We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, friendly staff, bit away from Au Nang centre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Ranked #3 of 105 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place, friendly staff, bit away from Au Nang centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

We've stayed for three nights in this beautiful place during our Thailand trip. The staff is very friendly and very helpful, e.g. with booking tours. The resort was kind of empty during the raining seison, but still had a good atmosphere around it.
The pool is rather basic, would have expected more from a place like this.
The rooms of the more spacious poolside villa suites are large, comfy and have a seating area.
One small disadvantage: the place is some 15 mins walking from the touristic area, not a problem for us since we had a car. The resort, does provice shuttle service to the centre.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_en_Lizan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    334
    88
    33
    11
See reviews for
179
572
29
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

The staff were excellent and all spoke good english. They always had welcome smiles. This was consistent for the entire stay. Service was perfect and everything was clean and a 4 star standard. The resort is 3 - 5 minutes by resort shuttle bus to shopping area or restaurant. It is free hourly service to such places. Peaceful and quiet place!!

Breakfast was nice but simple with the usual basics: egg chef on station, beans, bacon, cold meats, cheeses, sausages, salads, a Thai noodle etc.

Overall, I would defintely return, hopefully next year. A truly incredible experience! I'm in love with this resort.

Room Tip: Hillside Villa is the most beautiful here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lilalo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

Very polite and understanding staff, ever ready to serve you. The rooms are spacious and clean, provided with modern amenities. The resort has well maintained greenery, trees are well pruned and labeled.

Room Tip: Ask pool side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILNature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

when we arrived at the phu petra we were really impressed by the view from the lobby. you can see the nice pool area and the rocky cliff right behind it which makes the first impression very nice. so we were quite happy to be there, but when we were checking in, for some reason we had to wait a long time... we werent told what we were waiting for, so after 20+ mins passed we were a bit unhappy.

our room was on the very far end of the resort, so we had no view of the nice pool. to be honest, all we could see is a white screen that separates the hotel grounds from the private homes behind the hotel. unfortunately, not so pretty... :(

HOWEVER the room itself was quite spacious and well decorated. we have been to many hotels in thailand in this price range and we can say the size and the quality of the bedroom and bathroom is quite above average.

although very nice rooms, there was a negative point... overall it didnt feel very clean. first of all, there were manu mosquitos in the room. we spent the first half hour or so trying to get rid of them... i think the staff leave the door open when they clean or before welcoming guests to "air out" the room. we are OK with couple of mosquitos in the room (after all it is a tropical country!) but this was too much we got many bites. lots in the bathroom too. secondly, there happened to be several dried up dead bugs on the floor which ended up on the back of my foot. lastly, we found an animal dropping on the floor... :(

the pool was excellent! i loved swimming while enjoying the view of the mountain. very refreshing. i didnt think the size was small considering the number of rooms. we could borrow as many towels as we needed, so that was nice too.

lastly concerning the staff.... again, i have mixed feelings. we werent treated in a bad way, but we didnt get the kind of help we were looking for. to give an example, we had plans to move to koh lanta the next day and we asked the staff what was the best way to get there. they suggested we use a taxi, which would cost us around 3000+ THB. we wanted to go at a cheaper price so decided to check again for other options. later at night when we walked around the town we discovered at a travel agency that we could take a mini bus with other passengers at 300THB per person. i wonder why the hotel staff didnt explain this to us in the first place to make our life easier :(

to conclude i think phu petra has the potential to be a great hotel as it has nice rooms, nice facilities and lovely garden. (i didnt take breakfast so i dont know how the meals are) but unfortunately i would not go again and would not recommend to others. i hope it can improve the service, it is a pity because the infrastructure is so nice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tofchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
First of all, we thank you for your compliments of swimming pool settings overlooking the stunning backdrop of the cliff which give panoramic view and good impression at very first visit to every guest.

After all this time, we always try hard to make this place a pleasing one and always do our very best to meet the highest level of satisfaction of our guests.

1. When were checking in, for some reason, we have to wait for long. We weren’t told what we were waiting for, so after 20 mins. passed we were a bit unhappy.

A: We assume at that time there’re several guests checked in and checked out at the same time and due to our limited number of staff at the time, we might delay in serving you promptly. However, it was our fault kept you waited without informing you for such delay of checking in process. We apologize for this and will keep it improved.

For your information, a time of our checking in is at 2.00 pm. We; generally, allow guests to check in a bit earlier if the room our guests check in appear to be unoccupied.

2. Our room was on the very far end of the resort, so we had no view of the nice pool. To be honest, all we could see is a white screen that separates the ground from the private homes behind the hotel.

A: We truly understand your needs. We always wanted to give you the best spots and location. Honestly speaking, we have 12 rooms for Gloriyo Hillside Villas which located at back of the resort and there were 2 rooms situated at the end of the resort in some parts blocked the stunning backdrop of the mountain.

We really feel very sorry if your room is being assigned to this room as a matter of fact we always wanting your stay a memorable one.

3. Although very nice rooms, there was a negative point. Overall it didn’t feel very clean. First of all, there were many mosquitos in the room. We spent the first half hour or so trying to get rid of them.

A: Thank you very much for your compliments of our rooms. We felt very sorry for the mosquito and insect problems. This is our common problem because our resort situated in mountain and appears to be very common for a tropical country likes us.

Actually we’re doing fumigation three times a month but still many mosquitos around. We do open the window of all vacant rooms to evaporate unpleasant smell particularly guest who smokes inside the room. When guest check in, we spray the room before to make sure that there is no mosquito inside.

Please accept our deepest apology for the inconvenience that you encounter during your stay. We thank you for your comments to make us improve to deliver the best service to our beloved guests.

We noted all complaints also from our guest and solve by our promptness action. But in some cases, we never receive any information from the guest. We can’t do something on it. Sometimes the acknowledgment of the problem has been declared when the guest’s left the property already.

For your additional information, apparently we keep some prevented stuff like mosquito spray, mosquito repellent and electric insect repellent at front desk available anytime. We are always ready to serve you.

4. Concerning the staff, again I have mixed feelings, we weren’t treated in a bad way, but we didn’t get the kind of help were looking for. To give an example, we have plans to move to Koh Lanta the next day and we asked the staff “What was the best way to get there”.

A: We are very sorry for not giving you the exact answer of information you asking for. Our staff wanted you to feel safe & comfortable so he gave this option.

Honestly, we have all the information that guests might ask and we always ready to give an answer instantly. Without our knowledge, our staff doesn’t know that you need also information or better options to get to Koh Lanta. Please accept our apology for not giving you more options. This is a good example for us to learn and make it improve.

We believe in our highest honesty, faith and pride we give to all of our guests. We always wanted the best for you.

We try hard to make Aonang Phu Petra Resort a pleasant and relaxing place for our guests. We trained people developed every function continuously to deliver the value experience to all of our valuable guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

We booked this amazing resort on Agoda.com and we could not believe what we got for an incredibly cheap price!!!
We thought we booked rooms when we actually got bungalows in a stunning area of Ao Nang. A bit away from the main town, in a stunning forest. They provide a free shuittle bus service to the main town and everyone goes out of their way to help!
The bungalow was beautiful,spacious, clean and you have all the privacy you need!
I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wilma82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

My boyfriend and I learnt in Thailand, you definitely get what you pay for & that was certainly the case of our accommodation prior to Phu Petra. So, having booked PP at very short notice for a very reasonable rate, we were a little dubious about what we would get.

However, we were pleasantly surprised at how lovely this resort was! & even more so after a long and difficult day of travel. The staff were so friendly, the resort just beautiful sitting amongst the beautiful cliffs that Krabi is renowned for & our bungalow room incredibly comfortable and luxurious. We enjoyed relaxing by the pool & eating at the resort's restaurant. The only small 'downfalls' - the day spa was just a petitioned off area although still quite relaxing & the resort is not within walking distance to the beach.

That said, this is a perfect place to relax & we were happy not to venture too far from the resort. We would be more than happy to recommend Phu Petra to family, friends and other travellers.




We can certainly most highly recommend PP to o

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LinRob789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda, Sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

Hubby & I stayed at Aonang Phu Petra for 4 nights (4/3 to 8/3/2011) We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of the resort - beautiful, clean pool (not small at all, considering there are only around 25 villas) amazing poolside villa that still looks brand new, lovely staff, perfectly manacured gardens, free wifi, decent breakfast, super comfortable kingsize bed, amazing, funky bathroom, free shuttle on the hour to AoNang & limited free pickups from McDonalds. The list just goes on!
We were welcomed by Julius, the manager on duty at the time, and he came with us to the villa and explained in detail all we needed to know & how to work everything. He was very helpful in all our dealings with him. I had read a few reviews about the resort trying to charge for cleaning of soiled towels, so we took our own facewasher - but I never ended up using this, and never was there a hint about paying the cleaning for anything!
We enjoyed it so much, we only took one tour to Railay beach, as we were content to relax around the pool on their lovely loungers - there were enough of them, so we never had to "reserve" a lounge.
Ao Nang Phu Petra is just gorgeous and we hope to go back in the future.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SandyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.9 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.8 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
1.3 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#17 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi

Property: Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Address: 521 Soi 11 Moo 2 Tumbol Aonang | Ampur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#4 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Krabi, Aonang Phu Petra Resort is set amidst mountains in stunning natural surroundings. The resort features spacious villas and suites located by the swimming pool or hill. Guests can enjoy swimming in the outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, offers beach and airport transfers. Krabi Airport is a 30-minute drive away while Aonang Beach is 10 minutes away by car. Modern rooms feature classic dark wood furnishings and spacious balconies. Each has a cable/satellite TV, DVD player and coffee-making facilities. Bathrobes, slippers and a hairdryer are provided. Massage services are offered at the resort and a library corner allows for quiet reading. Other facilities include a tour desk and children*s playground. Motorbikes can be rented for convenience. Sila Petra Restaurant serves local and international dishes. Enjoy mountain and pool views while sipping cocktails at Phu Anda Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing