. Modern rooms feature classic dark wood furnishings and spacious balconies. Each has a cable/satellite TV, DVD player and coffee-making facilities. Bathrobes, slippers and a hairdryer are provided. Massage services are offered at the resort and a library corner allows for quiet reading. Other facilities include a tour desk and children*s playground. Motorbikes can be rented for convenience. Sila Petra Restaurant serves local and international dishes. Enjoy mountain and pool views while sipping cocktails at Phu Anda Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing