We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Ranked #3 of 106 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

we really enjoyed excellent and relaxing stay at this resort. Though the location is little far from the AoNang beach, resort do provide hourly free service to a nearest McDonalds. You will have to walk 500m from there to reach to the beach. Food and service areexcellent. You may have some issues with English as all staff are not good at it but somebody will definitely help.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pushkar_moghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear our beloved guests:

We appreciate your positive review and feel so delighted to hear that you had an excellent and relaxing stay at Aoang Phu Petra Resort. We are so sorry, however, for some of our staff's English weakness bothered you and made it rough in commutation. Those are new comers which we have hired for a month. Please believe that we are giving them a training session and on the job training and look forward to their improvent in English conversing this soonest. You can definitely ask to see Assistant FO Manager in case you find it slow in communication with those newcomers. Just a minute, she will come to assist. Thank you.

Thank you again for choosing us and thank you for your very useful remark that we always take it as very value piece of comment for us keep it up to our standard.

Please make many returns at Aonang Phu Petra Resort whenever you come to visit Krabi.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    333
    86
    33
    11
See reviews for
179
569
29
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We had been staying in Ko Lanta for a week in a beach bungalow resort, and this was a definite upgrade. We had an early flight out of Krabi so we left Ko Lanta the day before because of the drive and the ferry rides. Very happy with our choice of Phu Petra. Ao Nang overall is pretty developed and touristy, and Phu Petra is removed from the neon-hectic vibe of the main drag, but still very close. Lovely pool as you can see from the other pics. Room was spacious and high ceilinged and bathroom was killer with nice big shower and tub. Took the hotel shuttle in to town for a long tail ride over to Railay beach for the afternoon of swimming and tanning. Got a final massage in Thailand that was more expensive than others i had paid for in Ko Lanta, but the Masseuse came to the hotel and the Swedish massage was very good. The "spa" area is just a screened off area with a few massage beds around the corner from the reception area and pool, so not very private, but very little noise from the area, so was still very relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear our beloved guests:

We want personally to let you know how gratifying it was to receive your kind note. We love to hear that you were impressive and relaxing staying at Aonang Phu Petra Resort.

We really appreciate the top score you have given to us. This is priceless award of doing all the very best jobs to our guests.

We have taken the liberty of sharing your kind comments with the other members.

Again, please accept our sincere thank you. We look forward to your returns.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

The hotel is clean and tidy but lacks the Thai hospitality we found elsewhere in Thailand...also the staff really do have issues with the towels! They do a towel count when you leave and have a couple of towel police on patrol around the pool area. Responsibly priced three star hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear our beloved guests:

First of all, let us say thank you for your praise on our cleanliness and tidiness. For what you pointed out in other areas, we sorry to fail to deliver the best service to you in your expectation. The words of lacking the Thai hospitality you found elsewhere in Thailand" confuse us because thta is the topmost thing to make us known for others; that is the Best Thai Hospitality Resort. With your only one sentence and no declaration what made you thought we lack of Thai hospitality is a bit hard for us to explain. Due to that we have no idea what kind of situation you encountered. However, we must express our sincerest sorry we can not make you happy with your stay at our property. You also mentioned of towels issue. We assume you meant a towels used at a pool. Sorry to leave only two towel on patrol. The possibility was that our staff were filling more of them and it was just the right time you came to get the towels and saw only two of them. In this case, you can always ask for more with our staff. Sorry for this inconvenience caused to you and please to be noted that we have changed the way to provide the towel to make it much more easier for our services to all of the guests. You also mentioned about we did a towel counted when you left. We are not so sure what you mean by this thing. If you mean when you check out. Of course we do that when we check minibar; this included the towels checked. This is very normal for any other hotels in Aonang area. Please not to think that we have bad attitude with our guests or think that our guests will steal it. We honor and always trust in our guests's dignity. But it's Resort' operation process. We can not make everything free of charges, even we are 4star hotel but our room rate is very attractive without including all the things in room if broke or lost. We need your kind understanding in a matter.

Again, please accept our deepest apology of failing to deliver the very best hospitality to you this time. Hope that we are still your choice whenever you come to visit Aonag, Krabi.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kagoshima, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed at the hotel in Sep.. I really loved the place!!!

:Bad things:
*The location is little far from the downtown. but They have a free shuttle bus so You can take it or take a tuktuk or cab..(It takes about 10mins to the main street by walk)
* There is no stores around the hotel. so You better buy something you need before heading / heading back to the hotel..

:Good ones:
* People who works there are very friendly!! I could see They tried to make guests feel comfortable...
* The food there were fantastic!!! You should try :)
* It is a very quiet place and If you would like to stay somewhere being a nature and a quiet place, I would totally recommend you stay there :) You will love it for sure
*Room was clean esp bathroom!!

I would stay @ this place again when I go back to Krabi :)

You are searching about hotels in Krabi, It means You would probably go there or making a plan to go there.. You will love Krabi for sure.. Enjoy your trip!! Cheers :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiroko1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear our beloved guests:

We are truly grateful for choosing us as your best relaxing stay. Thanks for listing many good things. For your opinion of no proximate convenience store to the resort and distance of the resort to the beach. For first observation, we actually have necessary daily stuff and souvenirs selling at our mini shop. For the second one, as you noted, we have free shuttle bus available free of charge drive to the centre of Aonang Nang every hour, takes only 5 minutes. We are far enough from hustle-bustle but closed enough to the beach.

All in all, it has been a sincere pleasure serving you and hope to do it again when you, as our most value customer, return.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

I can't speak any higher of the Phu Petra, we knew we were in for a nice experience before we even got to the hotel as our taxi driver Polo spoke very highly of the resort.

Our expectations were met and vastly exceeded. The hotel staff were lovely, the head chef Sema went above and beyond to talk to us about the local food and offered us a class in Thai Cooking. Our faces hurt from smiling so much at our time at Phu Petra.

The room was the nicest suite my partner and I had ever stayed in. Very romantic, HUGE bed, amazing modern bathroom, comfortable. The pool is also beautiful. And the massages the hotel offers are incredible.

If there is any feedback I could give about Phu Petra is that children might not find it as exciting as adults will. In saying that the hotel staff genuinely care a lot, there were 2 lots of family's staying there at the same time as us (Nov 29-Dec 4th) and the hotel actually got pool toys to entertain the children.

Our stay at Phu Petra is something we will remember forever as it was so nice I decided to propose to my partner during our stay here :)

Matt

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewTollenaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear our beloved guests:

We want personally to let you know how gratifying it was to receive your kind expression of admiring to our property and services. We are glad to know that your expectation have been fulfilled and what we do is a beyond step for you.

We have taken the liberty of sharing your kind words with the other members, especially Khun Sema, in our team. We appreciate your trust and promise to continue delivering the very best things to you and all other guests.

For your other impressions in our room including bed and bathroom, the pool and the massage, we are very happy to hear that.

And as you mentioned that you found 2 families with children stayed at the same time of yours. Yes, most of our beloved guests are honeymooner and family due to that they discover this place is the most romantic and safe to stay in which they can take fullest relaxation and enjoy their privacy.

...and Congratulation for that Aonang Phu Petra Resort is the place you found it was suitable to propose your partner. (We have many couples propose their girlfriend at our property and the answer is always "yes"^^) We all wish you two will become a new family this soon.^^

Thank you very much for remembering us in your heart forever. We too, will remember you in our heart endlessly.

We hope to give the warmest Thai welcoming with your newly family again this soonest. Look forward to that days to come.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had booked hillside villa, lovely view and very quiet unfortunately the rooms smelt of damp and in need of an overhaul, the cushions and sofa was stained, bedding was of a good standard, blinds /curtains were mouldy, dressing gowns were damp. We complained the next day about standard of rooms and also phoned Agoda with our issues and requested a refund.
Agoda phoned the hotel, we could not have a full refund but we could either stay in these rooms with a refund of two nights ( we would not have stayed in these rooms as booked for 7 nights) or be upgraded to pool view suite room but not until the next day. The new rooms were of a much better standard and had been recently updated. They are large rooms and large balcony and we were happy with new rooms. We also complained about the cushions on the sun loungers which were in a disgusting state, some were ripped and where they had been rained on were black and mouldy, we did see staff cleaning them off so hotel did take note of our complaint, also umbrellas were mouldy, the whole lot could do with throwing out and starting again. The hotel provided a complimentary meal for us which was lovely. There is a shuttle bus into Aonang every hour, usually driven by the ever smiling bellboy, didn't get his name but he was always always smiling. Overall the hotel needs to get on top of the maintenance of the rooms as the setting is lovely and very quiet. Staff were polite and helpful and made us welcome, but would not go back

Room Tip: Go for pool view suite rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gasan2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear our beloved guests:

First of all, let us say thank you for your praise on our staff's friendliness (esp., for our Bell Boy's smiling face) and their supporting. For your complaints mainly in respect to our villa, please do accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced.

With your scrupulous observing and seriousness of cleanliness perfection, we took note and immediately made it into action.

At Aonang Phu Petra Resort, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations in the matter you mentioned. Upon thorough review of the situation, we narrowed the cause to recent in-room rechecking for a matter of renovation necessity.

As a testament to our strive for perfection, we have taken steps to ensure that this will never happen again by repeatedly do in-room inspection as planned.

We are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best.

Hope that with our effort to fix the situations with our serious attention and concern to you will make you change your mind in coming back.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Me and my friends stayed in the hotel for 2 nights and trust me it wasn't a good one.... we reached the hotel at 14.20 and we were told that the room will take some time to be ready for check in (even after check-in time being 14.00) no worries... we ignored the problem... finally we were given a room at 16.00.... we enter the room and realize that the lock of the toilet was broken... safe not working.... the lock to the main door broken.... brilliant... this was the last thing we wanted... we informed the reception about the same and they fixed all these issues in 30 mins... after some time the AC unit in the room started showering water...... when this issue came up we lost patience and requested the front office manager to change our room.... to add to the problem she told us the the hotel was full and also suggested us to change the hotel if we don't wish to stay in that room..... what an ridicules attitude....

except the location there is nothing good in the hotel... I strongly suggest to avoid this hotel... there are many other good hotels in that area....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ynp_8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear our beloved guests:

It is with great concern and regret we received your response outlining the problem you had with our room and services.

First and foremost, on behalf of management team and all staff, we would like to personally apologize for your inconvenience. We accept full responsibility for the mistake of room and we assure you we are taking the necessary steps to prevent it from happening in the future. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

However, the fact of our services and a situation given was not exactly as you explained. Some facts were really opposite and being bias. Sorry to say that but we think it's a bit unfair for us as hard working people to accept something not a true story. Honestly, if it's mistake' it's so easy for us to accept, fix it and prevent it not to make it happen again. But, if it's not the case or some kinds of misunderstanding issues, we need a room to explain.

You were correct that check-in time is 14.00 pm. Normally if the room was assigned to our guests finished earlier, we will let our guests enter their room before the stated time. We accepted the delay made you waited but we assured not later than 30 minutes at maximum and we accepted the second mistake that even letted you waited for 30 minutes, the room still provided annoying problems as you mentioned upon you arrived the room, made you waited in room another 30 minutes (altogether of 4 problems you reported). Thus, you were not given a room at 16.00 pm. You were given a room much before that said time (It became our big mistake because we will not give an unperfected room to our guests. Sorry for this matter for that our Housekeeper Supervisor missed to re-inspect the room as that day rooms were almost fully booked and so much traffics for checking-in and out. We already addressed the problem with Housekeeping Team with preventive plan.) The reason made you said you could enter the room at 16.00 pm. because you took longer times to bargain with us in front of your room made it end closed to 16.00 pm. You felt unsatisfied and wanted to stay free for one night. That was what you asked for even all issues in room are solved perfectly at the end. You insisted to ask for what we could not give. Even we offered you Thai Set Dinner or earlier offered to move to Hillside Villa, you denied to accept it. Whatever we offered, you seemed not to say yes except one free night. And you are the one who mentioned first that if we did not give you a free night stay, you would move out. (We did not suggested you first to move the hotel and we did not mentioned for fully booked. It's almost fully book and that was only one Hill-Side Villa left) As consulted, we thought you felt really unhappy with what we tried to solve or did it the best for you, we, at the end, respected your decision and decided to let you left our property without any charges. At to this point you mentioned that how could you find another hotel at this time. Thus, we were so confused what you wanted us to do, we then talked to you agent about the case happened and let you conversed with your agent. It finally came to an end that you mentioned that you would stay with complimentary massage offered to all of you.

Thus, what you said we had a "ridiculous attitude" seemed to be very severe accusation. Please believe that we did it to the very best but it was so hard in your case as you ignored every offers we gave. We accepted the parts of our mistakes but we asked your kind understanding for what we already offered every solution to satisfy you.

We value our customers and ask you to please understand our working steps. We were human who could make a mistake but please believe we are eager to solve and have never denied our responsibility. However, it doesn't mean that once mistake happen, we can do whatsoever beyond the limit of our decision. It's our deepest and sincerest apology for this time, we failed to deliver the best services in your opinion.

We look forward to continuing serving you as a valued customer should we still have that chance.

Thank you for your valuable support.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
0.9 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.8 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
1.4 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#17 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi

Property: Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Address: 521 Soi 11 Moo 2 Tumbol Aonang | Ampur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#4 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Krabi, Aonang Phu Petra Resort is set amidst mountains in stunning natural surroundings. The resort features spacious villas and suites located by the swimming pool or hill. Guests can enjoy swimming in the outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, offers beach and airport transfers. Krabi Airport is a 30-minute drive away while Aonang Beach is 10 minutes away by car. Modern rooms feature classic dark wood furnishings and spacious balconies. Each has a cable/satellite TV, DVD player and coffee-making facilities. Bathrobes, slippers and a hairdryer are provided. Massage services are offered at the resort and a library corner allows for quiet reading. Other facilities include a tour desk and children*s playground. Motorbikes can be rented for convenience. Sila Petra Restaurant serves local and international dishes. Enjoy mountain and pool views while sipping cocktails at Phu Anda Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing