We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed after my return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Ranked #4 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2010

After arriving directly from another hotel where we paid a 5 star price and got a 3 star hotel, we were quite impressed with the Phu Petra as it was a new hotel.. For our first visit of 9 days we paid a rate that we felt was somewhat high for the resort but it seemed much better than the hotel we had arrived from. We left for one week to another hotel of the same rating as the Phu Petra, and were very impressed with the resort (Anyavee Tubkaek) but the resort was somewhat remote and a bit more expensive. When deciding to stay longer at the Anyavee or to return to the Phu Petra we based our decision on price. Although we were offered a fairly good rate from the Anyavee for a long term stay, we decided to go with the Phu Petra as I was assured by the assistant manager Nat that we would be getting a price we would be very happy with.
So we booked another 9 days at the Phu Petra. and paid the amount in full when we arrived. We happened to be checking for rooms in another area of Thailand and noticed the rate at the Phu Petra was substanttially lower on the internet than the management said was a "rate that would make us extremely happy". Of course we were quite upset as our total stay at the Phu Petra was approximately 3 weeks. We were offered a voucher for food and two complimentary cocktails as part of our special deal as repeat customers. We ordered our meal and drinks at the restaurant and when time to pay arrived, we were told we could not use the vouchers as they were for a "special menu" and cocktail vouchers had to be presented beforehand in order to be used. Needless to say we felt very cheated, particularly as our stay would be a total of 3 weeks. When we spoke to management they insisted that there was nothing that they could do about the fact that the internet price was lower that what we had paid and advised that a refund could take up to one week. Needless to say we were not espescially trusting of that situation. So we stayed out the final nine days. However, beside the fact that although we were repeat customers and were staying a total of 3 weeks and were being charged more than guests arriving for one day, we had other issues as well. When we returned we were assigned a villa in which the shower did not drain. We slopped around in several inches of water each time we showered. When we asked them to do something about it they sent the chamber maid and she pushed it into the drain with her foot. We also had real problem with mosquitos and other bugs in the room. We asked several times to have it sprayed, but we continued to be bitten by bugs. All in all, what we thought was a fairly good hotel ended up being a huge disappointment and overpriced for the what you were getting. The service staff seemed to try hard, but management had a fairly bad attitude to build customer relations. Hotel was far from beach although they did provide a shuttle several times per day. Other fellow costumers seemed to have the same complaints we did, so I don't believe that we were being too picky. It was new, but other than that it didn't have a whole lot going for it and we regretted returning. We would not return to the same hotel in the future. In our opinion, we were paying four star prices for at best a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thaiholidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

876 - 882 of 1,105 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2010

The hotel is only a few months old, and is tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the main street, which makes for a very peaceful and quiet holiday. We were in a Majestic poolside villa. Huge room, beautifully decorated in a traditional Thai fashion, with a big verandah, complete with two wooden loungers that unfortunately had no cushions and were therefore extremely uncomfortable. The bathroom, whilst being decently-sized, appeared unfinished as far as decoration is concerned - most of the walls were finished in a cement render, and not painted or tiled, which lead us to think that keeping the room clean was not the main consideration! Smelly drains were reported, but remained smelly. Take care in the shower, because the water can occasionally come through scalding hot, just when you're not expecting it! Don't arrive late at night and expect to sleep in and have breakfast in your room - that is not available, and breakfast in the restaurant is packed up and cleared away promptly, some days by 1015. Some of the hot food available in the food-warming dishes was patently not acceptable, by virtue of being dried out and stuck to the bottom of the pan, while the noodles were sometimes just a congealed mass - not good enough. The specials board in the restaurant had two meal options, which have now not changed for over a week.The in-room tea/coffee making facility is replenished each day, and was limited to the supply of ONE, yes 1, teabag and two coffee sachets per day. The Phu Anda lounge does not appear to be in use - it contains a couple of chairs and tables and seemed to be used as a dining area for hotel management.
The whole hotel, despite being a very striking collection of buildings, lacks any imagination in planting to complement the buildings. There are no flowers in the grounds at all - lots of trees, but no colour just to set the place alive. There are many other hotels in the area that fully warrant a 4* rating both in facilities and price, which sadly can not be said of the Aonang Phu Petra.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magalan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

If peace and quiet is what you are looking for then Phu Petra is for you. The main reason that drew me to this resort was it just opened...no need to worry about poorly maintained properties which was usually what you find in this region. Phu Petra being very new was very clean and very nicely done up. I stayed in one of the hillside villas and did not regret not topping up for a poolside villa. The views of the cliffs are amazing especially at night. The resort is very small and so the pool was only a few steps further away. It looks much bigger on their website as the new building was not even being constructed but I think they are starting construction and so the hillside villas might no longer be so quiet and peaceful in a couple of months.
The rooms are huge. The bed is huge and so is the bathroom. You could fit a London ensuite room into their bathroom lolz. Its got a nice bathtub and separate shower area. The deco of the room was modern thai with lots of space for you lounge around in. I spend alot of time on the private patio as the pool was really too hot even with the sun shades. I just walked a few steps to the pool for a dip when it gets too sweaty :) Please wear your shoes or risk burning your feet.
Although it was not located within walking distance to the main beach area, I don't mind as it was really too hot during the day to walk around town. I much prefer to enjoy the resort and go out only in the evening. The resort provides hourly shuttle to the beach which was really useful. Similarly I wish they could provide hourly return shuttle to the hotel. The only time I took a taxi back it costs me only 60bht.
The breakfast provided was adequate. The local dish was the worst ..some dried out fried noodles (yucks) but I like the eggs and bacon station which they prepare for you upon ordering. Use those and make your own bacon and fried eggs sandwich....yummy. Their coffee was very good, really strong and thick.
Overall the resort met my expectations. This is the 3rd time I visited Krabi and Phu Petra has the best rooms but the worst location. If you like convenience, look for a hotel near Ao Nang beach otherwise Phu Petra will do very well for a nice, quiet holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyFeet25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

We were lucky enough to be among the first to stay at this wonderful hotel. The staff were friendly, attentive and went out of their way to make us feel at home. The rooms were probably the best we have stayed in, and great value for money. We could not believe how big they were! Having travelled extensively throughout Thailand we would thoroughly recommend a Stay at Phu Petra and Krabi in general.

The scenery is terrific and the pace on the street is not as hectic as in Phuket. Everyone is still fairly laid back and we found the shopping cheaper than at Phuket.

The food we had at the resort was always fresh and great quality. The kids had a great selection and the prices were very reasonable.

The location was just a short (2 minute) drive from the main shopping area. You could walk it if you were keen but we took advantage of the free shuttle into town. It was close enough for convenience but still able to be private when needed.

We really could not recommend this hotel strongly enough.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingFamilyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

When we chose the Phu Petra one of our main criteria was peace and quiet and the Phu Petra certainly delivers on that score. We really enjoyed our 10 day stay there. As has been said if you are after a hotel with activities and entertainment this one isn't the one for you. I think the "resort" in the hotel title may be misleading to some who see a resort hotel as a self contained complex offering all sort of activities on site.

Firstly our poolside suite was very spacious and comfortable with everything you would expect. There is a large fridge in the room and bottled water is provided daily.

All the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful at all times and I could not fault them in any way. I was very surprised to read criticism of them in a previous review.

During the day it was great to relax by the pool as it was wonderful and quiet with no problems getting a sunbed but as has been said a few more parasols would be a good idea.

We alternated between eating at the hotel and going into Aonang for the evening, we found the food at Phu Petra to be excellent and not that expensive as you might expect in a hotel. They do a couple of set 3 course menus at 700 Baht for 2 people. The breakfasts were adequate and could do with more variety. The place was kept spotlessly clean and extremely well kept.

There is an hourly taxi service down to the beach which takes about 5 minutes. We walked back on a few occasions and it took about 15-20 minutes to do so. It would be useful if the taxi service back was every hour as well rather than just the 3 times offered. Once you leave the main road there is no lighting for the last quarter mile or so to the hotel so isn't ideal for walking at night. A tuk-tuk back should cost about 50-60 Baht if you haggle.

Having just opened and being subject to continual improvement it is difficult to really assess this hotel. In out 10 day stay there was real evidence of the management listening to suggestions and making improvements on a daily basis. Having stayed in many hotels in my time I can assure you that The Phu Petra Resort is fantastic place to stay, they do all the important things well and make your stay very relaxing and comfortable, with the level of commitment shown by management I am sure this hotel will continue to improve and become even better as a result.

If you want to be pampered and enjoy a truly relaxing stay I would highly recommend the Aonang Phu Petra Resort.

I would like to thank Mr Nattakorn and all his staff for making our stay there so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

we were in krabi for our honeymoon for 4 nights... the ao nang phu petra was the best part of our stay... the staff was extremely courteous and helpful.. i am a vegetarian and they remembered that each time they suggested me a dish.... the room was fabulous.. we were in the hillside villa... a very private deck and lovely views.... their restaurant was very moderately priced according to krabi standards and they have a very efficient shuttle service to the main market area. for those who would want to be closer to the beach phu petra is a little away.... but if you are looking for a relaxed leisurely stay.. then you must stay here.... and their Thai massage was wonderful too... if we ever went back to krabi... then aonang phu petra is where we would stay....!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neha_duggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

This place has obviously attributed its star rating to itself. There is little to no elements of luxury to warrant a star rating of its level. While it is a new property it is far from being a luxury resort. For example, the restaurant interior looks and feels like a cafeteria. Totally void of any ambiance and decor. Utterly uninviting. Also, there are not enough pool umbrellas for the dozen loungers and the umbrella stands have heavy cement bases that are very hard to maneuver. There just are no special touches to be seen or experienced. Maybe they should add a cabana or two by the pool. Modern rooms, but blase everything else... including the level of service. The staff are friendly and warm, but are not service driven. The hotel is not guest driven as the staff never initiate service and they do not approach guests to provide service nor do they go out of their way for you. There are much better places in the center of Ao Nang that provide a remote setting with hillside or water views like Phu Petra, but with far more elements towards luxury. TA should drop the star rating to at least 3 stars. I think those who have given this place top marks are being overly generous. Keep looking at other accommodations.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SHIHONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phupetra, Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2010

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greeting from Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Thailand

Thank you for your comments and suggestions. Since the resort openning in 1 December 2009, some articles had not yet finished during your stay but now all are done. We are continuously improving our services to be better and better and also we have absolutely tried hard to make Aonang Phu Petra Resort a pleasing place where value experience delivering.

We are; however, improving every single detail in every minute but sometimes with guests' own perception or expectation differently, it may be created various opinions in each. Anyway, we promise to take these comments into account for even better service to serve you in the future.

Management Team.
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Thailand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,642 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,368 reviews
1.2 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#3 of 111 in Ao Nang
624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Centra by Centara Phu Pano Resort Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi

Address: 521 Soi 11 Moo 2 Tumbol Aonang | Ampur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#4 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: $82 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Krabi, Aonang Phu Petra Resort is set amidst mountains in stunning natural surroundings. The resort features spacious villas and suites located by the swimming pool or hill. Guests can enjoy swimming in the outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, offers beach and airport transfers. Krabi Airport is a 30-minute drive away while Aonang Beach is 5 minutes away by car. Modern rooms feature classic dark wood furnishings and spacious balconies. Each has a cable/satellite TV, and coffee-making facilities. Bathrobes, slippers and a hairdryer are provided. Massage services are offered at the resort and a library corner allows for quiet reading. Other facilities include a tour desk and children*s playground. Motorbikes can be rented for convenience. Sila Petra Restaurant serves local and international dishes. Enjoy mountain and pool views while sipping cocktails at Phu Anda Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing