We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in Krabi”
Review of Swiss Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swiss Chalet
Ranked #49 of 148 Ao Nang B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and I feel it was a great selection. The hotel is in a nice location. Very near to Ao Nang beach (5 min walk) and Nopart Thara beach (5 min by Tuk Tuk).
Room was specious and clean. But it doesn’t have a jazzy look. But if you are looking for value of money, this is a great place to stay. The Swiss owner is very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anindya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 169 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

I had Rostii which was soggy inside and my partner ordered bratwurst but first they came out with wiener sausage and when he reminded them he had ordered the bratwurst they eventually came out with the right one. The veg were practically raw. Some of the staff were a bit disinterested and not the friendliest. Much better places to eat than here.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Strad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I just want to rate the restaurant. I was kinda forced to go there as it is the only place you can get a continental breakfast (not counting the hotel buffets). The staff was absolutely below standard, impolite, poor English. Food wasn't something to write home about.
I just asked them to get me the coffee after the breakfast but they just didn't want to understand. Is that such a big thing to ask? I don't like to drink it on an empty stomach and by the time i finish eating the coffee just goes cold.

Stayed: December 2012
Thank AUJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We booked a week here and were very happy with our selection. Having stayed in many other hostels in Thailand we were a little sceptical, but it lived up to the description and more. The room and bathroom was clean and big. We had a TV and water every day and a safe and AC. We even had a balcony and whilst the view was nothing special it was nice to be able to sit out there. The only improvement we would have was that the shower was not always hot - wasn't actually a problem for us most of the time but occasionally it would have been nice to have it a little warmer.
The location was really good - close to the quieter of the two beaches and only a 15 min walk to the main beach (or take a tuk tuk for about 50p per person).
The tourist office attached to the hotel was also really good and we booked our ferry tickets and taxis through here. They were also super helpful when I needed to change my flights.
If you're there on a Sunday night try the special offer swiss raclett - it's really good! The owner is really friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a basic, clean, affordable place then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathiesj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

the room itself was a nice room,cool inside and had a balcony.the bathroom was just as good and the shower wasnt over the toilet so that was a nice change

the staff were really friendly an will sort you out with a scooter if you need one,better to get one as its the safest island to drive on by far.

the manager seems like a happy chap,swedish of course and the food was quite good as well

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wesley r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here on first day with an intention to move to one of Ao Nang's famous resorts the next day... checked out some resorts next day but found no real value.... so continued staying at this lovely guest house for next 4 days... high on cleanliness and staff hospitality :-) great value

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 23pearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I stayed at Swiss Chalet during a recent trip to beautiful Ao Nang for a week and enjoyed every moment. The rooms were clean, comfortable, air-conditioned and had a balcony. The staff are friendly - and the Thai food on offer is terrific. I would often stop for a chat/advice on what to see with the staff and it never seemed to bother them. Swiss Chalet also has a tour booking desk and you can organise transfers to Krabi Town and the Airport. The location couldn't be better, hotel is just off a busy road and only a 2 mins (motorcycle) cab ride downtown and to Ao Nang beach. There is a minimarket nextdoor (they sell everything!) as well as bars, a beauty salon and souvenir shops nearby, I found it impossible to pass by people without saying hello as everyone has a super infectious smile :) I am returning to Ao Nang in July and will be staying at Swiss Chalet again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trish1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
3.7 mi away
Pine Bungalow
Pine Bungalow
#30 of 111 in Ao Nang
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#39 of 111 in Ao Nang
346 reviews
1.2 mi away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#52 of 111 in Ao Nang
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Aonang Sea Valley Resort
Aonang Sea Valley Resort
#20 of 148 in Ao Nang
22 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aonang Paradise Resort
Aonang Paradise Resort
#43 of 111 in Ao Nang
718 reviews
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Chalet

Address: 153/6 Moo 3 Tambon, Ao Nang (Soi 8), Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Ao Nang
Price Range: $28 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Swiss Chalet 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let your dreams come true... ... At one of the most beautiful places in the world. ... In our familial home, which has been repeatedly awarded worldwide as one of the best establishments of its category. ... Whether single, couple, family or group. ... Whether for a short or long stay. ... In our modern and functional rooms, include all the amenities do you need. ... In our restaurant with excellent Thai, Swiss and International cuisine. ... With warranty you will feel comfortable very well in the Swiss Chalet. The Guest House & Restaurant Swiss Chalet was opened in 2009 with 4 bedrooms and has since been regularly extended. Currently we have 16 rooms. Four of them are brand new and the rest have all been renovated. The Swiss Chalet is situated on the edge of the center of Ao Nang. In a quiet and safe street. Surrounded by new 4 and 5 star hotels. The center of Ao Nang, the beaches and boat landings (which you bring to the surrounding beautiful islands) are within easy walking distance. The nearest beach (Nopparat Thara Beach) is only 200 meters away. Many shops, restaurants and massages are located in the immediate vicinity. Short distances: 200m to beach / 150m to the nearest boat jetty / 100m to the main street with many restaurants and shops / 5m to the next massage / Tourdesk in house / 200m, 1km or 3km to the various Bar centers In our restaurant we serve you in the morning as of 7:30 clock. In the evening, depending on the season, up to 10 or 11 clock. Our travel agency organizes trips, booked and confirmed your flights and much more. We offer you excellent value for money. Swiss quality at Thai prices! We speak English, German and Thai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Swiss Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Chalet Hotel Ao Nang
Swiss Chalet Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing