We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2012

This hotel is slightly off the beaten track in Aonang but all the better for it. It's in a beautiful setting; the hotel is in pristine condition and the staff are incredibly friendly. Aonang beach is a good distance from the hotel but it is very easy to get to and from. If you want to be right in the thick of the action them perhaps this hotel's not for you. But if you want to have a bit of peace and quiet at times then this is just perfect. The food we had at the hotel was very good; plenty of choice for breakfast and the other meals we had there were pretty good. My daughter and I also did a cokking class there and they really looked after us. A special mention for me goes to the restaurant superviser 'Aud' - although I affectionately kept calling him Odd! - was great. There's nothing he wouldn't do for you. We spent five nights here but my family and I could easily have spent another week.

Room Tip: All rooms looked great.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,067)
There are newer reviews for Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 1,067 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

Phu Petra is a 5 min drive to the beach .... one can rent a bike for between 200 to 250B per day so that you won't be constraint by the shuttle timing. There is also a Starbuck and McDonald located just on the main road. We were upgraded from to a deluxe room by the lovely manager who is really winsome.... she gave us a tour of the facility within the hotel and recommmeded us for dinner by the pool side with performance and fire-dance display by the hotel staff. Although pool is small and the spa is out in the open ... the resort gave us the feeling that we were the only ones there!

One can walk toward the right of hotel where you would encounter a thai kick boxing training gymnasium and walking through it you will find the lime stone clff in the rubber tree plantation. It is an awesome view.

The shooting range and go-kart are new attractions that may keep one entertained although the prices are a little costly.

One can head towards Krabi town on the weekends where the night market is opened.

Alternatively, a sunset walk on the beach during low tide is totally captivating too!

Else, staying in the super huge room with an 8 feet super king size bed is relaxing enuff ...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank firefox11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

My wife and I returned to Krabi and Phu Petra for the 2nd time (the first time was on our honeymoon) and they didn't disappoint the 2nd time.

Since I neglected to write a review for the first time we visited, here goes:

The room was simply fabulous... very tastefully appointed and laid out very comfortably. We requested for the same room we stayed in the last time we visited (H104/Glorio Hillside Villa) and the staff were more than happy to oblige. The bathroom was huge with a quite a nice hot tub for 2.

The resort maybe a little off the beaten track when it comes to location - but it is very quiet and peaceful. They provide a free shuttle shuttle service every 15 minutes to and back to the beach but I would recommend that if you are staying for long rent a motorbike which give you much more freedom when it comes to traveling back and forth from the resort. They don't cost much - 250 to 300 bhat a day depending on the season. Just ask the front desk and they would arrange it for you.

The food at the restaurant (Sila Petra) was absolutely brilliant - perfect even. I'm a huge fan of proper Pad Thai and what they served did not disappoint. The breakfast buffet though not big was very good (offering both American and Thai breakfast items with freshly cut local fruits and juices). The staff at the restaurant are very kind and courteous - even when we had a late night out in town and came in for a late bite, they were happy to oblige and would not say no even though we figured the kitchen was half way on its way to closing. We checked in on the 24th evening just in time for the Christmas Eve dinner with a quite a show (fire eaters etc).

If I was asked to nit pick on a negative point, I could say that it would be better if the staff about the place had a better grasp of English (although to be fair, it seemed that this year they had more English speaking staff than the last time we were there). But really, it this didn't hinder us too much in the end and it's really minor issue but if you ever get stuck, just ask for Justin and he would sort things out.

If you are looking for a relaxing place for recover from bustle of Bangkok you should certainly check this place out - it is great value for money and it definitely does not disappoint!

Thank you Justin and the staff of Phu Petra for making our stay wonderful experience. We loved it and will definitely be back next December.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jahufar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Lovely small resort a short drive from Ao Nang beach.We stayed in a cliff view bungalow for a week and really enjoyed it. It's not right in the thick of it, but we wanted that.

Our bungalow was quite big (needlessly so to be honest) but there were a few things that weren't quite up to scratch that should've been sorted really. The bathroom door wouldn't close fully, the shower was broken (the mixer didn't work and water came out of both the main head and small one) and the air con was quite loud. We're just being very honest about this, because we did enjoy our stay!

It is in a lovely location and the food was great - we ordered room service a number of times and it was always good and reasonably priced. The pool is great too. They offer a really useful free taxi service down to the beach, which we used every day. There is nothing near the resort really (apart from a German owned bar (which was very reasonably priced)) so you need to go down to the beach most of the time.

It was perfect for what we wanted and would be great for couples looking for a quiet relaxing time, plus great for families too.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bren-and-clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

My wife and I spent our first 5 nights on our first trip to Thailand at the Phu Petra. We were exhausted after traveling 24 hours from NYC, and the hotel offered shuttle service from HKT for a decent price. The hotel grounds are small but quite nice, nestled between Aonang and the limestone cliffs. We spent one morning by the pool watching the sun rise; very peaceful.

Hotel staff is friendly, especially Justin (as noted by other reviewers).

The rooms are quite spacious, notably the bathroom with a a huge walk-in shower and big bathtub. That said, our room (#115) felt dark, even with all the shades open. Furthermore, it's difficult to leave the shades open as everyone can then see into the room. The bed is HUGE but very firm.

As others note the location is outside Aonang town. There is a shuttle service to town every hour and from town nearly every hour, so you have to plan around it. There is only one restaurant in the hotel, and the food is good - not great; we ate the Thai set dinner one night and felt the food in town is much better at a much lower price. Breakfast is good, though - lots of fresh fruit, excellent yogurt and granola, and fresh juice.

Not a bad place to stay - we felt the hotels we stayed in afterward (in Ko Phi Phi and Chiang Mai) were much more posh, but for the value this is a great choice.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joshisagoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We were looking for a nicer place to have Christmas dinner, and we were so thankful to find this restaurant. We did not stay overnight, but wish we weren't already booked somewhere else! The staff gave us the best attention and dinner presentation of any place we have eaten yet. A definite thumbs up to this place!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seoulcanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We were fortunate enough to spend 12 glorious nights in Phu Petra in December and loved every minute. The rooms were amazing, very big with huge beds, maybe a litttle hard but didn't stop me sleeping. The bathroom is fab!! Huge bath walk-in shower and all other usual ammenities. Yes the location is a little out of Ao Nang but the peace and tranquility of the hotel more than makes up for that. We found it was the best of both worlds - get the free transport into town where you can enjoy a lively time then return to the haven that is Phu Petra. Breakfast is a very civilised way to start the day at this hotel. A good choice ranging from continental, cereal, fresh fruit and if you wanted anything different all you had to do was ask. Above all the staff are great, from the housekeeping team right the way through every part of the hotel, they were helpful, polite and always ready with a welcoming smile..It was our first time in Thailand and thanks to Phu Petra we hope to return in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: rooms 108 and 107 have adjoining doors
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Judy_w4togo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 109 in Ao Nang
1,508 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#20 of 109 in Ao Nang
1,272 reviews
1.2 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 109 in Ao Nang
583 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi

Address: 521 Soi 11 Moo 2 Tumbol Aonang | Ampur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#4 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: $49 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Krabi, Aonang Phu Petra Resort is set amidst mountains in stunning natural surroundings. The resort features spacious villas and suites located by the swimming pool or hill. Guests can enjoy swimming in the outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, offers beach and airport transfers. Krabi Airport is a 30-minute drive away while Aonang Beach is 5 minutes away by car. Modern rooms feature classic dark wood furnishings and spacious balconies. Each has a cable/satellite TV, and coffee-making facilities. Bathrobes, slippers and a hairdryer are provided. Massage services are offered at the resort and a library corner allows for quiet reading. Other facilities include a tour desk and children*s playground. Motorbikes can be rented for convenience. Sila Petra Restaurant serves local and international dishes. Enjoy mountain and pool views while sipping cocktails at Phu Anda Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing