We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Ranked #3 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Loved this resort!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We arrived at 10.30am which was way before the check-in time. However, we were warmly greeted by the receptionist and had a cold drink upon our arrival. While waiting for our rooms to be prepared, we chilled by the swimming pool - very relaxing!

We were escorted to our villa and it was huge! The bathroom was beautiful too!

Even though it is a fair distance to walk to Aonang beach, the resort provides free shuttle services every hour-less than a 5 minute drive. Everyone at the resort were friendly and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Will definitely return to Phu Petra if we visit Krabi again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear our beloved guests:

Thank you very much for telling us how much you have enjoyed spending time at Aonang Phu Petra Resort. We are so pleased to know that it brightened your days.

Thank you for your praise on our staff's friendliness and willingness to help. We have taken the liberty of sharing your kind words with the our members. Your words were visibly heartening to them. They, as much as us, deeply appreciate your generous words.

Thank you for saying that you will come back and thanks again for your kind comments.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    342
    89
    35
    11
See reviews for
187
586
31
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Bought a Groupon deal for 3 nights which includes breakfast and a dinner. We came across several bad reviews about using the Groupon voucher so we made sure all emails communicated back and fourth with the management is kept and printed out just in case! Everything went smoothly upon arrival till check out, thank goodness! The staff were very helpful and hospitable, assisting us throughout our stay.

We got the hillside villa, it's clean and nicely decorated upon arrival. There are no issues with ants or odor. However, there were 2 minor issues. Firstly, after an hour or so after check-in, we realized that the toilet couldn't flush properly. Informed the staff at the reception and it was fixed quickly. The second issue being electricity tripped out. I was using the hair dryer provided by the hotel and halfway through, the electricity tripped out causing the aircond and toilet lights to go off. The staff got it sorted out quite immediate and power came back after several minutes.

The hotel is located several minutes from Aonang town but fret not! There is a shuttle to the town every hour but shuttle timing back to the hotel is quite limited. The breakfast provided by the hotel is okay but would be better if it's not so repetitive.

Overall, nice hotel with beautiful cliff view which is tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the town!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mellie2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear our beloved guests:

Thank you for being our valued customers. We are grateful for the pleasure of serving you and meeting your needs and expectation in many areas. Yet, sorry for some inconvenient situations, as flushing problem, tripping out electricity, happened during your stay as you mentioned. Thank you for understanding our working process. We will always be ready to help, support and fix for unanticipated circumstances in a timely manner as standardised by our resort's SOP.

And very much thank you for your suggestion on our breakfast to be not so repetitive. Please to be noted that we added more menu to make buffet line much more variety and not so boring by now. Your every comment always help us to be better. Thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back here again this soonest.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for three nights, my wife and myself, both of us celebrating 40 years. The Pool side villas were just amazing. Excellent staff, huge room size within the villa - the best part was the Four Poster Bed. Truly Classic. Small swimming pool though, however excellent views of the hill side as well as the pool. It was an overwhelming experience for us. The property is located just ten minutes away from the main Aonang Beach area and the best part was the free shuttle service provided by the resort. We got best of Both The Worlds, Enjoying the beach at Aonang as well as the Privacy and the Super lush green environment at the resort. A must for all couples wishing to spend quality time together. The massage at the resort was truly mind blowing.
The only regret being that We being pure vegeterians , Breakfast was limited for us since most of the stuff served was non veg. However the very next day they provided us with baked beans which was nice on their part. Could add more veg items for breakfast.
Free wifi was good. On the whole a fantastic experience. Thanks to all the staff and God Bless

Mohan Dhupelia
Kolkata
India.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear our beloved guests:

Our geatitudes toward your praise on everything about us. Your fantastic stay in here is what we expected. Thank you very much for loving us.

Also thank you for your suggestion on additive vegetable menu. For our vegetarian guests, we are pleased to note their notice regarding a matter prior to the checking in date or at least the date of arrival for their own convenience. Thank you.

We look forward to the very best opportunity to serve you again in this nearest future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here for a week in August and enjoyed our stay in the hotel, its location is far enough away from the hussle and bussle but not so far as to be inconvenient. Couple of drawbacks, the main one being the bed was so hard I had trouble sleeping on it, to the point I looked at availability at other hotels and forfetting our payment here - im sure the hotel would say this is a personal opinion but I spoke to other guests who were of the same opinion and at 46 I have slept in quite a few hotel beds before and these were the firmest beds by far I have come accoss, after trying to explain to reception an additional thin comforter was placed on the mattress to little effect and was told that all mattresses are the same through the resort so there was no point in upgrading or changing rooms, in the end I purchased a thick quilt and doubled it over on top of the mattress and slept on that which made it comfortable enough to get through the week, the other was that the service for drinks, food, etc was a little slow but as the staff were were always helpful, polite and happy this did not really detract from our stay at the hotel. Unfortunately, I would not recommend this hotel for the only reason that the beds are so damn uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear our beloved guests:

We are delighted to receive your review and are especially pleased to know that you had a joyful stay with us. Our apology for two drawbacks you mentioned made your stay not fully a pleasant one, a hard bed and a slow restaurant service. Thanks for the second remark that could be compensated with our staff's good service. Your observation on a delay service will be taken as an issue in our meeting on this coming Monday. For a bed, we have numbers of guests feel a great sleep with our bed and some of our guests love to sleep on softer one. They feel our bed is too hard as you did. Mattress helps but not fully support to make it super soft. We are sorry for this matter destroy your nights which should be nicer sleeps.

Again sorry for our bed made your sleep quality is unsatisfactory. Our appreciation should our other plus sides can substitute with a negative feeling on a bed. In that case, we hope we still be one of your choice in your heart to return.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here whilst hopping about the Andaman Coast, before and after visiting the Railay Peninsula.

The rooms are a good size and clean and comfortable. The pool area is nice with a good backdrop of the cliffs.

It is located a little bit out of Ao Nang and is too far to walk but there is a shuttle into town (3/4 minutes) and it is easy to get a Tuk Tuk back which is 100baht. We stayed here because we knew we were going to be doing some excursions and not stay around Ao Nang or its beach in the day (there are far nicer beaches away from this area if that's what you are after).

Overall good for our purposes and would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milnthorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear our beloved guests:

It's our pleasure to know that you were very happy staying with us. Thank you to love our pool, view and room. And it's good to hear that you will be very happy to return back here.

We all look forward to serving you again in this soonest.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patong, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very relaxing hotel with large rooms and a large bathroom... very clean and staff very helpful. swimming pool with amazing views of the mountain. only draw back was internet speed was not the best , which being in ao nang for part business and part pleasure was a bit of a pain. overall ver y good

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear our beloved guests:

It has been our pleasure to serve you. Thank you for loving our room, bathroom and pool. Especially thank you for your praise on our staff's attentive services. For your remark on wifi's weakness, sorry for this inconvenience caused to you. We will recheck again of what made it slow down. Some unanticipated factors happens sometimes in which we need to find the reason of it. (FYI: we actually did fix the speediness of it already, since we received the feedback from our previous guests. As investigation, the wifi came to work normally and stronger almost a month.) Thank you for your notice that we will keep following up closely. And again sorry for this matter caused some discomforts to you.

Not to say about wifi, Thank you that you love it all about us.

We look forward to serving you again in this nearest future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I was there frm the 21-24th of aug to celebrate my fiancé's birthday. I booked it as it was rated the no 1 most romantic hotel in krabi. Indeed it was. When I arrived, the check in process was very slow but it was kind of worth the wait as the rooms were amazing. We had the room which was close to the pool. They had decorated the bed with flowers n towel towel decorations. The room was spacious, there was a huge comfy bed and my favorite was the toilet! Huge toilet, huge bathtub, exactly what u see in the pictures! We loved it!!!

I have to complain about this, the service was bad. I asked them to arrange diner for two by the pool as it was a birthday celebration. The staff said it was possible and when asked about the price, she told me it was 300 thb. I assumed it was for both but it was for one person which I found it stupid as clearly I asked for both and also I was charged 350 thb per person instead as the staff who told us the price wasn't there. Very inconsistent. With the price I paid, I cld have had diner by the beach with better food. If only the staff were clearer. It ruined my mood for the night.

We rented a scooter at the hotel which cost 300 thb for the entire day. The scooter couldn't start when they handed it so we had to wait for a half hour before someone came to change it and he initially did not allow us to return the scooter a half hour later but I argued as it was clearly their fault.

On the last day it was a nightmare! The staff accused us of stealing one of their bathrobes!!! It was one hour and fifty minutes till my departure and I still at my hotel being accused of stealing a bathrobe n to make things worst, the staff had no initiative to rush! I screamed saying that they had my card details n to charge if they really really can't find it. I wasn't going to miss my flight for a bathrobe.

So yea it was indeed a beautiful hotel I don't deny that, the view of the cliffs were spectacular it was just a waste. Service could have been a lot better n there was no recovery done so it made it worse. So yea great hotel poor service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aisha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear our beloved guests:

Thank you for loving our location and villa. Please accept our apology for that you received not a worth experience with us in your expectation. we are sorry of our failing to do our job. We received your message from email too and about to reply and create some nice understanding between us. But as also seen form this channel, please let us explain all the details in here instead.

After read through the end of it. We noted your situation and please forgive us for unexpected displeasing event happened with you. Please forgive for our staff who convey inefficient conversation cause a tough and error in misleading message. Please to be noted that Thai Set Dinner is 350 Baht per person included vat and service charge. It is no way to cost 350 baht per couples. (Sorry that our staff did not say in other way of prices included for 2 persons, but instead mentioned the price per person) It is very comparable competitive prices with other same level of hotels' standard. Every staff at the Front Desk know this very well and correct information given to guests at the first place is very very important to us. Possibly could be that it is a communication error or in someway a very misunderstanding between us. Please accept our apology for our staff's communication inefficiency.

For your remark on slow checking in process. Please to be noted that your room was ready not more than 5-10 minutes upon your arrival. The key tag was already in your room with air conditioner opened and flowers decorations complimentary offer in room. The things are that when guests ask questions, we will be ready to answer those all without interruption. In you case, you asked about the tours and other information. We were so pleasure to answer, have never hesitated to give an information you need to or want to know. After your curiosity of the things had been clear, we then mentioned that your room was ready. Possibly that you though oppositely for asking a questions to wait for room to be ready. Sorry for this misunderstanding and we will be more conscious about a matter. Yet, it's our pleasure that you feel happy with our room that we intentionally did it best for both of you as birthday celebration.

Another observation on Scooter. Sorry for an inconvenience caused in a matter. You rented a scooter but sorry that the first scooter is hard to start. Actually, it took not more than 10 minutes for a second scooter to arrive. Please let me explain the situation. Once the first scooter came, the scooter guy tested the start together with you. At that time scooter seemed to work ok but you did not take it out immediately. After that, about 20 minutes, you were about to ride the scooter out but found out that it's hard to start. You wanted to change a new one. We did not hesitate to do this for you. You kept waiting another 5-10 minutes for the new one to come. So a second awaiting time is not more than 10 minute but if you did include all the time since the first scooter come will be about the time you mentioned, please to be noted that.

Our sincerest sorry for an inconvenience caused to you about the bathrobe. This is another big big misunderstanding here for you to think that we claimed that you stole a bathrobe. That have never come to our idea, never ever. Every time guest check out, our housekeeper will check minibar and when discovered that bathrobe is missing in your case, we politely asked you that our housekeeper could not find a bathrobe in room (That's only one sentence we asked you) in case that you wanted it for souvenir but you confirmed it was in your room. Now without none of our response, you bursted into anger and walked to the room by yourself and found only one bathrobe (suppose to be two in room) and you talked to our housekeeper in room (that was checking minibar) to check your mini purse. She did not do that. Absolutely we will not do that. After that you left the room, came up at the Front Desk, paid the bill and got into the car. We did not mention about the bathrobe again. You were very angry, maybe because you were too hurry. You called GSA at the Front Desk to reserve a transfer at 9.40 am. and requested the car to pick you up at 9.45. We had only 5 minute to manage this for you which we not normally do. Because we outsource the airport transfer outside that our guests need to book at least an hour in advance. However, we tried our best to do it for you. The airport transfer arrived at the resort at 9.45 as requested. We called to inform you immediately as the car came but you asked for a bit delay. You checked out at around 9.50 am. At the time of your checking out you mentioned that your flight was 10.30 am. We were a bit shocked and so afraid that you might miss a flight because it was very much delay already at the time you made us a call to reserve the transfer. Yet, please believe that we did the process as fast as we could. The check out process takes 10 minutes approximately except in some special cases. For yours, please understand that we did not say anything that we will charge. We just could not find it and asked you. After you left, you mentioned that if we still can not find it, just charge your credit card. Please believe that we will not charge your credit card even we have still not found that bathrobe. Please don't take it wrong here. We did not mean that you took it. We honestly believe that you told us the truth. It is just a mystery for us and we don't take it as a very big deal in losing a bathrobe. We just ask the guests normally in checking out process. We are also about to ask for your kind understanding here that we have none of bad intention with our beloved guests.

All in all, we have to say how deeply sorry we feel for all those feedbacks we received from you. Sorry for that we can not deliver the best service to meet your expectation. At the same time we would be so grateful should you will understand us a bit for the circumstances that we have never wanted our guests to feel furious. We do it best for our guests on what we see it correct. Please do not understand that we defensively or excusably answer your every point of complaints. Those are our side of working that we ask you here to declare for your understanding of what we did at the back for you. Please again accept our genuinely apology from annoying events caused to you. We conclude it here, we blame ourselves and have never blamed our guests for whatever under value services we delivered. Please understand that we did it best as we could in the situations happened with you. However, your every notice will be our lesson to be more careful in serving every valued guests. Thank you for giving us your feedbacks.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,479 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,247 reviews
1.2 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 108 in Ao Nang
572 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi

Property: Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Address: 521 Soi 11 Moo 2 Tumbol Aonang | Ampur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#4 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Krabi, Aonang Phu Petra Resort is set amidst mountains in stunning natural surroundings. The resort features spacious villas and suites located by the swimming pool or hill. Guests can enjoy swimming in the outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, offers beach and airport transfers. Krabi Airport is a 30-minute drive away while Aonang Beach is 10 minutes away by car. Modern rooms feature classic dark wood furnishings and spacious balconies. Each has a cable/satellite TV, DVD player and coffee-making facilities. Bathrobes, slippers and a hairdryer are provided. Massage services are offered at the resort and a library corner allows for quiet reading. Other facilities include a tour desk and children*s playground. Motorbikes can be rented for convenience. Sila Petra Restaurant serves local and international dishes. Enjoy mountain and pool views while sipping cocktails at Phu Anda Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing