We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seriously disappointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Ranked #3 of 107 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Seriously disappointed!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have not even step into the resort but I am already very disappointed. I am planning to visit krabi from 13-17-Feb14 and have decided on this resort after doing extensive research on our itinerary. From the resort's website, it shows it still has available rooms and I am able to go through the full booking process and payment. We are so happy after 'booking' the rooms and already have an idea on what we plan to do. However, a couple of hours later, I receive an email from the resort saying that they are fully booked and have cancel our reservation!!!! Why do you even allow your own website to allow people to continue booking even though you know you are already full??? We are sooooo disappointed and angry, and now we need to start looking for places all over again. Will we ever try going to this place again in the future? NEVER!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ryan_sg_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear our beloved guests:

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced in respect to our booking system. We are deeply sorry that we have no even an opportunity to serve you as our beloved guests. All of our guests are very important. Should our room is available, there is no reason for us to reject our guests to stay in. There is an explanation for the case you have experienced. As the time your booking has been successfully accepted and the time we close the allotment is simultaneous occur or overlap just in minute. Once we received your booking, we tried our best to contact you and letted you note the situation as soon as possible. We void the whole amount of payment you have made instantly to return it back to you. (As you mentioned for couple of hours later, you received an email from us) please believe that we sincerely take care our guests and we also care for pre-arrival guests. We tell it the truth, we make it a quick response so our guests would not waste their time and, especially, have enough time to find for another hotel. We note for your fury and can touch that you have so strong intention to stay with us. Kindly understand us and think in a way around. We insist you are important and we hope for a chance to serve you with our warmest and Thai smile welcoming next time. We hope you will give us that chance again.

We hope this message can release your anger and make you understand us more.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    339
    88
    33
    11
See reviews for
180
578
29
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Phu Petra was just what we needed at the beginning of our Thailand break. It is out of the way and peaceful allowing us to relax.

Don't be put off by the distance from the beach and shops, There are hourly shuttle buses to the town and a tuk tuk is only 100 bht (£2) to get back if you miss a bus or are out later than the bus runs.

The food at Phu Petra is fine but not the best in Ao Nang. Breakfast was good but we ate most other meals in town.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank padi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear our beloved guests:

We are so please to serve both of you as our beloved guests at our home, Aonang Phu Petra Resort. Your peace, privacy and refreshment at our property is our top priority. We are glad to note that your everyday stay with us is a memorable one.

We value your trust and we will do our best to meet your service expectations whenever you come back to Aonang Phu Petra Resort, which we look forward to.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived I knew we'd made the right choice in picking Phu Petra for our accommodation. The staff were so kind and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. We were lucky enough to arrive on the King's Birthday and felt so privileged to be included in the celebrations with the whole Phu Petra team.

The location is stunning. We were a bit apprehensive about picking a resort a little further away from the beach in Ao Nang. However, I'm so glad we did. It was so peaceful compared to the location of some of the other resorts. The shuttle service was reliable and regular so we never felt like we were waiting around to get down to the beach. We walked back from the beach a couple of times too and it's probably about a 25 minute walk. Even if you do miss the last shuttle home (after a few cocktails haha) it's not very expensive to get a tuk tuk back to the resort.

The room was wonderful and extremely clean. The whole resort is really well looked after. From what we saw, the pool is meticulously cleaned every morning.

Overall we couldn't be happier with our stay. A very big thanks to the whole Phu Petra team for making our holiday so special. We will definitely be back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear our beloved guests:

It has been a pleasure to take care both of you. We are overjoyed to receive your appreciation message. Your happiness, privacy and relaxation at Aonang Phu Petra Resort is our job. Thank you very much for leaving us a wonderful review and the best high scores.

We appreciate your trust, and we will do our best to continue to give you the kind of service you deserve, we promise.

Please make your many returns here whenever you come to visit Krabi.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Great resort with friendly, smiley staff, excellent service from the moment we checked in until we regretfully had to leave. Booked as the higher-tempo destination as part of a (really cool) island hop with Andaman Adventures (great service from them too, many thank for putting together the best family holiday we’ve ever had). The kids were kept busy with daytrips almost every day, all of which I went on too (my wife skived off a couple and lounged by the pool instead). The resort has well-maintained and clean gardens and benefits from superb mountain views.

Cool pool with no shortage of loungers and never too many people in it, which was a plus, especially compared to the manic packed-out resorts down the beachfront, we were very happy to be away from all that bedlam. The Phu Petra, in contrast, is a quiet oasis of calm and tranquility, with the villas dotted rather than crammed into the landscape. You’re not supposed to use the pool after seven, a rule my son decided to ignore on several occasions, but thankfully he didn’t get caught. The resort lays on a regular free shuttle service down to the beach, meaning there is really no point in staying down there and paying higher prices for way less space. The rooms are huge and we enjoyed having a living room in addition to the 2 bedrooms, so the kids could gawp at DVDs while we read books in peace and quiet.

All in all a good hotel, the breakfast wasn’t the best we had, but I don’t want to end of a bad note, we didn’t come to Thailand to eat fancy breakfasts. The coffee was fresh and the bread was brown, which is good enough for me, although I had noticed before booking that some people moaned on this website about the breakfasts. My advice is forget that, unless you are a massive eater who has to have gourmet food 3 times a day.

Room Tip: book with andaman sky as the first stop in thailand before going on an island hop
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judeedee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear our beloved guests:

We wanted personally to let you know how gratifying it is to receive your kind note of compliment.
We have taken the liberty of sharing your kind words with the other members of our team. Your words were visibly heartening to them. They, as much as we, deeply appreciate your every word of praise. We work hard to deliver the best services to our guests as they deserve the very best. All exhaustions are vanish just that we have noted for what we do make you happy until the date of departure.

For your observation on breakfast, please believe that we are adjusting the buffet line to meet all expectation. Thank you very much for this kind remark.

Thank you again for your trust you put on us. We hope your family will give us many returns whenever you come to visit Krabi. Please be assured of receiving the same standard of property and warmest services and welcoming staff.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

we really enjoyed excellent and relaxing stay at this resort. Though the location is little far from the AoNang beach, resort do provide hourly free service to a nearest McDonalds. You will have to walk 500m from there to reach to the beach. Food and service areexcellent. You may have some issues with English as all staff are not good at it but somebody will definitely help.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pushkar_moghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear our beloved guests:

We appreciate your positive review and feel so delighted to hear that you had an excellent and relaxing stay at Aoang Phu Petra Resort. We are so sorry, however, for some of our staff's English weakness bothered you and made it rough in commutation. Those are new comers which we have hired for a month. Please believe that we are giving them a training session and on the job training and look forward to their improvent in English conversing this soonest. You can definitely ask to see Assistant FO Manager in case you find it slow in communication with those newcomers. Just a minute, she will come to assist. Thank you.

Thank you again for choosing us and thank you for your very useful remark that we always take it as very value piece of comment for us keep it up to our standard.

Please make many returns at Aonang Phu Petra Resort whenever you come to visit Krabi.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We had been staying in Ko Lanta for a week in a beach bungalow resort, and this was a definite upgrade. We had an early flight out of Krabi so we left Ko Lanta the day before because of the drive and the ferry rides. Very happy with our choice of Phu Petra. Ao Nang overall is pretty developed and touristy, and Phu Petra is removed from the neon-hectic vibe of the main drag, but still very close. Lovely pool as you can see from the other pics. Room was spacious and high ceilinged and bathroom was killer with nice big shower and tub. Took the hotel shuttle in to town for a long tail ride over to Railay beach for the afternoon of swimming and tanning. Got a final massage in Thailand that was more expensive than others i had paid for in Ko Lanta, but the Masseuse came to the hotel and the Swedish massage was very good. The "spa" area is just a screened off area with a few massage beds around the corner from the reception area and pool, so not very private, but very little noise from the area, so was still very relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear our beloved guests:

We want personally to let you know how gratifying it was to receive your kind note. We love to hear that you were impressive and relaxing staying at Aonang Phu Petra Resort.

We really appreciate the top score you have given to us. This is priceless award of doing all the very best jobs to our guests.

We have taken the liberty of sharing your kind comments with the other members.

Again, please accept our sincere thank you. We look forward to your returns.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The hotel is clean and tidy but lacks the Thai hospitality we found elsewhere in Thailand...also the staff really do have issues with the towels! They do a towel count when you leave and have a couple of towel police on patrol around the pool area. Responsibly priced three star hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear our beloved guests:

First of all, let us say thank you for your praise on our cleanliness and tidiness. For what you pointed out in other areas, we sorry to fail to deliver the best service to you in your expectation. The words of lacking the Thai hospitality you found elsewhere in Thailand" confuse us because thta is the topmost thing to make us known for others; that is the Best Thai Hospitality Resort. With your only one sentence and no declaration what made you thought we lack of Thai hospitality is a bit hard for us to explain. Due to that we have no idea what kind of situation you encountered. However, we must express our sincerest sorry we can not make you happy with your stay at our property. You also mentioned of towels issue. We assume you meant a towels used at a pool. Sorry to leave only two towel on patrol. The possibility was that our staff were filling more of them and it was just the right time you came to get the towels and saw only two of them. In this case, you can always ask for more with our staff. Sorry for this inconvenience caused to you and please to be noted that we have changed the way to provide the towel to make it much more easier for our services to all of the guests. You also mentioned about we did a towel counted when you left. We are not so sure what you mean by this thing. If you mean when you check out. Of course we do that when we check minibar; this included the towels checked. This is very normal for any other hotels in Aonang area. Please not to think that we have bad attitude with our guests or think that our guests will steal it. We honor and always trust in our guests's dignity. But it's Resort' operation process. We can not make everything free of charges, even we are 4star hotel but our room rate is very attractive without including all the things in room if broke or lost. We need your kind understanding in a matter.

Again, please accept our deepest apology of failing to deliver the very best hospitality to you this time. Hope that we are still your choice whenever you come to visit Aonag, Krabi.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
0.9 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.8 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
1.3 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi

Property: Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Address: 521 Soi 11 Moo 2 Tumbol Aonang | Ampur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#4 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Krabi, Aonang Phu Petra Resort is set amidst mountains in stunning natural surroundings. The resort features spacious villas and suites located by the swimming pool or hill. Guests can enjoy swimming in the outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, offers beach and airport transfers. Krabi Airport is a 30-minute drive away while Aonang Beach is 10 minutes away by car. Modern rooms feature classic dark wood furnishings and spacious balconies. Each has a cable/satellite TV, DVD player and coffee-making facilities. Bathrobes, slippers and a hairdryer are provided. Massage services are offered at the resort and a library corner allows for quiet reading. Other facilities include a tour desk and children*s playground. Motorbikes can be rented for convenience. Sila Petra Restaurant serves local and international dishes. Enjoy mountain and pool views while sipping cocktails at Phu Anda Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing