We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Swiss Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swiss Chalet
Ranked #41 of 125 Ao Nang B&B and Inns
Landskrona, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

A very good hotel in a perfect location. Quit and clean. Lot of storage possibility for all your belongings. Great prize per night. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast is nice.
I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin-Johansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    75
    20
    9
    9
See reviews for
15
76
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife and I tried out the Swiss chalet restaurant after seeing the good average the establishment had on trip advisor. Unfortunately this relates to just the accommodation it seems.

The meals we were served were either below average (my Rosti) and awful (my wifes fried rice with chicken). The fried rice was really bad. For something we've eaten so much of in Thailand its surprising to find such a failed version of what until now had been a reliable menu option. However, given the frozen vegetables used (again a first in Thailand) and the peculiar tasting rice, we can begin to understand why.

The poor quality food certainly doesn't justify our most expensive meal so far and to add insult to injury we both ended up with upset stomachs immediately upon leaving the restaurant.

As a fellow Swiss I'm sorry to have to give such an appalling review to this Thai-Swiss venue.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank markbols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

+ Very nice room for good price, we stayed for 3 nights. Hotel has it own restaurant with Thai and Swiss meals. The owner is propably from Europe and this is reflected in hotel´s facilities and services. Everyday room service with free water. Near to shops and beaches. Next to the restaurant there is travel agency with very nice woman, who speaks well English. Also staff speak English well.

- For hotel I don´t have any complaints. Ao Nang is tourist centre, so if you are looking for peace don´t visit this place. Beaches are not so nice, but you can arrange trip to another one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IlcaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was my thrid stay at Swiss Chalet and I’ll continue staying here when I visit Ao Nang. Since my last trip they have added roofing to all outside areas so diners are protected from the sun and rain. It was great to see the same staff and some new faces, the food still remains high quality and priced well. I like the location as it’s not on the main road yet is only a couple minutes by scooter/taxi to the main beach and shopping area in Ao Nang. I would recommend this hotel for couples as well as family travellers. Thank you Roland!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here in Swiss Chalet November of 2012. We chose the place because of the proximity of the place to the beach, restaurants and market. Swiss Chalet did not disappoint and we were even surprised with how big and clean our room is which also has a really nice veranda. There's TV and a safe and the bathroom was big and clean with hot shower. Swiss Chalet is quite underrated considering how affordable it is to stay there even though it's in a really good location.
Food in Swiss Chalet is great as well. We've had one of the best seafood curries there!
Also, Roland the owner, if I could remember it right, was very friendly and approachable and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iksters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We went there last night as a change from all the Thai food we had been eating. It gets a bit old after three weeks of it so we decided to try some Swiss food.
The cheese fondue and Rossi were amazing, great cocktails and service.
Would def recommend as a change to your phad Thai although Thai food is available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeymadone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Me and my husband were in our honeymoon trip when we stayed at this place for 5 days at this place few days ago.. i actually quite suprised..the room was big and clean.very safe too where you can leave your belonging in the room freely.location at ao nang beach where you can walk to the market..The owner is very friendly and helpfull.There is a tourist information at just at the entrance of the hotel make your life easier with all the packages of tours provided ,with good deal too :-) overall its a good stay and i will stay there again :-) no review on the restaurant-never had meal there :-)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yukigaijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0.1 mi away
The Pano Hotel And Residence
0.0 mi away
The Capuchin Hotel
The Capuchin Hotel
#18 of 125 in Ao Nang
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Kure Ngern Aonang
Baan Kure Ngern Aonang
#69 of 309 in Krabi Town
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ploenlay
Ploenlay
#25 of 125 in Ao Nang
21 reviews
0.9 mi away
Backpack House Hostel
Backpack House Hostel
#69 of 142 in Ao Nang
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Krabi Forest Homestay
The Krabi Forest Homestay
#45 of 108 in Ao Nang
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Chalet

Property: Swiss Chalet
Address: 153/6 Moo 3 Tambon, Ao Nang (Soi 8), Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Swiss Chalet 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let your dreams come true... ... At one of the most beautiful places in the world. ... In our familial home, which has been repeatedly awarded worldwide as one of the best establishments of its category. ... Whether single, couple, family or group. ... Whether for a short or long stay. ... In our modern and functional rooms, include all the amenities do you need. ... In our restaurant with excellent Thai, Swiss and International cuisine. ... With warranty you will feel comfortable very well in the Swiss Chalet. The Guest House & Restaurant Swiss Chalet was opened in 2009 with 4 bedrooms and has since been regularly extended. Currently we have 16 rooms. Four of them are brand new and the rest have all been renovated. The Swiss Chalet is situated on the edge of the center of Ao Nang. In a quiet and safe street. Surrounded by new 4 and 5 star hotels. The center of Ao Nang, the beaches and boat landings (which you bring to the surrounding beautiful islands) are within easy walking distance. The nearest beach (Nopparat Thara Beach) is only 200 meters away. Many shops, restaurants and massages are located in the immediate vicinity. Short distances: 200m to beach / 150m to the nearest boat jetty / 100m to the main street with many restaurants and shops / 5m to the next massage / Tourdesk in house / 200m, 1km or 3km to the various Bar centers In our restaurant we serve you in the morning as of 7:30 clock. In the evening, depending on the season, up to 10 or 11 clock. Our travel agency organizes trips, booked and confirmed your flights and much more. We offer you excellent value for money. Swiss quality at Thai prices! We speak English, German and Thai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Swiss Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Chalet Hotel Ao Nang
Swiss Chalet Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing