We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of The Small, Krabi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Small, Krabi
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This place isnt that small. It is modern, the pool is fantastic and its just far enough out of town to feel like your getting away from it all but close enough to feel like your still in the thick of it. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
There are newer reviews for The Small, Krabi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 470 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

Today is my last day here. I find the rooms to be modern,clean,nice and very clean...All amenities are well provided.no bugs cept for a few mosquitoes...the balcony has no privacy at all as u can c the people from other rooms all very close to one another. Walking distance of abt 15mins to the main action...not suitable for the elderly though..she could stand the walking uphill...
Breakfast was so so only.nothing fancy... I would not stay here again cos i prefer to be close to everything..n hot shower is definitely very important to me

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelicfury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Ok we stayed a week here (mid October) in low season.

Hotel is a good ten min walk from beach and 20 min walk from the main stretch of road in Ao nang (restaurants, bars,etc) Tuk tuk bikes and Songthaw taxis are available right outside.

Pros:

Unless you opt for the moon deck room which has a big roof top balcony and is close to the roof top pool...you need to stay in a pool access room. Open the french doors and you are stepping out into the pool. there is a "jacuzzi" which is a step into the pool and you have the option of turning the jets on for a free massage!

Pool access room had a decent flat screen TV (with decent sports and film channels), a radio that you can pop an iphone or ipod on (a bit tinny, compared to the one we had in bangkok)

Staff were nice and friendly, maids are honest as we left safe with passports and large sum of money in wide open as we hurried out for a day trip! Not recommended to do- guess we got lucky!

Plenty of toiletries to use, large hand pump shower gel, shampoo, lotion,etc. never had problems with no hot water as others have suggested.

The breakfast has been knocked by other travellers- i found it quite adequate. Bear in mind we are in a predominantly Islamic part of thailand, therefore no pork for breakfast. chicken sausages and chicken ham for your protein fix I did laugh when I heard some English guy shout out "Where's the bloody bacon"
Always fried rice and noodle options, french toast, wedge type potatoes. There is also croissant and cake type options, bread and toaster, salad bar. Coffee was there, and i just got cold milk from the chiller for it (instead of hot milk that had been sitting out all morning)

Cons:

No iron/iron board in room...in fact none in the hotel. They offer a laundry service to do this. but head into ao nang and local shops offer washing and pressing at a fraction of the cost (and same day if needed unlike hotel)

Gym is in sister hotel- is literally a room with 3 bits of cardio equipment ( exercise bike didn't work, cross trainer was good, treadmill needs a service) and light dumbbells. enough to get a sweat on!

A little off the beaten track...if using bus service to airport they will drop you off outside hotel (across road) but on way back you need to walk 5 mins up the road to catch it outside a travel agency. No real hotel bar- to meet other guests.

The bed- this is what would make me choose another hotel over the Small next time! We had a week of it, I think a couple of nights would be fine, but as i had done Muay Thai and other activities, I found it hard to recover and was getting sore from the bed. We stayed at two other hotels during this visit without complaints about uncomfortable beds. i did see that in other reviews that people had pointed this out- but decided to go with it. Believe me it is rock hard. I feel bad writing this as the hotel and the pool access room are great!

Local tips:

If you like bars- find the airport bar (its in a centre opposite beach). Has a decent happy hour, free pool table and has a whole airport theme, with "pilots" seeing you in, and a large plane over the bar! Also Mr Longs bar- down a side soi (coconut bar at the top) kinda opposite Mcdonalds.

Restaurant- The hilltop. This is the best place to be at while sunset while your vacation at Krabi. The most awesome views, decent food (i'm a big eater, go easy on starters and just order mains)- get your hotel or contact restaurant for table with a view. The fish and duck were awesome and you can get a pork satay fix if needed! Avoid coffee though, only have condensed milk.
We ate a lot of street food whilst in thailand. There is an awesome Thai beef noodle soup stall that pulls up right outside the small- the staff ate here too! Also there is a run of stalls along the road towards the beach that an Australian couple nicknamed "Plastic city"- we often grabbed pad thai, fried rice, beef/chicken dishes here and took back to room with us. 200 baht would get you a feast!

Go on the 4 island tour (longtail boat) you see better beaches, get some snorkelling in, lunch and transfers for 400 baht. Great to meet people from all over the world and see nicer beaches than ao nang. Also jump on a longtail to railey for a more relaxed beach.

Go and train at emerald gym for traditional muay thai- 2 hours hardcore training, bagwork, 121 pad work,etc

Room Tip: Get Pool access room nearer front of hotel! the ones nearer the rear (honeymoon suite?) are next to...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deadlift_damo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_SmallGrp, Public Relations Manager at The Small, Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your value comment. We will bring your cooment to improve our standard. We are sorry to learn that our bed is too hard for you. should we knew you had difficulty with our bed, we will definitely add some duvet to make it softer.
Hope to has chance to welcome you to our hotel again next time.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed last year for 4 nights. Had the pool access room. Very big and clean room. Theres also a pool on the rooftop. Service staff were always helpful and smiling. But breakfast is a mins walk to its sister hotel opp. Situation wise is also good. Less than 10mins walk to the shops and bars. Safe too. Theres a bike rental just infront if ur lazy to walk arnd. Otherwise, a very good experience at the hotel..

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aidahafeiziSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

the rooms were very big, the pools were awesome - my first swim since being in thailand, food was edible but there was plenty of other places to get a feed, prices were excellent, staff very friendly and helpful, would definetly stay there again if i went back, although i didnt really like ao nang as the people were fairly rude and it was exceptionally touristy, also the food wasnt as good as further north because it was thailands version of westerner food

Room Tip: any room facing the pool is good
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I booked the Honeymoon Suite at The Small for a short anniversary treat away from home.

Our suite was not small at all! The toilet is spacious and comes with an oversized bathtub complete with LCD TV on the wall. We had pool access and that was really awesome because we could just swim whenever we want easily. The jacuzzi is a nice touch as well.

We went during low peak season so there were not many guests around, which was fab. I would not like a crowded place when we are there for relaxation. Breakfast choice was so-so, nothing fantastic to write about. We have our meals mostly outside but one thing that I would like to highlight is that during a few times in a day, there will be a few food carts right opposite the hotel which serves up MAD DELICIOUS beef/chicken noodles. There are fried noodles and flavoured crepes too but the chicken noodles are seriously to die for!

There are also shops along the hotel. Very convenient to get chips and drinks. Try the massages too along there. They are good and affordable. If I do visit Krabi again in another occasion, I would probably go for another hotel just for exploration sake. Service at The Small is a bit slow but good, nonetheless.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juwieta-Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My girlfriend and I had a 2 nights stay at The Small Hotel Krabi and it was quite sufficient for a short retreat. Located at the corner of Ao Nang Beach, the shops and bars are just a short 5-10 mins walk from the hotel.

The hotel was reasonably priced with very clean and comfortable room but the breakfast was quite horrible! Nothing seems nice..the pool looks relatively clean but I couldn't find the water filtration system.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Krabi La Playa Resort
Krabi La Playa Resort
#17 of 109 in Ao Nang
994 reviews
0.2 mi away
AliSea Boutique Hotel
AliSea Boutique Hotel
#11 of 109 in Ao Nang
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 109 in Ao Nang
583 reviews
0.6 mi away
Krabi Tipa Resort
Krabi Tipa Resort
#23 of 109 in Ao Nang
639 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Verandah
The Verandah
#25 of 109 in Ao Nang
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Small, Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Small, Krabi

Address: 167 Moo 3 | Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: $37 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Small, Krabi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Asian Chic Hotel, Located on beach front road, a few steps to Noppharatthara beaches and 300 meters to Ao nang, the small hotel enveloped by the warm atmosphere of its Asian Chic architecture with a smooth blending of rustic simplicity of the furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Small, Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Small, Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
The Small, Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing