We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Ranked #2 of 99 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Is a nice resort. Very quiet so it's not for the party crowd.

It's not close in town but it's about a15 to 20 minute walk which we did often. There's also a shuttle coming and going into town often.


Being further off the main drag means you have to travel to restaurants but it places you in a tranquil jungle setting that's beautiful.

The pool is picturesque and i swam laps in it no problem so the earlier comment about it being small is odd.

The rooms are large and the bathroom is luxurious. It's a great deal. Breakfast is serviceable but we only ate there twice in 10 days.

I highly recommend it. Oh of its raining (like it was for us for 4 days) don't overlook that you can request a DVD player at the desk and they have a selection of films. .. all included free.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear our beloved guests:

We truly appreciate your review. Thank you for loving everything about us, especially for our location, room+bathroom and pool. We are so glad to know that you enjoyed the whole 10 day- stay with us. Thank you really for your recommendation on us to others. It's our honor to receive such confidence.

Please make your many returns at Aonang Phu Petra Resort. We look forward to serving you again this soonest.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    304
    77
    28
    9
See reviews for
160
522
24
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I had the pleasure of staying here for 10 nights (our last night as I write this :( ) It has been a special holiday for us and Phu Petra has been just perfect. Set in a peaceful setting away from the hussle and bussle of the main street and beach. It is a bit far from the beach but the shuttle takes you closer and is nice to walk down past the shops and restaurants to the aonang beach.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and have made our stay very special. We would like to thank them for their hospitality.

We would definitely stay here again and this is highly recommended for couples looking for a nice and quiet place to relax and enjoy beautiful Krabi, Thailand.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear our valued guests:

We are pleased to note that you truly enjoy your honeymoon vacation at Aonang Phu Petra Resort. We feel honored to be your chosen accommodation.

Your praise on our staff will be passed on to those concerned and it's our pleasure to know that you love everything about us especially the setting and its serenity. We promise to continue to do very best to meet your needs.

Thanks for saying that you will return. We eager to serve you again whenever you come here next time. Your continued patronage is a vital part of our growth. And for that, we are most grateful.

Thanks again! We look forward to serving you for many years to come.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Room is big and clean. Bed is a little on the hard side. Aircon seemed to go on and off in the middle of the night. Lovely bathroom, huge and spacious, no toothbrush though. Nice pool, nice view, not too many people. Restaurant food quite good and reasonably priced, cheaper than the touristy restaurants outside. Far from main area, not quite walkable. There's hourly shuttle out but coming back in is limited so must plan time well or pay for transport back. Maybe it's low season, or maybe it's the crowd it attracts, no loud tourists or family with screaming kids, making it a really peaceful. relaxing and tranquil hotel. Hope it stays this way the next time we're back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zia_vene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear our valued guests:

It has been a pleasure taking care of you during your stay with us. Thanks for loving our resort, especially for our room, bathroom, restaurant, a pool and a tranquility of our place.

We, in addition, value your opinion and would like to address your concerns as quickly as possible. For a tough bed, you can ask for a mattress with our Guest Service Agent to put over on top on your bed. Another issue on air con. go on and off in middle of the night, our engineer is ready to help. Please dial "0" to get any assistances you need..and yes, toothbrushes are not set in room but can ask for by dialling "0" and FYI that the toothbrushes are available at out Mini Shop. All in all, Please believe that we will do the best to make your stay a comfortable one.

We appreciate your trust, and we will do our best to continue to give you the kind of service you deserve for the next time you will come back.

Thank you and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was a very nice resort. Clean, nice staff, good breakfast, large attractive rooms. FAB pool. Definitely not walking to beach, but can walk from hotel shuttle drop off. Ao Nang is not a very interesting town at all, but this hotel was a great place to stay. However, dinner at hotel restaurant was bland and overpriced. Eat at the Esan restaurant across and a bit closer to the beach from the McDonalds. Breakfast was good however.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhoenixLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear our valued guests:

We are so pleased to know that you love our resort, especially our rooms, breakfast and pool. For your observation on our F&B's price, please to be noted that it is a competitive price with other hotels/resorts's of the same category. Your opinion is what we are eager to listen. Thank you for leaving this comment for us.

Thank you again, for your honest feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Pros-Huge room, love the bath, the scent is a bit too strong after burning for a while, so just blow if off.
Cons-limited breakfast selection, small pool, location a bit far to walk out to town (hence we had to wait for the shuttle bus provided by hotel-depart from hotel almost every hour but returning to hotel about 2hrs gap)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear our beloved guests:

We sincerely appreciate your kind review. We are happy to hear that you love our spacious room, our bathtub and the scent of lemongrass in room. Sorry for the scent to be too strong. We will soften it to make it alleviated. In addition, thanks for your candor about your comment on breakfast, pool and our location. For the breakfast, we did improve it to make it more variety and will keep an eyes on it while listening to our guests' feedback and make it a following up scheme. For a pool, we are a small 25-villa boutique resort so our pool is might fairly suit for the numbers of our guests. We are sorry that a pool might not as big as you imagined. For your review on our location, we stress on privacy, relaxing, safety place with the best services delivery that you might hardly find a place like us on the beach. Our shuttle bus however leaves free of charge every hour (there are 5 trips for returning to the resort) and take not more than 5 minutes by our shuttle bus to the beach or centre of Aonang.

Thanks again for your review. We always listen and welcome any feedbacks. Those are the rewards to us to continue doing a good jobs for our beloved guests.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here Christmas Day 2012! It's a very quiet and secluded hotel, tucked away in the mountains but only minutes from Krabi town on a tuktuk! It was arefeshing stay after a busy few days in Phuket. The hotel was warm and welcoming and the rooms were amazing! They were so clean and fresh, it was really relaxing! The rooms were HUGE too! We ordered room service a few times, the food was delicious and the waiters were very friendly! The resort was very quiet but that didn't put us off as we were there to relax!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victorialou44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear our beloved guests:

We want personally to let you know how gratifying it was to receive your kind support,especially please to read your kind words about us. It has been really good to know that you felt warmest welcome and you love our relaxing place, our food and our staff. We are please to welcome you back here to celebrate together the X'Mas 2013. It should be a very wonderful and memorable moment to have you with us on this special occasion in year 2013 too. Hope this will come true.

We look forward really to your return this X'Mas 2013. See you.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel itself was really nice, great pool and view of the mountains. Rooms were large with a nice bathroom and amazing big bath! However, the air con was so loud to the point we could not have it on resulting in the room being very hot. The bed was also very hard contributing to poor sleep quality. Staff where all lovely and very friendly! Location was fairly far out from centre if you walked but the hotel runs a free shuttle service every hour and only takes about 5mins.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Little_miss_ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear our beloved guest:

Please accept our thankfulness on your loving us on property (a pool, a view and our spacious room) and for your praise on our friendly staff. We are glad to know that you are happy for all our facilities and services delivery to you. Please, however, accept our apology for making your stay a bit annoying with uncomfortable bed and a nosied given from AC. For tough bed, you can ask our GSA at Front Desk for a mattress covered on top. For a noise you heard from AC, please let us know in which it takes not more than half an hour to fix it. FYI: It's somehow possible that it generates a normal noise (in Thailand), but there are numbers of our guests who are sensitive to such noise. In this case, we sometimes try our best but the best we can do might still be called "loud" for our beloved guests. Please, however, believe that we will do as best as we can to give the best sleep quality for our dearest guests.

All in all thank you really and again sorry for any inconveniences caused during your stay. It has been our honest for you to give us your second trust to come back.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 99 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 stars 1,062 reviews
0.9 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
1.4 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#14 of 99 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 stars 917 reviews
7.4 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,935 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi

Property: Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Address: 521 Soi 11 Moo 2 Tumbol Aonang | Ampur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#4 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Krabi, Aonang Phu Petra Resort is set amidst mountains in stunning natural surroundings. The resort features spacious villas and suites located by the swimming pool or hill. Guests can enjoy swimming in the outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, offers beach and airport transfers. Krabi Airport is a 30-minute drive away while Aonang Beach is 10 minutes away by car. Modern rooms feature classic dark wood furnishings and spacious balconies. Each has a cable/satellite TV, DVD player and coffee-making facilities. Bathrobes, slippers and a hairdryer are provided. Massage services are offered at the resort and a library corner allows for quiet reading. Other facilities include a tour desk and children*s playground. Motorbikes can be rented for convenience. Sila Petra Restaurant serves local and international dishes. Enjoy mountain and pool views while sipping cocktails at Phu Anda Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing