We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Small, Krabi
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveler rating
157
234
79
19
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
234
79
19
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolpool access roomstudio roomsister hotelmini suitemoon deck suiteao nang beachhoneymoon suitethe ground floorbeach basketwalking distanceprivate jacuzzistreet food stallsfirst floorbreakfast selectionhalal foodpleasant stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 504 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Originally booked with Krabi La Playa but upon arrival found them to be overbooked. I was not excited at first to be put in Small until I saw it.. It is amazing! We were upgraded to one of their best poolside rooms, plus given access to both la playa and Small facilities including breakfast. Great job!
Small is small, making you feel like you almost have the whole place to yourself. Kept very clean. Staff was always smiling and friendly. Great location, it's close to both beaches but still far enough away not to be noisy. There are food carts put every night (except Friday) just a short walk away. Breakfast was very good, lots of selection.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renewthem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed 2 nights. As others say, the rooms are modern, spacious and well equipped. The beds are hard but we asked them to put a duvet or two on top of the mattress and this made it really comfortable. There are some nice touches like a useful beach bag you can use (I always forget to take one) and a DVD player, although it would be nice if they also had a DVD library you could borrow from. The balcony is also a nice touch but not much use when the view is directly into the room opposite!

The roof top pool is lovely. A couple of good sized canopies ensure you can hide from the sun until around 3pm which is a must for my pale skin.

I liked the hotel's location. It was good to be away from the main tourist strip but still close enough to walk to, giving you maximum choice. It was also good to be able to access either the main Ao Nang beach or the closer Noppharatthara beach. It's near to the pier for the longtails to Railey.

Breakfast is fine - fruit, yogurt, cereal, toast, jam, ham, cheeses and hot dishes plus eggs any way you choose. Not great quality but good variety.

The wifi network is spotty & we couldn't get it in our room although we were right at the end of the corridor & far from reception. It was a bit of a pain but not insurmountable.

The main disappointment was the front desk service. The staff were lazy & unhelpful. They came across as completely unprofessional and left you feeling like you were in a budget hotel which this certainly is not priced as. It took ages to get anything reolved (like the wifi in our room) and in fact that was never resolved, just a string of excuses were offered.

I wouldn't return as I didn't feel this place was value for money - the rooms are nice & we were happy with the location but the incompetent service without smile left me disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cvinsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at the Small for two nights as a family. The rooms are modern, clean, good sized and well equipped, beds are on the harder side. There was a very nice rainshower in the bathroom, loved it. The rooftop pool offers a good view over the bay and the sea, useful to coold down after a long day of travelling. Loungers are at your disposal, but there is only a small shaded area. Breakfast was good, nice choice of food.

Room Tip: Take care to book or choose a room thats facing away from the road.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and we booked a Pool Access Room after reading the reviews. Nice in a way to be able to access the pool immediately from room but we were too occupied with the day trips, massage and night market so did not make full use of it.

Breakfast was simple and fine. Room was clean and nice too. The location is a bit far from the main happening stretch of Ao Nang. If you prefer a shorter walk, then will have to choose other hotels.

Service was so so. That's the only minor grouse that we had of the hotel. Will we stay again? We would want to try others next time.

Room Tip: If you are planning to stay outside most of the time, just book a normal room will suffice. The pool at the rooftop is adequate.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nabisco82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed here for 7 nights and we had to change rooms 3 times! Had lots of different issues with the rooms – air conditioning stopped working, safe stopped working, shower was leaking. The issues are fine as I understand these things happen but what was annoying was that we had to phone reception about 3 times each time before anybody came to sort the problem out. I found the service at this hotel terrible and I wouldn’t recommend this hotel.

This place is fine as a bed and breakfast but I certainly wouldn’t class it as a resort. Breakfast is average.

Feel free to ask any questions

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrs_tkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_SmallGrp, Public Relations Manager at The Small, Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Sir,

We apologize for all inconvenience caused. We have fixed airconditioner, safety box and water leaking. We hope we will have chance to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews