We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place - good rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Ranked #3 of 105 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place - good rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed at Aonang Phu Petra recently with family and friends and it was quite a memorable experience.

The cottages were very spacious with lots of open space and large beds (good enough for 2 adults and 2 small kids). The pool is nice as well. The kids had fun in the pool and in the rooms generally with the amount of empty space. Sitting area outside the room is also quite nice to spend a quiet evening / morning relaxing and enjoying the environs. The hotel grounds are quite well done up and beautiful with orchids growing on almost all trees.

The breakfast spread is not great but good enough to provide enough options. The staff are friendly and warm generally. Generally there is live music (one singer with eletronics for music) on all nights at the restaurant, in case you are planning to eat in the resort.

The place is a little away from the main town but the resort runs regular shuttles every hour so not a big worry. Worst case, tuktuks can be called. The distance ensures that it is quiet thru the day / night.

Lots of activity to do around Ao Nang - island hopping, scuba, snorkelling etc. or just spend some time at any of the beaches. Best to organise these trips from the main town area as you will find many options and price points to chose from. We covered Poda island, Hong island, Chicken island and it was great fun. Each of the islands offer its own set of activities esp Hong.

Things to watch out for at Phu Petra:
- there is no housekeeping after 6/7 pm
- there is no service in restaurants or room service after 10.30 pm (even if you are one minute late)
- bathroom has no latch / lock inside and that could bother some folks
- Elephant safari is a waste of time, unless you want to do it only for the experience of sitting on the elephant or for the kids

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travel_hyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear our valuable guests:

On behalf of Aonang Phu Petra Resort, we would like to extend our most heartfelt appreciation to you for being our lovely guests. Your very positive comments fills us a spirit to deliver our hospitality and service professionalism in an upper level. All management team and staff are willing to work hard to fulfil your needs and make you happy.

For your observation on some aspects, let me clarify each of them:

1. Our housekeeper team works from 8.00 am. - 5.00 pm. but in some day the Supervisor will extend her working hours to be at 7.00 pm. Approximately. In case that you need to call for our room attendance after 7.00 pm., there is always people from Front Desk to assist and fulfil your needs. However for a case that you forgot to turn the sign of making up room, our room maid will not come into your room. Sometimes our guests go out and come back very late at night or after 5.00 pm., there is no maid in the resort. In such case you will find new towels and drinking water put on the table at balcony. Should you want things more, our Front staff can assist you except cleaning the whole room that you may need to wait 'til tomorrow.

2. No rooms service after 10.30 pm. Even you late in one minute
Our last order will be at 10.30 pm. Should you order only one minute late, we will take that order. We will definitely inspect what happened and why our staff informed you that room service is closed. Thank you very much for your kind notice.

3. Bathroom has no lock inside
That our theme of the resort. Our attention is to make it in more romantic sense because we have highest percentage of honeymooner stay at the resort.

4. Elephant trekking
The activity for Elephant Trekking is to ride on the elephant back with mahout who keep it for the elephant to walk on the right direction. The joy is when you are that top on the back of elephant and let him take you around to look for the view of the forest. I assume you think it is boring. We personally went by ourselves and we did enjoy it very much. It depends on our guests' preference which we always inform of what activities they will do for each program. For your information.

Last but not least, thank you for the trust you have given to us. We will continue to work hard and make it superb for all guests' expectation.

We look forward to your returns.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    334
    88
    33
    11
See reviews for
179
572
29
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Most recomended, little pricy but worth it.
The only downside was that they fined us with 390 Baht for accidentally breaking small bath foam dispenser, not very nice.
The location from the center is,an advantage Because its very calm and quite. Otherwise the foam bath charge, everything was great!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ruby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear our lovely guests:

It's our pleasure to note that you had a great and enjoyable stay with us. For your notice on the charges of pottery bottle have been made with you during checking out. We are sorry to make you feel inconvenience in a matter but the broken pottery really needed to be charged since it's real hard to find the same set (the pottery bottle came as a set and it is a special type of hand made made, need a pre-ordering) We hope for your kind understanding in a matter.

In addition, we thank you very much for your recommendation us to the others. We do appreciate your kind support. Please make your return here next time you come to Krabi.

Thank you and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Aonang was our first stop when we arrived in Thailand just last month, February 2013. Knowing we’d be jetlagged, we chose this hotel because it looked quiet and comfortable. It was one of the more expensive hotels we booked during our two weeks in Thailand, so we were hoping it would provide a little more luxury to kickoff our vacation. Unfortunately, there was nothing really special that stood out during our stay.

Pros: The hotel owner is very helpful and speaks good English. The grounds are well maintained, and the property is quiet. The rooms are updated and spacious. The staff are professional and try to converse with guests, but we found it difficult to communicate since they didn’t speak much English. The transportation to the beach is a huge plus. We did the 15 min walk back from the beach one day, but I wouldn’t suggest walking at night – and the heat (and trash along the roads) makes walking less than desirable.

Cons: The hotel is pricy for the location, and the hotel food and drinks are expensive. We enjoyed the food, but the drinks were pretty weak. We learned our lesson and stuck to beer for the majority of the trip. The pool is cold – some days it was refreshing, but others too chilly to enjoy. Also, the live music in the evening was a nice touch – but not enjoyable.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay, but as others have mentioned – it’s really missing that extra touch. There was nothing special about our stay that would encourage us to return. If you’re looking for a good night sleep in a clean/spacious hotel – this is a great choice But, there are probably other hotels closer to the beach with a better view.

Room Tip: Didn't find any rooms better located than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baileybailey2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear our valuable guests:

After read through your review, we are extremely concerned to note your dissatisfaction in the following areas.

1. Staff speak weak English.

We are so sorry about that. We just received the newest staff during your stay. We promise to give all new staff more comprehensive training sessions.

2. Pricy room rate for the location

We are so clear from the very beginning and with all media that we are secluded luxurious small boutique resort. We stress on privacy, safety, fullest rejunevation and keep all sense of boutique Thai style service. You can not find place like us on the beach. You will expect something different like building, bar, fun places and lot of entertainment and of course those hotel can not provide certain character like we do. In addition, we are sure that we give a competitive room rate compare to the others of the same category. We hope your kind understanding in a matter.

3. Drink is pretty weak

Thank you for your kind remark on the drink. I already took the matter to discuss with F&B team and they will take the problem into a stage of solving immediately.

We express our sincere apology for that we failed to serve your needs at a step beyond. Your observation and anticipation in the above will take us to the step of further improvement and development. Specially, thank you for sparing your time in completing your feedback and bringing these matters to our attention. Your comments will help us serve you and all our guests better in the future. The resort is actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be valuable for us.

Please be sure that we continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry. We look forward to your continued patronage.

Thank you and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I was really excited to stay here after reading the reviews and seeing the pictures of the amazing cliff views. This was the most expensive hotel we stayed at in Thailand but I was insistent on staying here because it looked so nice. Unfortunately we were disappointed with our stay.

The hotel is a little out of the way, but there is a free shuttle into town every hour (although the return shuttles are at odd times, so we got a tuk tuk back for about B100). We found that while the staff were helpful, they weren't nearly as friendly as in the other hotels we stayed at.

We were given a hillside villa, which I had assumed meant we would have a romantic secluded room with a view of the amazing cliffs like in the pictures on the website. Instead we had a view of a children's play area and were placed in a room next to a family with noisy small children. Having booked 8 months in advance and being a young couple with no children, I would have thought that we would have got a better room away from the children's amenities. We were also quite close to the main road. One advantage of the hillside area however is that it seemed more private than the poolside area.

Our room itself was huge and nicely decorated. The bathroom was big with a bath and shower. We had ants in the bathroom but once we informed reception they quickly came and sorted it out. You have to sign an inventory when you arrive, you get two free bottles of water a day but the drinks in the fridge aren't free. There are signs and price lists all around the room, which was far removed from the more laid back attitude our other hotels had.

The pool was nice and clean, although get to the pool early if you want a sun lounger! They are all gone by mid morning.

We had massages onsite which were good and reasonably priced.

We ate at the restaurant a couple of times, both Thai and English food, and the food was decent. The fruit smoothies were lovely but the cocktails weren't great, they tasted of pure alcohol without any mixers. The breakfast buffet was good, with plenty of choices for all tastes.

While you're in Ao Nang you must book a trip with Andaman Camp and Cruise, we had two brilliant trips with them and highly recommend them.

In summary, this is a nice enough hotel but just not what we were expecting, and we were disappointed with our stay. We could have saved money and stayed somewhere cheaper for the same experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beckylou9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear our valuable guests:

On behalf of the management team and all stafff of Aonang Phu Petra Resort, please accept our apology for not delivering a beyond step of our service professionalism.

We strive to ensure our patrons experience the best visits possible during your travels and we seemed to fall short of our goal this time. However, there are some aspects as per below clarification we need your kind understanding.

1. Location compare with room rate charged
You raised that the rate we charge you is too expensive comparing to the location we have been set. We are small luxurious boutique resort. We personally serve our guests and be very detailed in what our guests need. We sell a superb service, not a place to sleep. We stress on our guest privacy, safety and their fullest rejunevation. We are not on beach the but it takes only 5 minutes to the beach by our shuttle bus so it's far enough form bustling and messy thing. Honestly, we are so clear about our location in the very beginning. You can not really find a villa with outstanding panoramic mountain view and private sense like us on the beach of Aonang.

2. Strange Shuttle Bus's timetable
We think you mean that we have less trips back to the resort compare to the way out. Thank you for your remark. We will take it into our consideration regarding to increase the numbers of trips back to the resort.

3. Unfriendly Staff
Thank you for your notice but we think there is a misinterpretion of facial expression. Our staff smile easily and welcome all guests all the time. It can be that we are so focusing with the things made our face seems to look like we are unwelcoming. However, we will of course take this remark to our staff to be much more aware of their facial expression to guests. Our wish for your kind understanding also that we can not really smile all the time. Sometimes we concentrates with the thing in front of us and forget to smile. It does not really mean we are uninvited. We will improve and be much more conscious to the matter. Thank you again for your kind information.

4. Price list attached in room
The only reason we attach all needed detail in guest rooms because we don't want them to know it later. We simply want to give guests the fullest details so they know it immediately what it is or what they should do with stuff for their own convenience. The message delivered just to give an "information" With our honest and dignity, we inform guests only the truth. We hope your kind perception in this count.

5. Sun Lounger is not enough
We have only 27 villas so sun loungers are actually provided enough to serve for all guests. We also have three more of spared sun loungers. During Peak and High season. it is possible that they are not enough. We are so sorry about that but please be sure that we can fix it in the fastest manner and find more of them for you. Please just to inform us because we sometimes fails to unaware of our guests' needs.

6 Cocktail is weak
We already took your observation in the matter of cocktail to discuss in F&B team. We thank you for your indication and will fix it immediately.

We promise to take a serious step in improving in the areas you remark to us. We hope you will see such improvement and enjoy your time with us in your next visits.

Thank you and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Nie resort, friendly staff, were there in the last week of Feb 2013. Not very far from the main AoNang beach and well connected with a 7/11 close by.

Only concern was the F&B took too long to deliver, otherwise highly recomended for Krabi

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janakjanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear our beloved guests:

We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. For your concern regarding a delay time in serving dishes at the restaurant, we are sorry about that situation and promise to bring it up with Chef to discuss what made it happened and to solve it immediately. We thank you very much for your kind suggestion in a matter.

We look forward to your next return.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in February 2013. It is a nice place, but I do think it needs to have a few retouches here and there to get it up to scratch. You know the sort of thing - there needs to be a lick of paint here, some tidying up there. It's not far from four stars in my opinion, but it just needs a bit more care and attention.

The room was very nice, no complaints there at all. Lovely bathroom. However, the bed was a bit on the hard side, even with the mattress topper that the resort supplied us with. The staff are friendly enough, although at times they seemed a bit bored. One one day the 'hot' food at breakfast was stone cold, but they do a lovely marmalade jam and the bread is nice. In the evenings it looks like most people eat elsewhere (there is a nice Thai and German place over the street which is very good value).

The shuttle service into Ao Nang was useful, we took advantage of that a lot. A Tuk Tuk from Ao Nang to the hotel costs 100 baht by the way.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MisterC001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear our lovely guests:

Thank you for placing your trust on us and gave us a chance to best serve you. We appreciate all your observations and for sure we will bring those to our discussion for further development and improvement.

We hope for your more returns to see how development we have done to serve your needs.

We will do the best because we realize that all of our guests deserve it.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Great place for rest. Around 2 km from city center, far from annoying noise. Green everywhere, big room in bungalow, amazing bathroom. Wide choice for breakfast buffet. Very friendly staff. Just two small disadvantages: shuttle bus to city. It is every hour to the city but from city just 11:20, 14:20, 17:20, 19:20, 21:20. What is the reason not making return pick up?
Second: taxi service - don't order via hotel reception. Typical taxi is much modern than car booked by recption and price form city is even cheaper 500 bath comparing to 600 in hotel

Room Tip: we were with hill view villa and in our opinion is better one tha swiming polls one. Nobody passes n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pedro_pc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear our beloved guests:

We sincerely appreciate to note that we are a paradise in your point of view. The management team and all staff have been acknowledged regarding to your compliment message toward our hard working and friendliness. We are really delighted to know that our hospitality effort and professionalism best serve your needs.

For your notices on our Shutter Service timatable and the price of Taxi Service, let me clarify as below:

1. Shuttle Service Timetable
We noted for your remark and will keep it into our team discussion. We will please to inform our guests should there is a possibility to increase more trips on the way back to the resort.

2. Price of Taxi Service
As your comment on Taxi Service charges is more expensive than outside service for 100 Baht. We really need your understanding that it is a cost of our service. We offer all services concerned to make you feel as "one stop service" that you don't need to walk and find out which is the best price with service quality guarantee. Furthermore, as mentioned, we guarantee for "a quality service". Sometimes the appearance of a Taxi look not so new, but we guarantee for its condition, safety, friendliness and fully assistance of our driver.

We are please to note for your kind understanding in the above two matters.

Last but least, We all aniticipate for your many returns.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.9 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.8 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
1.3 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#17 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi

Property: Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Address: 521 Soi 11 Moo 2 Tumbol Aonang | Ampur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#4 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Krabi, Aonang Phu Petra Resort is set amidst mountains in stunning natural surroundings. The resort features spacious villas and suites located by the swimming pool or hill. Guests can enjoy swimming in the outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, offers beach and airport transfers. Krabi Airport is a 30-minute drive away while Aonang Beach is 10 minutes away by car. Modern rooms feature classic dark wood furnishings and spacious balconies. Each has a cable/satellite TV, DVD player and coffee-making facilities. Bathrobes, slippers and a hairdryer are provided. Massage services are offered at the resort and a library corner allows for quiet reading. Other facilities include a tour desk and children*s playground. Motorbikes can be rented for convenience. Sila Petra Restaurant serves local and international dishes. Enjoy mountain and pool views while sipping cocktails at Phu Anda Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Jetsetter so you can book your Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing